We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mansion for your own” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta das Merces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta das Merces
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Mansion for your own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location is great. We stayed there to visit the island on our 10 day trip through the Azores. Great place, wonderful decorated. It's a mansion, and we stayed there by ourselves. Perfect price value! Even if the location is close to the main road, it is quiet, and you look straight onto the ocean

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TitschMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay with everything you need. Clean, well kept, excellent. We would not consider staying anywhere else on the island. The Manor House is beautiful. You will be made to feel welcome. Parking is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The manor house itself is beautifully restored and furnished. The individual bedrooms (11 of them) are comfortable. There is a gorgeous chapel attached to the house (that includes a 2-story suite in the back) and a separate guest house best for a family. The houses have views of the ocean out the front and there are gardens/orchards and forest in the back. The owners are very accomodating and knowledgeable about local restaurants, sights and history.

Couple items of note: The owners speak english passably but not fluently so everyone needs to be patient. The hallways are dark and some sitting areas lack lighting for reading. The bedrooms do not have ocean views...but what can you see at night anyway?!

Room Tip: The bedrooms do not have ocean views...but what can you see at night anyway?!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sp30166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A palace on the sea. Everything is the best, the food, the breakfast has everything is excellent. Call of the best I've ever seen, ask yourself a coffee or tea, we met with much sympathy and kindness. We asked a taxi and were soon met with great delicacy, and not pay the phone calls. I loved it, super quiet relaxing as much, I have no words. The bar is open, it's great because it gives us freedom, we take what we drink, but just have to point out, of course ... we have to pay at checkout. The halls, rooms beautifully furnished with the ultimate in quality, very fine, everything smells good myth with a very light scent of candles. It is very thin.
Although not very cold outside, the halls and rooms were always very warm.
Now I understand why the Kings loved being there so much. It is magnificent.

Room Tip: room with garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay especially after having read good reviews but we were disappointed. It is a beautiful building with charming gardens but to call it a hotel is nonsense. The restaurant was closed, tea and coffee should have been available 24 hours but wasn't. Our roomwas cold and breakfast was stingy. We had to repeatedly ask for more eggs, coffee and milk. Any request for help was met with a sigh. We can only guess that the owners were away as the service was non existent. No one bothered to even look up when we passed Reception and we felt as thought we were a nuisance. Such a shame. We understand the King of Spain once stayed there and maybe the 'hotel' is now just resting on its laurels.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely furnished but a bit chilly. Very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed two nights in Quinta das Merces. The hotel is not far away from Angra do Heroismo, although it is too far to walk. So a car seems to be necessary, which can also be used to explore the island. Between hotel and sea a quiet busy road is located, but the Quinta is quiet far away. It is lying on a huge estate, with gardens, swimming pool, tennis court and a big parking lot. Everything is well maintained.
The interior of the house is also very nice with old tasteful furnishings and nice carpets. The rooms are also lovely, but the bathroom is a little old fashioned. The television is very small.

The breakfast is fine, but the service could be a little better. Also I did not like the tipsy furniture in the breakfast room. It was also a little cramped.

The price of the double room during high season is a bit too high, in the low season it is fine.

Do not miss the nearby fish restaurants and Angra, a very beautiful town!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ossenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in the Quinta with a group for five nights in November. Our room was very cold on arrival and we received no warm welcome or hospitality during our stay. The Quinta was being run by the daughter and son of the family who were begrudging in everything they did. They couldn't even be bothered to bid us 'good day' when we came in and out. Breakfast was adequate but no more - probably the worst we have had anywhere, and certainly not four star. We may have been unlucky, but certainly wouldn't recommend it from our experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plantypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra do Heroismo
11.1 mi away
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Terceira Mar Hotel
Terceira Mar Hotel
#1 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel do Caracol
Hotel do Caracol
#2 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Angra Garden Hotel
Angra Garden Hotel
#3 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Beira Mar
Hotel Beira Mar
#4 of 14 in Terceira
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.0 mi away
Angra Marina Hotel
Angra Marina Hotel
#5 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta das Merces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta das Merces

Property: Quinta das Merces
Address: Caminho de Baixo - Sao Mateus | (also known as Quinta de Nossa Senhora das Merces), Angra do Heroismo, Terceira 9700-559, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Azores > Terceira > Angra do Heroismo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Angra do Heroismo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta das Merces 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta das Merces - A secret place at the Atlantic Ocean. The Country House - Quinta das Mercês is ideally situated in the protected area of Mount Brasil, in Island Terceira, Azores. It grows from the sea line through the interior within an area of about 35,000 square meters. It gathers the ocean influence with a dense extension of Atlantic woods wrapping an architectural set of great historical and cultural value. The farm roots go back to the XVIth century when the actual farm tenant’s house was built. In the XVIIth century was raised the Manor House to which, in the same century, was added the chapel in all alike a small church. The House and the Chapel are the nucleus of one of the last examples of the Feudal Architecture on the surrounds of the city of Angra do Heroismo. The outside space, with deep connection to the sea, was valorised through a careful landscape architectural project witch faithfully kept the original line of the land, implementing selective areas of leisure. It is a multifaceted space directed to an exacting and qualified tourism demand. The interaction with the sea allows practicing numerous sports in the open wide Atlantic and the dense woods invite to share a relaxing environment. The Country House Quinta das Merces is a unique space where nature perfectly combines with a rich historical patrimony, giving the pleasure of an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quinta das Merces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Merces Terceira/Angra Do Heroismo, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing