We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of July 2012. As with most European hotels, the room is much smaller than the typical American room. This was not a big deal since we did not spend much time in our room. The beds were much lower than American beds since there is no 'mattress top' as are common in American homes. Again, not a deal breaker, just always give me pause when I first walk into the room. Something typical Azorean was the very firm mattress. I was a little worried, but my back felt great the next morning, so I'll give it two thumbs up.
We had a room facing the garden which was beautiful and relaxing, although dark when the window shade was drawn. The bed and bathroom looked/smelled clean, but the carpet needed another run of the vacuum.
The best part was the location. It's in one of the main squares and a two minute walk from the harbor and beach. '
Breakfast was the typical continental fare. As my mother said 'it'll keep you alive.' For some odd reason they also had the smallest water/juice glasses I've ever seen. It took me 3 trips just to have 8oz of water with my breakfast.
Overall, I'd stay here again for the excellent location.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the garden in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank avertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 363 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise as its rating is only 3 stars. The location is great, easy access for exploring Angra, shopping, and getting to great little restaurants, pastry shops, etc. The garden behind the hotel is lovely and if you are fortunate enough to get one of the rooms overlooking the garden the view is great. My room was on the small side, but clean and comfortable. Best of all the hotel was very quiet. The food in the restaurant was quite good, but you are also close to great little restaurants in the city. I liked this hotel better than some of the higher rated hotels in Angra and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janettheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place is a nice place to stay at Terceira. It's in the middle of the centre of Angra do Heroismo. The rooms are small but clean. We had breakfast and that was also allright.

Nice place to stay on the lovely Azores!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed just two nights during a 3-island tour. Comfortable enough, although with a shabby interior (part of the charm?) It is situated on the main square and is in easy walking distance of the cathedral and harbour with the excellent gardens behind it. (It's worth walking up through the gardens to the tower for superb city views and all around.)
Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily, as one might expect. We didn't eat there so can't comment on food: there are too many good restaurants in and around Angra.
Reception was friendly but it would have been helpful to know which way to put the card key in (we weren't escorted to our room on arrival!)

Room Tip: Go for a garden view room on the first or second floor: these have a small balcony, not big enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This is an excellent hotel, right on the main plaza of this amazingly beautiful little city. We stayed there for two days in June and loved every second of it. The city is astonishing and the isalnd of terceira is a gem. Truly. The hotel couldn't be closer to the energy of the city yet remains quiet, peaceful and professional.
Clean, well-run and in all ways apart of the city's charm, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Three weeks we stayed in this hotel. The room smelled awfull musty and breakfast was dull.
The inside swimmingpool (10x5 meters)annex so called fitnessroom(??) leaked from all sides when it was raining.
In the lobby whe found only the two young temporary receptionistes very friendly.
Daily price in midseason, 98 euro, not worth it.
Had a room with a view towards the very beautifull public garden-park, but the balcony was so small and tiny, you couldn't enjoy it sitting down.
The same dirty stains in the bathroom were still there after 3 weeks and hoovering the carpet was not included in the price we think.
Location of the hotel is very convenient.
First time, last time .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel is right in the heart of Angra - which is great. The hotel is so dirty and OLD. They seriously need to update the rooms. The elevator is the smallest thing I have ever seen. The fixtures in the bathroom are 20 plus years old. The air conditioner knob broke off in my hand and you could see the massive amounts of glue on it. The tv is very small - reminded me of what people had in the 60's.

Really a shame they haven't updated the rooms - the front lobby looked nice but seriously the room was just dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PortugueseGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra do Heroismo
0.7 mi away
Terceira Mar Hotel
Terceira Mar Hotel
#1 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
696 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel do Caracol
Hotel do Caracol
#2 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angra Marina Hotel
Angra Marina Hotel
#6 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Atlantida Mar Hotel
Atlantida Mar Hotel
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta das Merces
Quinta das Merces
#3 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zenite
Hotel Zenite
#5 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel

Address: Praca Velha, Angra do Heroismo, Terceira 9700-201, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Terceira > Angra do Heroismo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Angra do Heroismo
Price Range: $56 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel Terceira/Angra Do Heroismo, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing