We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must go”
Review of Ze Manel dos Ossos

Ze Manel dos Ossos
Ranked #1 of 385 Restaurants in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pombal, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must go”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

best tradicional restaurant in Coimbra! It's a small restaurant, we have to go earlier do catch a table, but the service and the food it´s really nice to go dinner with a group of friends! Try Feijoada de Javali e costeletinhas com arroz malandro

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Sant0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    322
    65
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Down home Portguese food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

No frills. Friendly, helpful staff that can be distracted easily. The food is heavy and well seasoned. Uncomfortable seats--stools, I should say and tables are very small so you should not expect to dine there.
Overall a very nice experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJHNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our worst meal in Portugal by far! No, ever!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at this tiny place with high expectations, having heard that it was good. How mistaken that was! It is a canteen type place, very primitive and rustic only suitable for backpackers. The wine which is served in little jugs, is undrinkable, which meant we couldn't console ourselves with that because the pork and bean stew was really bad, mostly fava beans swimming in a spicy gravy, with a couple of bits of fatty meat and black pudding. There are great hunks of bread with a couvert of a couple of supermarket cheeses and that's it. No vegetables, no salads, only the sort of food soldiers could eat after they'd been starved for a week.
The place is tiny - just as well! As you can probably gather from this review, we do not recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AucklandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
207 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food in a small restaurant.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The small restaurant is situated in a narrow alley. The food is typical portuguese. I ate a dish of octopuss. This one was really good. In the restaurant it is possible eat dishes of meat and fish. Prices are competitive. The service is a bit slow but is a good option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miki_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombarral
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was there last year, my Hotel was near, we arrived at 7.30 we got a nice table, is a very small place but the food is real good is a place to discover because is a real traditional little portuguese place , the wine and atmosfere is friendly , we feel good and have a nice time.

You real feel the Portuguese atmosfere , friendly we in the end feel like a family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belisa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ze Manel dos Ossos also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to Ze Manel dos Ossos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing