We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Coimbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vila Gale Coimbra
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed in this business-like hotel for my husbands work trip. It has a view of the river, but as other reviewers have said it is not near the downtown. I walked from the hotel to the main square which is closer to a mile away. The front desk staff speak very good English. Our room on the 2nd floor was clean and comfortable with remote controlled air. The breakfast buffet offered in the restaurant has fresh baked breads, and a nice fruit and cheese selection. The coffee is rather blah! In other hotels there are espresso machines that with the push of a button you get a perfect latte, but here there is only a spigot of coffee and warm milk.
We could not get WiFi in our room, so we were forced to sit down in the lobby where fortunately there are an abundance of couches and chairs. There is a bar here too where you can get a beer, espresso, etc. with a small snack cup.
Regarding the parking, there are limited spaces available in front of the hotel which is on a dead end street. There is a parking garage under the building, but don't try to bring a car bigger than a peanut in here since it is very tight and involves a lot of 3 point turns to get out.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runforcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ review.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.


Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    528
    130
    14
    9
See reviews for
353
420
16
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Not in the historic center, but easy to find and to depart from if arriving by car. Modern, large, lacks some character. free wifi only in the public areas. Large, comfortable room and bed. Nice, varied breakfast, with sparkling wine! Nice for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ most pleasant review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for one night on 22nd October whilst in transit through Portugal and Spain. The hotel was the usual standard I usually expect from Vila Gale Hotels but we never had a wink of sleep all night! During the day, we discovered, and watched, a traditional event throughout the town staged every year by Coimbra University students. (The oldest university in Europe) which involved "freshers" being dressed up and given tasks by senior students etc.
When we retired to bed,however, we were horrified to hear the loudest PA system in the world started playing music that made the windows and balcony doors rattle.The students were holding an all-night party which lasted until 5 am. We were exhausted the next day as we drove through Spain. When I complained to the hotel, I was told that it was an old tradition and nothing could be done. EH? They could have informed us at the time of booking (by telephone) so that we could have travelled a bit further and stayed at the Vila Gale Porto. Most inconsiderate. Check when the festival is held before you book...if you value your hearing and if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's soundproof
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ballyskiffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest.

We regret not being able to meet your expectations during your stay in our Hotel
The feedback from our customers are very important for continuous improvement of our services and products.
Looking forward to seeing you in a near future in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil, we present you with our best regards.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We added Coimbra at the last minute on our trip to Portugal. Picked the hotel because the rate was good, had parking and a gym.

The location is not necessarily great for seeing the sites in Coimbra but if you have car the combination of parking and location works out well. It's only a 15 minute walk to the center. The scenery on the walk into the city is basically not very interesting.

The staff is friendly and efficient. The lobby clean and comfortable but looks a little like an airport departure lounge. Which is probably to be expected since the hotel has a lot of bus groups.

The hallways are dimly lit but the rooms comfortable and quiet. And plenty of English language channels on the television (especially if you like reality shows).

The breakfast was excellent. Great selection.

My main negative was the spa and fitness center was an additional charge.

Room Tip: The hotel has 6 free parking spaces in front. You can park for free on the street if you are willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel with a good quality / cost relation. Most part of the rooms with view to Mondego river. Although near a train railway, no noise is listened. The breakfast is very complete and served in a long and beatiful room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martinho B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ most pleasant review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faxe
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice modern hotel. All rooms have a large balcony, ours with a view of the river. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are well equipped.
The buffet dinner is excellent and there is a choice of wines fo follow.
The best thing about this hotel is the closeness to the city center, which is within easy walking distance.
Only setback is the suroundings with a delapidated Building site. Not so pleasant to look at.
The hotel has a very large swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sussiogjacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My first experience in this chain of hotels. It generally met my expectation and totally worth the room rates. It's walking distance to city center and close to the river. I guess the view will be better over there but I totally enjoyed the view of the hilly city from my room on the other side.

The only downside - dark corridors with lighted room numbers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#3 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Coimbra

Property: Vila Gale Coimbra
Address: Rua Abel Dias Urbano 20, Coimbra 3000-001, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Coimbra 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic town centre of Coimbra with an outstanding view over the Mondego River. The nearest airport is in Porto which is 137 km away. Established in 2010, this city hotel aims for a leisure environment but is also ideal for conferences and business traveling. With dance as a theme this hotel has a total of 229 rooms including 27 superior rooms and 18 junior suites. This hotel is fully equipped with a large convention centre with capacity for over 600 peoples, a Health Club with Gym and Spa, 2 restaurants and a bar. It offers to all its guests a 24-hour reception and check-out service, wheelchair access and lifts, Internet Wi-Fi access, laundry services and garage parking (the last 3 items have an extra cost associated). All rooms come with a private bathroom with a shower/bathtub and a hairdryer, direct line telephone, electronic safety door look, cable TV, Internet access (for an additional fee), a safe and a minibar, individually regulated air conditioning and 24 hour room service. This hotel offer free access to an outdoor swimming pool, a gym, sauna, steam room / Turkish and Jacuzzi. Guest can also visit our Spa Satsanga in search for Massages and Beauty treatments (all for an additional fee). Guests can select their breakfast from a buffet and the midday and evening meals may be enjoyed a la carte, from a buffet or in set menu form. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Vila Gale Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing