We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming building, nice touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alentejana Residencial
Ranked #10 of 30 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Miami Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Charming building, nice touches”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This B&B is just uphill from the university and a fairly long walk from the touristy center of the town, which is near the riverfront. The building is a large old house, converted into guest apartments, and reeks of atmosphere. Our room was lovely--high domed ceiling, a small balcony looking out over the town, bathrobes, writing table, huge comfortable chair; and the staff were excellent, helping us find our way around, suggesting restaurants, and making reservations. Two caveats: The only access to the B&B is up a staircase that might be difficult for some people with heavy luggage, and our room had a bit of a noise problem. There was traffic noise during the day, and a bar/restaurant across the street attracted loud people at night. Still, the noise was not sufficient to interfere with sleeping or anything else we wanted to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoBeRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I booked this B&B without paying close attention to the scale on the map I was using. It's a good 30 minutes walk into the old town where most of the restaurants are (and 30 minutes back again, all up hill). There are buses available, but we never mastered the timetable and ended up walking. On the plus side, there's free parking on the street right outside the front door.

The rooms are fine, if in need of a little redecoration. We were travelling with 2 young children and were given 2 extra beds (albeit for €20 each). Overall, this place is okay, but next time I'd look for somewhere nearer the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramses2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night while traveling through Portugal and this beautiful, clean, delightful bed and breakfast was simply one of a kind and absolutely perfect. I am particular about location and cleanliness and this had both. I would never stay any place else if I were in Coimbra.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gjersee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I loved RA because it is a relaxed, comfortable, and friendly, extremely clean no frill place. The service can impeccable and the place for ideally located for me as I was there for a conference at the University. Staff is very careful about details and one feels immediately at one's ease. It's all about small touches - like they bake a new cake every morning for breakfast. Delicious!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaunMaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#8 of 23 in Coimbra
632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Pombal
Casa Pombal
#3 of 30 in Coimbra
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alentejana Residencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alentejana Residencial

Property: Alentejana Residencial
Address: Rua Doutor Henriques Seco No 1, Coimbra 3000-145, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alentejana Residencial 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alentejana Residencial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing