We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Veneza Hotel(Aveiro)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$59
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jardim(Aveiro)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$116
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveler rating
379
469
153
45
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
469
153
45
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelindoor poolceramics factoryrailway lineper daycity centreconference facilitiesturkish bathgarage parkingno tea or coffee facilitiesendless selectiona pleasant minute walkwifi worked wellcomfortable roomsroom ratechicken leggood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice localization, modern hotel and good rooms, however there is a big drawback, the acoustic in the rooms. If you have someone in the room next to yours, you will listen absolutely everything coming from the other room. In such a new hotel and recent construction, building could have much better sound proofing.
Besides this, all good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.
We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards
Ines Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the 3rd or 4th time I stay at the Melia Ria Aveiro
It is a few minutes walk from the city centre and gives you breathing space
Nice rooms and well decorated - nice view of the canal
Great people and nice breakfast
Great spa with swimming pool and sauna (which the charge €10 guests for using )
Great value for money and FREE wifi

This time I had problems connecting with their wifi system
My computer was connecting to the Internet for certain periods and could not connect at other times
I guess it has to do with how many people were using the internet at the time
The very helpful people tried everything to help
Eventually on the second day the General Manager Jorge came to my room at midnight to see if he could connect with his laptop whilst asking for technical assistance from his IT team !!! When we realised that his laptop could connect whilst mine could he offered me his own laptop to work overnight!!! This is what I call hospitality and I am really impressed - OBRIGADISSIMO JORGE. In the meanwhile they are upgrading their internet service

Will be back at the Melia Ria very soon

Room Tip: choose a higher floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, General Manager at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Mr. Buhalis,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff and Hotel.
We are most pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with Us.
We look forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Cabral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Not the first time there.. The Hotel is nice, the staff very nice, but the Hotel as all, needs to improve in comfort in services, like internet and room temperatures control! An upgrade in beds and cousins, as well as bed linen would definitively help the upgrade quality the property deserves.

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012
Google Translation

Estimado Hóspede,
Agradecemos desde já os seus simpáticos comentários, particularmente no que se refere ao nosso Staff.
Teremos em conta as suas sugestões, para futuras ocasiões em que se realizem melhoramentos no Hotel.
Esperamos recebê-lo de novo, em breve, no Meliá Ria Hotel & Spa ou em qualquer outro hotel da cadeia Melia Hotels Internacional.
Melhores Cumprimentos,

Inês Ventura

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind comments, particularly in regards to our Staff.
We will consider your suggestions, on any future refurbishments of the Hotel.
We are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.
Best regards,

Inês Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is modern and confortable, very well located in a quiet area but just a short walking distance from the city center. Breakfast and indoor pool are paid extra.
Indoor pool is pretty warm, the only negative point is that it is very small, but since it's paid extra (10 euros) there aren't many people there. The exception is when they have aquagymnastic classes there.
Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatiaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We would like to inform you that we have available a large number of special programs and promotions that include both the breakfast and the access to our Welness Centre/Health Club.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.
Kind regards and Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed 4 nights on this 4* hotel and liked everything about it. Great location, kind staff, nice SPA.
Breakfast has all you need. Rooms are quite large and confortable. Rates are not that high. Overall I think is a nice choice if you want to spend quality time in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the canal.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes

Ines Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews