We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Cost x Benefit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castelo Branco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very nice place, in the top a a montain with a great view of the city. Simple but very clean. I missed a safe box in the room. Great buffet at night with a fair price for who is staying and you can invite someone with same promotional price. Nice indoor warmed swiming pool. I paied for 4 days same of a single day in similar hotel in Italy. Very good choice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HPSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013
Google Translation

Exmo Senhor,

Agradecemos as suas simpáticas palavras sobre o nosso Hotel, os seus serviços e localização.
Foi um prazer tê-lo como nosso hóspede.
Em meu nome e do Staff aceite os nossos sinceros agradecimentos.
Esperamos voltar a recebe-lo numa próxima visita a esta região.
Atentamente,

O diretor
Manuel Veloso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 408 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was just a quick weekend trip for us - my husband and I, along with our 8 year old (leaving the baby at home...). The hotel is in a great location, with wonderful views. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, providing us with the local information and a map when we asked. We also had a voucher for a donkey ride for our son, as part of the package, and the reception staff were great in setting that up as well. Our package also included a dinner in the restaurant - as they were also celebrating "São Martinho" that Saturday night, when we returned to the hotel after lunch out and visitng the city, the reception staff offered for us to join the celebrations, instead of eating in the resturant. That was a very kind offer, which we took up. The party had a large buffet selection and also a band. As well, they put on a typical musical group, playing the regional "drum" - ladies singing and dressed in traditional gear - veyr nice regional touch. The room we had was not outdated or wood panelled as some other reveiewer/s suggested, but quite modern. We had an additional bed for our son in the room as well. Free (and good) wifi in the room. The small balcony is very nice and peaceful, and from our room we could see both the town and the mountains. The indoor swimming pool is very nice, and we waited patiently for our turn in the jacuzzi, which was just great at this time of year. Don't forget your swimming cap. We didn't use the spa or the tennis/squash courts. We also saw there were some pool tables, but also did not have enough time to use them, so not sure of the prices. The minibar in the room is not overly-stocked, but the prices are great - not usual daylight hotel mini-bar robbery! The lobby bar was also pleasaant, and we had a couple of beers (and a non-alcoholic cocktail) there in the afternoon. Breakfast was very good, with a wide selection from fruit, yoghurts, pastries, muffins, fresh breads, cheese, ham, vegetables, cereals, sausages, bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs. Omelettes were available on request. This hotel was exceptional value for money, considering the style, facilities and location, and we would return there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisbonNZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013
Google Translation

Exmo. Senhor,
Começo por agradecer a suas simpáticas palavras sobre o nosso hotel e serviços.
Ficamos contentes por ter disfrutado deste hotel e seus serviços. A sua descrição ajuda-nos a dar a conhecer a variedade e qualidade que prestamos.
Em meu nome e do staff os nossos muito bem haja.
Esperamos por si numa próxima visita a Castelo Branco.

Atentamente,

O DIRECTOR

Manuel Veloso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my sixth visit to this hotel. Clearly I like it.
But, this time I felt let down.
It's still in a great hill top location, free parking with a great view.
It's clean, well kept and has English speaking staff.
It is well priced, particularly if you book in advance (approx. £20 pn, b&b).
A bottle of wine in the bar was Euro5.80.
The restaurant has really gone downhill. There is still the choice of a la carte, or the buffet in the evening. The buffet has two main courses, such as cod in a sauce with bread. Bread in a sauce with a little tasteless fish would be a better description.
How about a little duck, mixed with rice, bacon and chopped up cocktail sausages.
You get the impression that cost cutting is the order of the day, rather than quality.
In the morning the breakfast buffet serves cold "hot" food, when there is actually any out there.
Food is brought from the kitchen in dribs and drabs, a couple of fried eggs at a time. . One morning there was no fried egg, scrambled egg, bacon, milk butter, or corn flakes.
Plus in the morning they only appear to have one waiter(ess) for the restaurant who clearly cant cope with the amount of work.
We complained at reception about the breakfast and they said they would inform the manager, but we received no feedback with no apparent change to the service.
As the title says, I was disappointed, but I like the hotel enough to return and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tdmsheeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013
Google Translation

Exmos Srs

Agradecemos as suas palavras e lamentamos não ter correspondido às suas expectativas.

Os seus comentários serão tidos em conta e vão-nos ajudar a corrigir estas situações.

Apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos e esperamos voltar a tê-lo como nosso hospede posteriormente.

Atentamente
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in June, in the middle of a massive heat wave. Our AC in the room barely worked-- sputtered loudly and gave little if any cool air. It was sweltering, almost impossible to sleep. The restaurant, as others have mentioned, was blah. The "cold" trays of yogurt and fruit were not at all cold, and for dinner the heated plates were barely warm. The decor of both the rooms and the hotel are humorously outdated (think of wood-panelled basements in the 1970s) and the beds and chairs were very, very uncomfortable.

On the plus side: the parking is ample and free, the location is convenient to the historical center of Castelo do Branco, and I am not too sure you can do better when staying this close to the center of the city. For us, the highlight of the trip was the wonderful wedding we attended over the weekend, so this was a place to sleep and shower and not much else. But if we had been on a "romantic getaway", it would have been tempting to pack up and go somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013
Google Translation

Exmos Srs

Agradecemos as suas palavras e lamentamos não ter correspondido às suas expectativas.

Os seus comentários serão tidos em conta e vão-nos ajudar a corrigir estas situações.

Apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos e esperamos voltar a tê-lo como nosso hospede posteriormente.

Atentamente
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was ok, but the service was terrible. The web site said that it had an outdoors swimming pool, but it only had a indoors pool.

The spa was ok and the rooms to. The restaurant is terrible for the prices they charge.

It had only one thing that impressed: the minibar wasn't expensive and the room had a little nice terrace.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat_Bap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013
Google Translation

Exmos Srs

Queremos agradecer as suas palavras sobre o Hotel, que nos ajudarão na prestação de serviços.
No entanto estranhamos que se tenha alojado em Outubro de 2012 e só agora tenha feito os comentários sobre a sua estadia.
Solicitamos e agradecemos que nos informe qual o site que mencionava o hotel como tendo piscina exterior (para correção do mesmo) , pois como pode verificar em todos os nossos sites e publicações oficiais vem mencionado que a piscina é interior.
Continuamos a trabalhar pra melhorar a nossa performance em todos os aspetos, pelo que ficamos a sua disposição para uma próxima estadia no nosso Hotel.

Melhores cumprimentos
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is good option for a short stay in Castelo Branco. The rooms are modern, clean and well kept. You'll need a car though, as the hotel is located at the top of a hill, a couple of miles and several feet from the city centre. On the other hand, the castle is just a few yards away. The restaurant is ok, but there are so many excellent options in the city that you may use it only for breakfast. My only grip is the swimming pool rules. As the area is also a health club catering for locals, they insist on wearing a swimming cap. Also, even though the temperature outside was well above 30, they keep the (glazed) doors closed. It would be much nicer to integrate the area outside the pool with some lounge chairs and tables.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view to the valley. Many rooms face the hill and its wood of telecommunication ma...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andariego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações públicas at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you, your friendly words about the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

With our best regards
The management
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Tryp Hotel proved to be a good choice for a short stay in Castelo Branco and I believe can also be considered as such for a longer stay to explore the region all the way to the Spanish border (east) and the Serra da Estrela region (north).
Stayed only one night and found the hotel quite clean and no remarks to the service: breakfast had good quality and choice, with a nice view from the restaurant overlooking the valley and the town of Castelo Branco.
Free wi-fi was available and worked well in all areas, which is of course a plus. Unfortunately, due to lack of time I couldn't try the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Valley and city view is certainly a more pleasant option than the opposite side, where some of the r...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuiAna_ptbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you, your friendly words about the hotel .

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future to use also our Health-Club.

With our best regards
The management
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelo Branco
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rainha D. Amelia, Arts & Leisure
23.5 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Hotel Belsol
Hotel Belsol
#1 of 1 in Belmonte
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Guest House Hostel Esplanada
Guest House Hostel Esplanada
#1 of 8 in Castelo Branco
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperio do Rei
Imperio do Rei
#1 of 10 in Castelo Branco
34 reviews
10.4 mi away
Casa do Forno
Casa do Forno
#1 of 1 in Salvaterra do Extremo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel

Address: Rua Piscina, Castelo Branco 6000-776, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Castelo Branco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castelo Branco
Price Range: $87 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the top of a hill around the medieval castle, offering a great panoramic view over Castelo Branco and the surrounding region. Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo has 103 large and comfortable rooms, including 1 Bridal Suite, 5 Junior Suites, 2 Fitness, 3 Family and 5 Premium. The Hotel has a magnificent Restaurant with a panoramic view over Castelo Branco , where you can enjoy regional specialties and Portuguese Cuisine. It offers "a-la-carte" service combined with a buffet service. Alternatively you can delight at the bar with Snacks and light meals. To relax you can use our Health-Club wich includes a indoor Heated Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Turkish Bath, Massages (by appointment), 3 Tennis courts and 2 Squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Castelo Branco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing