We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value , friendly service and walkable in to Angra”
Review of Hotel do Caracol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel do Caracol
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent value , friendly service and walkable in to Angra”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on Azores tour in July 2013
Allocated a very good room on the 1st floor with excellent sea view at the pool end of the building. Free wi - fi throughout which worked a treat in the room and on the balcony.

The Hotel itself is fairly uninspiring by design and has been wedged in to a fairly small plot of land.

The room was clean , the bed comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast very acceptable and bar food OK with average prices as we expereinced throughout the Azores trip.
Good 20 minute brisk walk in to Angra which works up an appetite for dinner if you are eating out ( €5 euro taxi ride back ) . Angra itslef is a lovely town with many traditional buiuldings and a nice harbour area but not that many restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a room with a sea view ( higher numbers the better as these will be closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoffwilson1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    198
    75
    25
    10
See reviews for
81
200
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doorn, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The rooms on the -1 floor with numbers in the even 100 series have a 3-meter high wall topped with a 1.5 meter mesh fence at just three metres from the sliding doors of your room. The view is a patch of hopefully blue sky. The boon is you tet a hammock, which the other rooms don't get.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Situated on the seafront with its own little access to the beach. Swimmingpool area very nice.
Rooms are functional, even quiet. All rooms with balcony.
Bathrooms are sparcely equipped. Not even a showercap - but there's a hairdryer.

Breakfast very nice.

Staff at reception nice and helpful.

Difficult to find the hotel without navy-system.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, portugal
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Internet: Free wireless.
.
Hotel: Not so young, but still OK.
.
Rooms: Garden view rooms are smaller than the rooms with a pool / see view.
.
Parking: Free. But only a few spots to park in front of the hotel. Underground parking free.
.
Breakfast: Excellent
.
Location: Not a walking distance from the city center. At the rather busy ( meaning the Arizonian term of busy :)) roundabout.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maciej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is located in a little bay , 1 Km away from Angra City Center, that is beatiful small town, Roms ar well sized, and brakfast is good, inner swiming pool&sparking free.& priceson Bars and Restaurants are OK.
Very nice Pictures decorating rooms and corridors .
Staff better than standard Portuguese way.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillermo749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were flying from Atlanta to Madrid, on December 24, 2012, when one of the two engines of the Delta airplane became inoperable. Delta landed the plane on the island where this hotel is located. Delta provided each family with a room--ours had a view of Monte Brasil. A caracol (snail-like man-made hill) was on the premises, so we walked up it to see the views (small plots of farmland, surrounded by stone fences). Delta treated us all to a breakfast local buffet (made with local and nearby foods, prepared in the local style--very very nice). When a plane from France still hadn't arrived by noon, Delta treated us all to a lunch buffet (with red wine that had a label something like parole which we were told was "local" but in French the word means "word" and it communicated to us lush without earthiness). Residents in swim suits dove off the pier and swam, to entertain themselves, and us. The water was cold--we put our hand in it. Delta flew us out about 3:00 p.m. The shuttle-ride to the island's airport proved that dairy products are an important production on the island--again many plots of fenced off land, but this time each plot was filled with cows. (Although only 2% of Portugal's population lives in the Azores, most of the dairy Portuguese dairy products are produced in the Azores.) We enjoyed our "event" in spite of the surprise. On the downside, we spent one less day in Madrid sight-seeing. On the plus-side, we were oriented to Portugal! Thank you, Delta, for providing us with this side-trip!

Room Tip: Of all the rooms in the hotel, we were lucky to have an ocean view and a queen-size bed. We'd a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLPMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very large 2 storey rooms like a small apartment, with bedrooms upstairs and living area with sofa bed on main floor. Views were wonderful. Staff was lovely. The facilities were more than we expected with spa and huge gym. I liked that guests had access to the ocean for a swim as well as the outdoor pool. The indoor pool could use some updating and I personally would not use it because it feels like you are in a basement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra do Heroismo
0.3 mi away
Terceira Mar Hotel
Terceira Mar Hotel
#1 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angra Marina Hotel
Angra Marina Hotel
#6 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
225 reviews
10.4 mi away
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
330 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Teresinha
Hotel Teresinha
#2 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta das Merces
Quinta das Merces
#3 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Caracol

Property: Hotel do Caracol
Address: Estrada Regional no 1 | Silveira, Angra do Heroismo, Terceira 9700-193, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Terceira > Angra do Heroismo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Angra do Heroismo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Caracol 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel do Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Caracol Terceira/Angra Do Heroismo, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing