We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jardim(Aveiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Veneza Hotel(Aveiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveler rating
381
471
154
46
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
471
154
46
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelindoor poolceramics factoryrailway lineper daycity centreconference facilitiesturkish bathgarage parkingno tea or coffee facilitiesendless selectiona pleasant minute walkwifi worked wellcomfortable roomsroom ratechicken leggood size
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We are currently staying at this hotel and are very disappointed by the level of service provided. The AirCon in our room is not working - and although the reception desk promised to send someone up to service it, nobody has shown up.

Another disappointment is the lack of coffee service in the room, although there is a fridge. Also, unlike most hotels in Portugal, breakfast is not included with the night's stay charges. Thankfully there are many coffee shops nearby who serve a nice fare.

We always stay at a Melia Hotel when travelling in Cuba, and have always received excellent service.

This hotel needs to step up it's level of service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're very sorry to hear that our services and facilities did not meet with your expectations.

It is very unusual for our maintenance colleagues to take time to attend a client's request, particularly when it concerns the air conditioning.

As for the breakfast not being included in the rate, we would like to inform you that we have available a large number of rates, special programs and promotions on most websites, that include the breakfast and the access to our Welness Centre/Health Club, for instance. It's really up to the guest to decide whether he wishes to exclude the breakfast or not.

We will take your comments about the coffee facilities in the guest room on any future refurbishments of the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes

Inês Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Hotel is located 10 minutes walk from downtown Aveiro. The area is very enjoyable with large ponds and artificial river with gondola like in Venicia.
the Lobby is very spacious and luxurious. The bedroom are large and bathroom well design. The bed are not very comfortable and the pillow very cheap.. I did not have great quality sleeps there. Also, my sink was plugged in and the furnace very noisy.

the staff is OK. Food for breakfast is good,buffet style. The issue is the replenishment of ingredients. They ran out of food all the time and it takes them forever to bring new batch.

Overall a good hotel for 1 or 2 nights, but i would consider this as great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivierp2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.
Thank you for your suggestions, which will be taken into maximum consideration.
Your comments are very important as they help us to review and improve our services.
In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Looking forward to seeing you at our hotel or at another Meliá International Hotel.

Best Regards,
Inês Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Actually chose this as had a very pleasant experience at their ME Reina Victoria in Madrid and it was a cheap option for a couple of nights in Aveiro on a trip along the coast. It actually turned into a way nicer experience and exceptional value. It is a super modern design set outside the town centre but every evening we strolled up the canal, through the open air shopping centre and into the town for dinner and drinks - maybe its a 10 minute walk. Large hotel, oddly it charges for parking in their basement but there is loads of free parking across the road and we left our car there all the time with no problems. Staff were friendly - we didnt eat there (even for breakfast) as we preferred to walk to a cafe in the town. If you are driving its a nice choice.

Room Tip: It was busy when we arrived and I forgot to ask for a non smoking room and we were sent to one which smelt very obviously of smoke. Returned to reception and were given a perfect room on a higher floor which is nice for the views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.

We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards,

Inês Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed there on a short business trip. It's a modern style hotel. Rooms are ok, service too. They have a large and nice breakfast buffet. And all of that at a good value.

The hotel is located at a small creek, which is nice, but unfortunately not walking distance to downtown. Unfortunately I had a room on the 2nd floor with no view. Try to get a room on the higher floors facing the creek.

All in all a solid choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel.

We are glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us - we would like to mention, however, that we are in fact within a walking distance to the city center (it takes you no more than 10/15 minutes to reach the most ancient part of our city).

Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Inês Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Close to the Aveiro channel in a charming place, food was really good (bufett lovely chicken soups and pork meat with "vinho verde", etc 19eur) A plus was free parking in front of the hotel. Would recommend to anyone. The restaurant staff was more than lovely.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank ISMABACO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Meliá Ria Hotel & Spa, and for taking the time to post your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

We are most pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your kind words, particularly about our Staff.

Hope to see you soon,

Kind wishes,

Inês Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews