We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home w/ gardens, views and amazing hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
View of Mount Brazil
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Mount Brazil
Front of house Tradicional furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View of Mount Brazil
Front of house
Tradicional furniture
Traditional living-room
Traditional living-room
Main Bedroom
Tradicional furniture - bedroom
Traditional furniture - bedroom
Kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Piano in Dining room that turns into a second bedroom
Dining room
Sunroom
Vegetables gardaen (backyard)
Vegetables garden (backyard)
Aromatic herbs garden (backyard)
Aromatic herbs garden (backyard)
Ocean view (backyard)
Frontal ocean view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gnaustalg...
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect home w/ gardens, views and amazing hosts”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our stay at Tradition House (Casa da Tia Arlete) was heaven. The house is small, yet comfortable. It has everything you need. My husband loved the shower; one of the ones w/ rain head, handheld head, foot massage and back massage options. I loved the garden with path leading to viewpoint overlooking Angra do Heroismo, Monte Brasil, Sao Mateus and the Atlantic. We both loved listening to Arlindo's CD's; he is a gifted pianist. Paintings and other artwork done by Auntie Arlete hang around the home, adding to it's special home-like feel; it is obvious she led a wonderful life and is still treasured.
Maria and Arlindo, our hosts, became instant friends. We were treated like family from the beginning. Maria met us at the airport, took us to the home, showed us around (she had also prepared a bountiful gift basket which sat on the table welcoming us), and invited us to Angra Heritage Folklore Festival. We went w/ her and had a fabulous time.
They also invited us to a bullfight/bull run being hosted at one of their friends homes nearby. It was great meeting their friends and participating in this Terceira tradition. Here, bulls are not killed; they are treated w/ a great deal of respect. The day was exciting, entertaining and endearing.
Brett's birthday was during our stay and they joined us for a birthday dinner. Maria helped me plan it to make it extra special. We went to Casa de Pasto A Canadinha. Arlindo gave us a tour and shared what makes this restaurant important; it is filled w/ bull and cow photos and antique items showing the historical significance of this great animal. He informed us about items on the menu, we chose what sounded wonderful, and he ordered. The meal (traditional fish soup, Alcatra Regional and vinho) and time w/ our new friends was wonderful. To end the evening, they surprised Brett w/ a cake (made by Maria, who is a fabulous cook). We all sang Happy Birthday, first in English and then in Portuguese. They also gave us a special gift which we'll treasure always.
Maria let us borrow her car for a day of island touring as well.
Our holiday ended way too soon. Our time in Terceira at Traditional House Azores was perfect. We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. We will continue to grow the seed of friendship that was planted w/ Maria and Arlindo and we will undoubtedly return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you so much for your so kind message!
We always and on!y do what we feel and believe can make our guests happy. It's our way of be happy as well.
Hugs and best wishes,
Maria and Arlindo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karibu
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming house, charming hosts.”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a wonderful 10 days in Aunty Arlete's house in Santa Luzia, Angra do Heroísmo. The house is traditional and charming, with some quirky furniture, but very well equipped and spotlessly clean. There is one bedroom with a double bed, plus a sofa bed in the little dining room. The water pressure in the shower is excellent and though small, the shower stall is even equipped with a radio. There is wifi in the house and a phone that can be used to call overseas for free after 9:00 p.m. While we were there the back yard was spilling over with beautiful hydrangeas, and there is a short path to a gorgeous view across to Monte Brasil. The house is a 15 minute walk in to the center of Angra, and a long uphill walk back, but there is a bus you can take, or cabs if you don't feel like walking. Our hostess Maria picked us up at the airport in the car that we later rented from her, an immaculately maintained vintage Mercedes. Maria is a lovely person, extremely helpful and accommodating, and she took the time to walk us through the house showing us around and providing a lot of helpful information. She also stocked the kitchen with butter, cheese, milk, fruit, two kinds of Portuguese bread, a jar of homemade preserves and a bottle of wine, all very much appreciated. Her husband Arlindo is a delightful man and a gifted pianist who plays at the Hotel Caracol on Saturday nights. Be sure to stop by there for a drink and enjoy his music. He took us to a street bullfight in one of the villages, and we experienced such amazing hospitality there. Terceira is a beautiful, beautiful island, and the city of Angra do Heroísmo is magical. I can't wait to return to Aunty Arlete's house and to renew our friendship with Maria and Arlindo. (P.S. They completely respect your privacy and if you would prefer to do your own thing with minimal interaction with the hosts they are perfectly fine with that too.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the house, and of the host and hostess
Liked least: The sofa bed was not the height of comfort!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thank you, Moira and Doug, for your so nice and kind message!
We will always be waiting the pleasure of your next visit.
This is really our way of receive and share friendship, traditions and cultures. Thank you for being who you are and for being part of our way of life!
See you soon!...
Maria & Arlindo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terceira2...
Elk Grove, California
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful vacation during our stay. The location was perfectly centered for us to visit family as well as enjoy the city. Maria's house was just perfect and Maria was such a wonderful hostess. Checked in to make sure we were doing well and got to see the sights. We would definitely stay here again. I can't wait for the chance to visit again. Thank you Maria!!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
yogijiva
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely house fabulous hostess”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

All the reviews are true! The house is lovely and very well-equipped - everything you could want is there, which you don't always find. A charming house in every way.
And Maria was kind and generous beyond anything we could have expected, except that we had read the previous reviews! Nothing was too much trouble for her and we really felt she took pleasure in looking after us. There was food in the house on arrival - so thoughtful. She let me borrow a guitar to practice on and invited us round to hear a friend of her son's playing the Terceiran 15-string guitar!
A wonderful place and I wholeheartedly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
Dear Giva and Alan,

Thank you so much for your so kind and very generous message. We are happy to know you liked and recommend our traditionnal house. We always try to do our best to provide nice stays to our guests; sharing our culture and receiving theirs; welcoming them like friends and making new friends too. With you, it has been so easy!
Thank you again for your kindness and for all the good moments. We will always be here if you need any help to a new visit of Terceira (another season) or to visit other islands.
We didn't forget the cooking recipes - "Alcatra", Donas Amélias" and "Christmas Cake". Please be attentive to your email; it will be there soon.

Please accept our best wishes.
Very friendly,

Maria and Arlindo Nascimento
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyandge...
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, traditional Azorean house”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Aunty Arlete's House is located on a hill overlooking the historic city of Angra do Heroismo and is a short 15 minute walk to the city center. The house is very comfortable and is well equipped for a short or long stay. My wife, my son and myself stayed for three nights in September and felt right at home in a traditional Azorean neighborhood. The front porch and back garden offer views that overlook the city and the spectacular waterfront. The climb up the hill to the house is a little steep but we enjoyed the exercise. The area is quiet and safe and everyone is friendly, especially the owner, Maria. She is very welcoming and helpful with suggestions for places to visit, restaurants, etc. She really becomes a friend and loves to introduce guests to the real Azores. She even drove us back and forth to the airport. We spent two wonderful days in Angra and found plenty to do, and then rented her classic Mercedes on our final day to tour the island. The price of the house rental is a real bargain and so much more personal than staying in a regular hotel. This was our first visit to the Azores and I would love to stay in Aunty Arelet's for a longer period next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very personal cultural living experience
Liked least: I liked everything about it.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telemacqu...
Bonneville, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very friendly.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The house was small but well situated and very convenient.
The owner of the house was so kind and friendly. She prepared a road book with all the nice things to see and the good places to eat. She really is a passionnate of her island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The owner.
Liked least: The confort of the living room.
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2013
Bonjour Nicolas, Christophe et Julie,

Merci bien pour votre message si sympathique.
Nous serons toujours prêts pour vous accueillir ou simplement pour vous aider si vous en avez besoin, lorsque vous décidez de revenir en Azores.

Merci de nouveau. On vous souhaite tout de bon.

Au revoir,

maria et Arlindo Nascimento
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing