We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a unique restaurant”
Review of Ze Manel dos Ossos

Ze Manel dos Ossos
Ranked #1 of 386 Restaurants in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a unique restaurant”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Here you can find a tipical portuguese "tasca". You can eat so well, drink really good wine (ask for the " vinho da casa"), take ridiculous photos and pay with a smile! Have to go early to dinner, this place is really small ... Good luck!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatGms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    327
    65
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly price, eating with locals!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were there for a short trip, I checked the Trip advisor one day before and because of the amazing reviews we went there for lunch.
It opened around 13:00 (or a little bit later than that) on Saturday and was totally full in 30 minutes. We were lucky to have a table and were surprised by the popularity of this small restaurant!
The food was great (the hand writing menu was hard to read so the waiter explained us one by one), we ordered "Osso", "Dourada (kind of fish)", "Pork with bean rice" and a bottle of wine, we were so full and it was 8 Euros each(we were 4)!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiranewstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Original”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very small (we passed the restaurant 3 times when we were looking for it), budget friendly, great atmosphere, good food, and a friendly waiter who helped us with the translation of his menu: a restaurant with a good vibe!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benoit_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Crazy fun”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is a trip. Hidden down an alley, crowded and wonderful. A vegetarian's nightmare. Just order what the owner tells you to and you'll be fine, pork is the speciality. We made friends with a neighboring table of musicians and they took us to hear Fado music at a late night club in a chapel. It's that sort of a restaurant. Enjoy and hopefully you too will have a wonderful time in Coimbra.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
165 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very good place for lunch”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I wasn’t really impressed with fine dining in any of the Portuguese restaurants but lunches in small (this one is very small!!) and simple restaurants like Zé Manel were excellent. Different dishes on the tables around us (very close!!) smelled and looked great, but our wild boar stew and pig with mushrooms were no worse.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ze Manel dos Ossos also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to Ze Manel dos Ossos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing