We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel near the train station”
Review of Veneza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veneza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent hotel near the train station”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

4 minute walk from the train station, nice size room, friendly staff. Good breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon (Portuguese style a little undercooked for me), fruit, bread, cheeses and lunchmeat ham. A little far from the downtown area, staff says 10 minute walk we thought more like 15 or so. Town itself is cute, but saying it is the "Venice of Portugal" is stretching it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeege777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    205
    46
    6
    3
See reviews for
75
188
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is a very safe choice for those wanting quick access to the train station to visit Porto or Coimbra. Clean, friendly, free choclate, port, wi fi in the lobby. Great bakery across the street for breakfast which we loved. The train station is great here and an excellent way to see Porto

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
257 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

My sister and I stayed one night at the Veneza on our way from Lisbon to Porto. It worked well for us. At first I was afraid it was a bit far from the center of town but it turned out to be only a 15 min walk. Staff was helpful, breakfast spread was nice. The facad of the hotel is really lovely. Aveiro itself is a bit confusing to drive in but once we found the hotel, all was well.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank alliswell252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Veneza hadn't been our original choice in Aveiro, but having arrived there by car without a street map it was the first place we happened upon, so we decided to give it a try. Firstly, it has an underground private car park, for 5 euros a night (though manoeuvring into it from the fiendishly busy one-way street demands concentration and a steady nerve). It's worth it, though, to have such a secure parking spot.

The hotel building is a rather jolly yellow-coloured building, located a 10-minute or so walk from the town centre (or where we concluded the centre was). Our second floor room was spacious and comfortable, and had a small balcony as a bonus.

The pleasant and efficient young lady on reception was a model of helpfulness throughout our stay. The breakfast buffet was fine - in fact, I would be hard pressed to find anything to criticise about this hotel.

Aveiro itself is a fine little town, centred around a series of canals (though describing it as the 'Venice of Portugal' is pushing things a bit). The gondola-style boats and the brightly-painted buildings alongside one of the canals do give Aveiro a very cheerful atmosphere, though, and there are some cosy little restaurants to sample in the back streets.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FawltyTowersWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornhill canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The Hotel has changed hands and is now called the Veneza. I do not know if the staff stayed on, but the people we dealt with were very helpful and professional.

The room was clean, everything worked. What more could one ask? Oh yes! Breakfast (included) was very good indeed, including fresh, fresh bread and rolls, which is not always the case in Portugal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidthornhillCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Mercure very much! The room was very clean. The walk downtown was short and easy. There was a pastry place for breakfast and parking in front of the hotel. A gentleman who worked on staff was very helpful opening a bottle of wine and getting glasses for us so we could enjoy a night cap in the cute courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

I stayed here for four nights, and was really impressed. The rooms are very spacious and sparkling clean - and the staff are very helpful. In fact they gave out better information than the tourist office about train and bus timetables, things to do in the area, etc. I don´t normally like chain hotels, but the Mercure was great. Couldn´t fault it.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SWLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aveiro hotels
0.4 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aveiro Palace
Hotel Aveiro Palace
#2 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardim
Hotel Jardim
#6 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel das Salinas
Hotel das Salinas
#5 of 16 in Aveiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Joao Padeiro
Hotel Joao Padeiro
#9 of 16 in Aveiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneza Hotel

Property: Veneza Hotel
Address: Rua Engenheiro Luis Gomes de Carvalho 23, Aveiro 3800-211, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Veneza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Veneza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing