We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castelo Branco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my sixth visit to this hotel. Clearly I like it.
But, this time I felt let down.
It's still in a great hill top location, free parking with a great view.
It's clean, well kept and has English speaking staff.
It is well priced, particularly if you book in advance (approx. £20 pn, b&b).
A bottle of wine in the bar was Euro5.80.
The restaurant has really gone downhill. There is still the choice of a la carte, or the buffet in the evening. The buffet has two main courses, such as cod in a sauce with bread. Bread in a sauce with a little tasteless fish would be a better description.
How about a little duck, mixed with rice, bacon and chopped up cocktail sausages.
You get the impression that cost cutting is the order of the day, rather than quality.
In the morning the breakfast buffet serves cold "hot" food, when there is actually any out there.
Food is brought from the kitchen in dribs and drabs, a couple of fried eggs at a time. . One morning there was no fried egg, scrambled egg, bacon, milk butter, or corn flakes.
Plus in the morning they only appear to have one waiter(ess) for the restaurant who clearly cant cope with the amount of work.
We complained at reception about the breakfast and they said they would inform the manager, but we received no feedback with no apparent change to the service.
As the title says, I was disappointed, but I like the hotel enough to return and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdmsheeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Google Translation
Exmos Srs

Agradecemos as suas palavras e lamentamos não ter correspondido às suas expectativas.

Os seus comentários serão tidos em conta e vão-nos ajudar a corrigir estas situações.

Apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos e esperamos voltar a tê-lo como nosso hospede posteriormente.

Atentamente
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    203
    46
    11
    2
See reviews for
122
123
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in June, in the middle of a massive heat wave. Our AC in the room barely worked-- sputtered loudly and gave little if any cool air. It was sweltering, almost impossible to sleep. The restaurant, as others have mentioned, was blah. The "cold" trays of yogurt and fruit were not at all cold, and for dinner the heated plates were barely warm. The decor of both the rooms and the hotel are humorously outdated (think of wood-panelled basements in the 1970s) and the beds and chairs were very, very uncomfortable.

On the plus side: the parking is ample and free, the location is convenient to the historical center of Castelo do Branco, and I am not too sure you can do better when staying this close to the center of the city. For us, the highlight of the trip was the wonderful wedding we attended over the weekend, so this was a place to sleep and shower and not much else. But if we had been on a "romantic getaway", it would have been tempting to pack up and go somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Google Translation
Exmos Srs

Agradecemos as suas palavras e lamentamos não ter correspondido às suas expectativas.

Os seus comentários serão tidos em conta e vão-nos ajudar a corrigir estas situações.

Apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos e esperamos voltar a tê-lo como nosso hospede posteriormente.

Atentamente
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was ok, but the service was terrible. The web site said that it had an outdoors swimming pool, but it only had a indoors pool.

The spa was ok and the rooms to. The restaurant is terrible for the prices they charge.

It had only one thing that impressed: the minibar wasn't expensive and the room had a little nice terrace.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_Bap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Google Translation
Exmos Srs

Queremos agradecer as suas palavras sobre o Hotel, que nos ajudarão na prestação de serviços.
No entanto estranhamos que se tenha alojado em Outubro de 2012 e só agora tenha feito os comentários sobre a sua estadia.
Solicitamos e agradecemos que nos informe qual o site que mencionava o hotel como tendo piscina exterior (para correção do mesmo) , pois como pode verificar em todos os nossos sites e publicações oficiais vem mencionado que a piscina é interior.
Continuamos a trabalhar pra melhorar a nossa performance em todos os aspetos, pelo que ficamos a sua disposição para uma próxima estadia no nosso Hotel.

Melhores cumprimentos
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is good option for a short stay in Castelo Branco. The rooms are modern, clean and well kept. You'll need a car though, as the hotel is located at the top of a hill, a couple of miles and several feet from the city centre. On the other hand, the castle is just a few yards away. The restaurant is ok, but there are so many excellent options in the city that you may use it only for breakfast. My only grip is the swimming pool rules. As the area is also a health club catering for locals, they insist on wearing a swimming cap. Also, even though the temperature outside was well above 30, they keep the (glazed) doors closed. It would be much nicer to integrate the area outside the pool with some lounge chairs and tables.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view to the valley. Many rooms face the hill and its wood of telecommunication ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andariego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações públicas at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you, your friendly words about the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

With our best regards
The management
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barreiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Tryp Hotel proved to be a good choice for a short stay in Castelo Branco and I believe can also be considered as such for a longer stay to explore the region all the way to the Spanish border (east) and the Serra da Estrela region (north).
Stayed only one night and found the hotel quite clean and no remarks to the service: breakfast had good quality and choice, with a nice view from the restaurant overlooking the valley and the town of Castelo Branco.
Free wi-fi was available and worked well in all areas, which is of course a plus. Unfortunately, due to lack of time I couldn't try the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Valley and city view is certainly a more pleasant option than the opposite side, where some of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuiAna_ptbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you, your friendly words about the hotel .

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future to use also our Health-Club.

With our best regards
The management
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A very convenient hotel, well located, clean, with reasonable size rooms. Indoor swimming pool, great for some moments with the kids.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull.
A great choice for a weekend in Castelo Branco!

Some tips:
- there's enough parking space and a covered garage for guests
- good breakfast with all sorts of cereals, fruit, pastery,...
- ask for a room with view, you will not regreat it :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almeidafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações públicas at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you, your friendly words about the hotel and the staff.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

With our best regards
The management
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

very nice hotel, from Meliá chain. spotless clean and well mantained.
Located in Castelo Branco, a medium size city in the Portugal interior. Just one hour drive from the serra da Estrela ski Station, it's an excelent option if you want to avoid the very expansive prices of the serra da Estrela hotels, twice the price (we get €80 for a family room for 2 adults + 2 Child).
the hotel as an excelent indoor heated pool, with jacuzzi. also sauna, steam bath, health Club.
we decided to dinner at the restaurant, and was good option, with a lovely view over the City. good service, food well cooked. you can choose the buffet for €15 or a la carte, wich as good choice.
Overall, a very good choice in this beautiful part of my country!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernandoLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabete C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
Exmo Sr.
Aceite os N/ melhores Cumprimentos.

Queremos agradecer a suas simpáticas e amáveis palavras sobre o Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo, suas instalações, colaboradores e serviço, bem como da cidade e desta região com muito para dar aos seus visitantes.

Como se diz na região. BEM HAJA.

Renovo o N/ agradecimento e ficamos ao seu inteiro dispor para a sua próxima deslocação a Castelo Branco.

Atentamente,
Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelo Branco
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rainha D. Amelia, Arts & Leisure
23.5 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
15.5 mi away
Estrela da Idanha Hotel
Estrela da Idanha Hotel
#1 of 1 in Idanha-a-Nova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hotel Belsol
Hotel Belsol
#1 of 1 in Belmonte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guest house Hostel ESPLANADA
Guest house Hostel ESPLANADA
#2 of 9 in Castelo Branco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
10.4 mi away
Casa do Forno
Casa do Forno
#3 of 11 in Castelo Branco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel

Property: TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel
Address: Rua Piscina, Castelo Branco 6000-776, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Castelo Branco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castelo Branco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the top of a hill around the medieval castle, offering a great panoramic view over Castelo Branco and the surrounding region. Hotel Tryp Colina do Castelo has 103 large and comfortable rooms, including 1 Bridal Suite, 5 Junior Suites, 2 Fitness, 3 Family and 5 Premium. The Hotel has a magnificent Restaurant with a panoramic view over Castelo Branco , where you can enjoy regional specialties and Portuguese Cuisine. It offers "a-la-carte" service combined with a buffet service. Alternatively you can delight at the bar with Snacks and light meals. To relax you can use our Health-Club wich includes a indoor Heated Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Turkish Bath, Massages (by appointment), 3 Tennis courts and 2 Squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Castelo Branco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing