We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and friendly business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Coimbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Coimbra
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
291 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good and friendly business hotel”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here only 1 night in a business meeting.
The staff was very friendly and always helpful.
The room was big and nice with a enormous bathtub and very clean. The only minus was the air conditioner that works a bit slowly.
The room service was good and the breakfast plenty and fresh.
The conference room that were used was not really prepared for projections and lack some visibility from the back rows.
I don't have nothing to say about location because i only used this hotel for the conference and already know Coimbra city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    532
    132
    14
    9
See reviews for
358
423
16
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tularosa, NM
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The staff is very helpful and accomodating. The location is very close to the bus station which was a plus for us but a little isolated at night so very quiet. The breakfast is very good and the pool area looks good although we didn't have a chance to use it. Very clean and neat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for this kind review.
Management and staff from Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra work every day in order to provide our guests with the most comfortable stay and professional service.
We are glad we have been successful.
Looking forward to seeing you in a near future in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil, we present you with our best regards.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield,uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A modern clean hotel, about a 20 minute walk into the centre of Coimbra.
Breakfasts were excellent, but we did not dine at the hotel in the evening.
Good facilities available for guest use, we used the outside sun loungers by the pool.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryMansfield_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ most pleasant review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I were in Portugal for a total of 3 weeks. During that time we had the use of a rental car which allowed us to visit the country extensively and also gave us the opportunity to stay at 7 different hotels along the way.

Upon check in we asked for a room with a balcony and river view and was told that such a room would be an extra 8.00 euros per day which was no problem for us. We were given room 508. As soon as we entered the room we smelt a strong nauseating odor of sewage emanating from the washroom area. My husband and I both looked at each other and I said this room smells really bad.....maybe we should change rooms....but the view off the deck was nice and we both decided to just keep the washroom door closed as a temporary solution to that smelly problem (pretty dumb on our part as this only served to trap the smell in the washroom area and stop it from entering into the rest of the room....it smelt horribly each time we entered the washroom and especially after taking a hot shower!! We thought we would mention it to someone at the reception but then realized that we could also smell that sewage smell ever so faintly as soon as we got off the elevator into the lobby area....so we decided that it must be a general problem with the hotel and we decided just to keep our mouths shut and not make any mention of it.

Pros: Excellent customer service at reception especially Sara. A very understanding manager by the name of Joaquim Fernandes that really does take customer service seriously. We had an issue with a next door neighbor who was smoking on a non-smoking floor and Joaquim let us know that the hotel tries very hard to solve issues promptly and does not follow that "in one ear out the other" policy. Really nice sitting area in the lobby. Nice breakfast area with a pretty good breakfast variety although some dishes which were suppose to be hot were barely warm. Free drinks in the mini bar (beer and 2 bottles of water). Fruit that was given as a courtesy to every guest upon check in which was a nice touch. 15 minutes drive from the archeological site in Conimbriga.

Cons: Hard bed. Wifi was not free and costs 5.00 euros for 24 hrs of usage. Strong sewage smell in the room with faint smell throughout the hotel. Carpeting in the room (some spots of the olive carpeting was starting to discolor from the sun). Every time you wanted to take your car out from the indoor parking area you had to advise the reception first....which meant waiting in line if guests were checking in or out at the same time that you wanted to have use of your car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarmaTravels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for Your kind words regarding Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra and staff, and we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed Your stay with us.
Regarding Your remarks, we have taken well note of Your comments and have already taken the proper measures to correct it in the future.
Looking forward to seeing you in a near future in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil, we present you with our best regards.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Buffet breakfast really nice (ok I ate too much there) Stayed one night but great location with river view, nice rooms, great public space but the overhead music was really obnoxious as I was not at a nightclub - first thing in a.m was overkill of same beat music- really nice business centre. Underground parking. free wi-fi in public areas. Very reasonable for overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.


Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Situated outside of the center, but as the town is small, a taxi should not cost much for getting up to the university.
I arrived by car, and could find a free parking space outside the hotel.
This is a very modern hotel.
Everything was clean and the atmosphere was very nice.
No complaints regarding the room. The lobby is huge and very comfortable,with free WIFI.
No complaints regarding the Breakfast buffet.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra and make it as enjoyable as possible.
We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil .

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent hotel in an unremarkable city. The junior suite is enormous and very comfortable. The breakfast was the best we had in Portugal with a multitude of choices including delicious breads and pastries, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh juice, and eggs cooked to order. Wifi is free but only in the lobby.

Room Tip: Junior suite is huge and worth the upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Coimbra and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil .

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
985 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
1,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Coimbra

Property: Vila Gale Coimbra
Address: Rua Abel Dias Urbano 20, Coimbra 3000-001, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Coimbra 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic town centre of Coimbra with an outstanding view over the Mondego River. The nearest airport is in Porto which is 137 km away. Established in 2010, this city hotel aims for a leisure environment but is also ideal for conferences and business traveling. With dance as a theme this hotel has a total of 229 rooms including 27 superior rooms and 18 junior suites. This hotel is fully equipped with a large convention centre with capacity for over 600 peoples, a Health Club with Gym and Spa, 2 restaurants and a bar. It offers to all its guests a 24-hour reception and check-out service, wheelchair access and lifts, Internet Wi-Fi access, laundry services and garage parking (the last 3 items have an extra cost associated). All rooms come with a private bathroom with a shower/bathtub and a hairdryer, direct line telephone, electronic safety door look, cable TV, Internet access (for an additional fee), a safe and a minibar, individually regulated air conditioning and 24 hour room service. This hotel offer free access to an outdoor swimming pool, a gym, sauna, steam room / Turkish and Jacuzzi. Guest can also visit our Spa Satsanga in search for Massages and Beauty treatments (all for an additional fee). Guests can select their breakfast from a buffet and the midday and evening meals may be enjoyed a la carte, from a buffet or in set menu form. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing