We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful stop in the Portuguese countryside”

Quinta da Vila Francelina
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quinta da Vila Francelina
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Aveiro
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This rural hotel consists of a late 19th c. house were breakfast is served and where guests can lounge in the evening in a cozy parlor. The rooms are in a separate, modern and modernist building, all in a row along a corridor. The grounds are extensive, with an orchard sloping up a hill. The location is a bit out of the way, but we found it to be a convenient stop between Porto and Coimbra. As a family of four we took two adjacent rooms. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Our children enjoyed the rural location very much, and the breakfast was absolutely outstanding. Since we visited during a wet and cold April we can't comment on the pool of the air-conditioning. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be identical.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Isabelle-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Quinta da Vila Francelina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2008

We were not sure what to expect when we booked this hotel and were delighted. The hotel comprises a beautiful old house and rooms in modern blocks near by - well situated and designed. The rooms are contempory and comfortable with wooden floors and modern bathrooms, fluffy white towels and good quality toiletries. The pool is fantastic. The area around the hotel is very flat and there are sweeping views from the room and pool. The excellent breakfast is provided in the main house around a large table with the other guests. Our hosts are clearly very proud of their hotel and made us feel very welcome and took care to provide us with useful information on the area, including details of festivals, beaches, restaurants. Our only critiscism would be that the rooms were poorly ventilated. The window is the door and so could not safely be opened at night. A fan was provided but was too powerful and noisy to have on for long. We would consider returning but would not recommend three in a room (our daughter had an extra bed in the room - a separate room would have been better, as the room was not large). Although a few miles away from Aveiro it was only a 10 minute drive away and so we did not feel that we were too remote. We were able to find two good restaurants and so ate well during our short stay. The hotel at 110 euros per night including breakfast was good value.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank simonecarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank ehamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amaiaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank SILRUI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las 6 habitaciones que tiene en el edificio con vistas al jardin son fabulosas ..
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ribera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aveiro hotels
0.0 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
988 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residential O Cortico
Residential O Cortico
#11 of 16 in Aveiro
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel As Americas
Hotel As Americas
#8 of 16 in Aveiro
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Veneza Hotel
Veneza Hotel
#2 of 16 in Aveiro
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aveiro Center
Hotel Aveiro Center
#7 of 16 in Aveiro
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Vila Francelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Vila Francelina

Address: Frossos | Albergaria-a-Velha, Aveiro 3850-663, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Aveiro
Price Range: $99 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Vila Francelina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta da Vila Francelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing