We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality chain hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Coimbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Coimbra
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is located at a dead end street across from an apartment and a pile of rubble. I had a lovely balcony as long as i did not look down. It looked up the hill to the university and to the river off to the right. And over a big pile of rubble and crud. Some rooms overlook the river and pool. Not sure why they didnt put us in one of those rooms with a view. The hotel did not have many guests at that time.

The rooms are very nice, clean, and comfortable. There was no furniture on the spacious balcony so we dragged chairs out from inside to enjoy our happy hour of local wine and olives.

The pool is very nice and there are lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas.

Breakfast buffet was nice.

It was not a long walk to the university or riverfront but was not real scenic along the way.

There is parking in an attached garage for a reasonable fee.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the pool and river, not the dead end street with the apartment and demolished buildi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacati0nMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Coimbra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very good hotel with exceptional service. Without asking for it, a room upgrade was made to one with pool view. Breakfast complete and with everything we can imagine. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Only negative aspects are: internet is only free on the common areas and garage is also paid but these can be easily overcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ most pleasant review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First the positive: spacious rooms, good service, breakfast buffet, modern design, good value for money.The location is a 15 minute walk to the center of town but not an easy or enjoyable walk (abandoned buildings along the way). Most of the negative in our case were some very peculiar design flaws. Our room had exactly one free electric plug but it was blocked by a TV cable that made impossible to connect our adapter. The air conditioning system had a 32 button remote control that was so hard to figure out that the room had a short manual to operate it. Still, we had to call front desk twice to set it (once at 4:00 am). Apparently, the system is also controlled from outside and at that time was not operating properly. Ample parking but the worst parking exit I have seen in Europe: it involves three extremely sharp turns just before a narrow steep ramp with two way traffic. The parking ticket was validated at checkout but with the 15 minutes it took to get our bags and maneuver the turns and the ramp, the parking ticket had expired. Had to get out of the car in the steep ramp with backed up two-way traffic and pay in a machine for the extra minutes. Still, I recommend the hotel if you can live with these design quirks.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with river view. Pool view also faces railroad tracks
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ review.
The feedback from our customers are very important for continuous improvement of our services and products.
Looking forward to seeing you in a near future in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil, we present you with our best regards.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We didn't have reservations for this hotel although upon walk-in, the staff was very helpful and accommodating. They suggested the best option for us and helped us choose a restaurant immediately upon arriving. The hotel is in a quiet area and is very clean and modern - a definite requirement. We looked at a few other places that were highly ranked on trip advisor prior to arriving at Vila Gale but, we were very disappointed with what we saw. This hotel met all our needs, and was a great choice for us as we were looking for a good nights rest. As far as walking distance, it is really only a 10 min. walk to the Amfora hotel area along a straight road. It was recommended that we take a taxi to the university and the hotel arranged a driver to pick us up for a total cost of 5 euros. The hotel itself was not full so, there weren't any noises during the night or along the corridors. All in all, the best option in Coimbra and we would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank peppermintpatty07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ most pleasant review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this modern hotel - great service, great room, great restaurant. Location is not in the Old City of Coimbra but within reasonable walking distance. Surrounded by businesses and not many restaurants. Yet, the restaurant in the hotel is modern with a very nice setting - free breakfast buffet was very good. The evening buffet while a little pricey was well presented and very tasty. The lobby area is very beautiful and relaxing. The rooms and bathroom are large. clean and relaxing. Hotel does not offer free WiFi in the room. Free WiFi in lobby had good internet connection. Underground parking while not free was very convenient.
Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobnBarbFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel is well situated not far from railway, bus depot and old town. Very quiet area, university within walking distance. Breakfast is one of the best. Staff helpful, rooms very large. Great value. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Don't always take the cheapest deal.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great and very neat hotel to stay if you're in Coimbra.
The rooms are big and clean. You can open the room windows and the bathroom has a big space.The personnel are very welcoming and sympathetic.
Didn't have breakfast, but if I'm not mistaken, it'd add 14€/night to the room price. From this area you'll easily reach any place offering you breakfast for a lesser amount of money.
Unfortunately there are only a couple of parking places for customers staying at the hotel, so you might have to use the parking money machine during the day time.
Overall, it's a very good hotel, but I felt that there was something missing - can't really explain what, sorry - to make it an excellent hotel! In any case, I wouldn't hesitate staying here again for a romantic or business stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno_the_Curious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,093 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#8 of 23 in Coimbra
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Coimbra

Address: Rua Abel Dias Urbano 20, Coimbra 3000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range: $64 - $1,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Coimbra 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic town centre of Coimbra with an outstanding view over the Mondego River. The nearest airport is in Porto which is 137 km away. Established in 2010, this city hotel aims for a leisure environment but is also ideal for conferences and business traveling. With dance as a theme this hotel has a total of 229 rooms including 27 superior rooms and 18 junior suites. This hotel is fully equipped with a large convention centre with capacity for over 600 peoples, a Health Club with Gym and Spa, 2 restaurants and a bar. It offers to all its guests a 24-hour reception and check-out service, wheelchair access and lifts, Internet Wi-Fi access, laundry services and garage parking (the last 3 items have an extra cost associated). All rooms come with a private bathroom with a shower/bathtub and a hairdryer, direct line telephone, electronic safety door look, cable TV, Internet access (for an additional fee), a safe and a minibar, individually regulated air conditioning and 24 hour room service. This hotel offer free access to an outdoor swimming pool, a gym, sauna, steam room / Turkish and Jacuzzi. Guest can also visit our Spa Satsanga in search for Massages and Beauty treatments (all for an additional fee). Guests can select their breakfast from a buffet and the midday and evening meals may be enjoyed a la carte, from a buffet or in set menu form. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing