We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice business hotel in Aveiro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Ria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Ria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Certificate of Excellence
Wissembourg, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel in Aveiro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Nice hotel in Aveiro. My Room was very clean and functional. The personal is very professional, ready to help and efficient. Large breakfast buffet, convenient Bar/Lobby area.
Internet connection works well. In other words: Everything works and is done as it should be: Perfect for business.
2 things were not too good: Swimming pool (and I think Spa) opens at 8am and closes at 10pm: Not compatible with working hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    409
    133
    33
    10
See reviews for
196
364
16
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Confignon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Very comfortable rooms, many with lovely views of the canal. Easy walk into town. Beware that depending on how you book, use of the pool of may not be included in your room rate. Breakfast is expensive (12 Euros) if not included in your room rate. Odd policy that no one can check in until 14:00, even if your room happens to be ready before then.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the4newmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is a modern designed hotel with all the amenities you would expect, around 10-minutes walk from the town centre (along a canal through the renovated part of town). Very agreeable with very good service; and ideal if touring with a car since access is easy and the underground garage secure.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSH-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Really nice hotel 5 min walk from the centre of Aveiro
Nice river around and the wonderful building just opposite
Hotel is very relaxed and they employees make you welcome
FREE WIFI works nicely in rooms
plenty of parking opposite
great variety on breakfast (although cooked breakfast looked tired)
Nice spa facility with swimming pool, sauna, hamam and jets in the pool
Only strange thing is that they charge guests 10 Euros for using the swimming pool

Room Tip: most of rooms should be equally good I like the ones with the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We would like to inform you that we have available a large number of special programs and promotions that include the access to our Welness Centre.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.
Kind regards and Best Wishes

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Excellent value for money. The rooms are big and comfortable. It's located by the river and it's only 5-10' walking distance from the center. It's highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yboul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Kind regards and Best Wishes

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed here in January, 2012 while on a business trip to the Porto area. The hotel is pleasantly situated on the Aveiro canal system on a small lagoon next to an old brick factory converted to a bar and restaurant. The canal makes for a nice short walk into the city where there is an attractive shopping and restaurant district. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the hotel has good exercise and swimming facilities. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

In a new zone , near the center, near the stores. Good rooms, very good social areas. A nice spa. The restaurant i don' t recomend(bad wine list. The wines are badly kept).it's better to eat in town. The inside pool is very nice. Average price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulus70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aveiro hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aveiro Palace
Hotel Aveiro Palace
#4 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Veneza Hotel
Veneza Hotel
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel das Salinas
Hotel das Salinas
#5 of 16 in Aveiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardim
Hotel Jardim
#6 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel As Americas
Hotel As Americas
#8 of 16 in Aveiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Ria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Ria Hotel

Property: Melia Ria Hotel
Address: Cais da Fonte Nova, Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aveiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aveiro
#2 Family Hotel in Aveiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Ria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa is located in a superior quality residential development in the centre of Aveiro, with views of the lake formed by the Ria de Aveiro. Located next to the Cultural and Congress Centre and the train station, just a short distance from the historical heart of the city, 7 km from the beaches, and 60 minutes from Oporto airport, with easy access to the A1, A25 and IC1 highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melia Ria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aveiro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing