We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, but it killed my asthma” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terceira Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terceira Mar Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great hotel, but it killed my asthma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I actually stayed at this hotel in 2011, but it wouldn't let me go that far back.

I really liked many things about this hotel. It was in a wonderful spot as far as being centrally located. The lobby and bar were comfortable. My family spent quite a bit of time in there drinking wine and playing cards. The bathroom was clean and completely adequate. The bed was comfortable. The only problem I had, and this was a problem in the Azores in general, was the mildew. Being at sea as they are, it is difficult to keep mildew out of the fabrics. What they SHOULD do is remove any heavy curtains and carpets out of the place. Perhaps employ humidifiers during certain times of year. I had to remove all the pillows and bedspreads because the fabric triggered my asthma. My parents didn't notice the mildew in their room, so maybe I'm just particularly sensitive.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper levels for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    250
    56
    15
    5
See reviews for
112
239
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tacoma wa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great views of Mounte Brazil and beautiful, private grounds with lots of room to wander. Convenient for walking to downtown historic area. Huge unheated outdoor pool with lounging area
And heated indoor smaller pool with spa were very relaxing. Overall a great experience. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

If the idea of waking up to the sound of waves crashing onto a rocky shoreline, backed by a view over a palm-fringed outdoor swimming pool to the tree-clad slopes of Monte Brasil appeals, then this is the place for you.

This spacious 4-star hotel has all the amenities you need for a pleasant stay on the island, and is about a 20-minute stroll into the centre of this historic city, which is no bad thing, as it's much quieter.

Perhaps the hotel is a little bit past its prime: scuff marks on walls and doors, minor damage to furniture, lamp stands that don't stand very well, in-room brochures and, elsewhere, bar menus, etc., that need replacing with new ones; towels that are a bit washed out. But these are minor considerations.

The restaurant is spacious; breakfast ample and extensive; dinner is either a simple a la carte or buffet, none of which is expensive, and the local wines on offer are excellent and at a good price.

Room Tip: No need; all rooms have a balcony facing out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

For about 7 nights I stayed at the Terceira del Mar hotel in Angra. It has the perfect location! Nice and quiet, but next to the centrum. Also with a beautiful view from all hotel rooms! Outstanding! Also the staff was extremely friendly and helpfull! The food was decent and everything was clean... So why no 5 stars then?

Just one (minor) reason... Change all carpets!! They are really old, smell bad and are completely outworn! Still.. ignore that and you have a perfect hotel with great staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

the check was very efficient. You get a million $ view from your room. The breakfast is very good, always filled up and a big choice.
They are refurbishing the hotel. the carpet in our room was old.
Our daughter lost an tiny earring in the bathroom, housekeeping tore the bags of the vacumcleaners to look for it. they really looked everywhere, unfortunately we had to leave...
then, 1 week later, it arrived in the mail! They did all this effort, amazing !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vfroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile


Stayed for 3 nights.

Rooms are good and with a great view of the pool and bay, although a bit old fashioned and with need of renew (crt TV, wooden furniture). In sum, are Ok for a 4* hotel.

Staff is really helpful and friendly and infrastructures are very good, specially the pool.

The only drawback is breakfast and food in general.I  would expect more for a 4*.lack of fruit in breakfast and pretty poor hambúrguer at the pool bar.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comerEboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekeren, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

quiet location on 10 minutes walking from the center. Great view, great pool, very clean. Breakfast was super, Dinner was ok but could be better. Good parking place. Seaswimming in the neighborhoud is possible.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Erik1967_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra do Heroismo
10.2 mi away
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Caracol
Hotel do Caracol
#2 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Angra Marina Hotel
Angra Marina Hotel
#6 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta das Merces
Quinta das Merces
#3 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beira Mar
Hotel Beira Mar
#5 of 14 in Terceira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terceira Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terceira Mar Hotel

Property: Terceira Mar Hotel
Address: Portoes de Sao Pedro 1 | Ilha Terceira, Angra do Heroismo, Terceira 9700-219, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Terceira > Angra do Heroismo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Angra do Heroismo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Terceira Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking ocean view, Terceira Mar Hotel is a few steps from the historic city center of Angra do Heroismo, classified by UNESCO as World Heritage. In resort style, Terceira Mar Hotel is a unique paradise: rightly located on Fanal Bay, overlooking a 16th century fortress and surrounded by a garden with a salt water infinity pool. All rooms face the ocean and Mount Brazil and offer an exceptional and warm atmosphere. If your visit in Terceira Island is for business of pleasure, Terceira Mar Hotel gives you the perfect balance of a magical place with all the amenities you need and superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Terceira Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terceira Mar
Terceira Mar Hotel Angra Do Heroismo, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing