We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little hidden gem filled with locals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Adega Paco do Conde

Restaurante Adega Paco do Conde
Ranked #53 of 378 Restaurants in Coimbra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A little hidden gem filled with locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Be mentally prepared that this is not a fancy restaurant. It's a very basic place filled with locals eating happily. Both of us tried the grilled pork chops and grilled beef tenderloin. Very good food. The waiters do not speak English and no English menu is available. Fortunately there's a waitress who earnestly tried to introduce the meats in the display case (at the entrance) in simple English to us and it worked fine. Food came and we, like the locals, enjoyed the food heartily. When the bill came, we were pleasantly surprised as it was Euros 18 for both grills and beers. Excellent value-for-money eatery :).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    163
    78
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Frantic but fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food is basic, the wine dirt cheap, it's a bit like a canteen, but on our trip it was stuffed with locals and the people-watching potential was priceless - particularly when it comes to the multi-generational staff zipping backwards and forwards. Ludicrous value.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor, we expected good, basic food. Unfortunately, this is not what we got. The food was bland and greasy. The grilled fish (peixe espada) was charred, although I must say that the taste was good.
Maybe we should have been warned by the low prices (7-9 euros for a dish), but even at that price level, we've had much better food, e.g. at Abadia in Porto.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Not fancy, just honest food at a honest price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Tuesday evening in May, place was quite busy. This is mainly a churrasqueira, i.e. a place for grilled food, which in Portugal is mainly chicken. However this place also had fish.

Lots of local families and larger groups, place is simple and cheap. Food is the way it is and has been, honest and simple with no attempt at fanciness. Boiled potatoes actually tasted good. They had some green vegetables, which I could not identify, but since when on the road, eating enough veggies is always a challenge, they were welcome and actually tasted quite OK.

I had a grilled fish steak, while my wife ordered chocos, aka sepia or cuttlefish, which is a clse cousin of the squid, but with a nearly flat, large bone in the middle. I would say the grilled chocos were the best.

As to ambiance, let's say the place has local color, again nothing fancy. Noisy families, with people enjoying their food. Tables setup with white paper that gets replaced each time. They served our alvarinho (yes they had decent wines) in champagne-shaped glasses meant for Mateus rose according to the label.

Service in the non-smoking room was in the hands of two ladies who never seemed to stop running around. Again, not fancy but very effective and they actually were nice. Of course that we can speak the language probably helps.

We ended up paying 32 Euros plus change, with two small waters and a 15 Euro bottle of alvarinho. Perhaps they did not charge for couvert?

In summary, yes good place to go to if one is actually looking for that sort of place. Obviously people looking for a more formal dining experience may not appreciate. I also would bet that this is not the place which cares about what we write about them on tripadvisor. :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a large barbecue restaurant with a mixture of locals and tourists eating there. We had delicious grilled fish. Although the staff have limited English, we had no trouble communicating with them - their little English, our very limited Spanish, some pointing and good humour all round made the job of ordering very enjoyable. If you want simply good barbecued food at a very reasonable price this is the place to go. It has a casual and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarggyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Adega Paco do Conde also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to Restaurante Adega Paco do Conde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing