We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great trail

This is one of the most difficult, but most pleasing trails on the island. You need to be able to... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
koenb181
,
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Worth making the effort for the views and nature

A wonderful hike with a couple of challenging sections so take good footwear - good in all... read more

Reviewed July 7, 2018
ChrisL596
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 55 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Terceira
from $58.10
More Info
from $145.20
More Info
from $98.80
More Info
ATV Tour
2 Reviews
from $84.80
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
10
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hike volcanic rock mud parts trees nature
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2018

This is one of the most difficult, but most pleasing trails on the island. You need to be able to climb and the weather should be dry in order to endure this trail. The view is nice as well as the whole trip.

Thank koenb181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

A wonderful hike with a couple of challenging sections so take good footwear - good in all conditions.

Thank ChrisL596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

The round trip has a length of about 5km and it took us about 2 hours but we stopped several times to take a look at the beautiful nature and to take photos. There are a couple of lakes along the trail. Tthe trail leads over volcanic rocks, pastures and through a forest, only a short part is on the road.

Thank julian1234842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

Most of the Hike is either along a trail with many roots or over lava rock. We did not experience the view, as a very foggy storm blew in. The resulting finish in the wind, rain and fog was quite an adventure, and made us feel we had earned our cervezas that afternoon. On a clear day it would be easier and more rewarding regarding the view from the cone.

Thank billybobcobbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Perfect views and feelings in a jungle. Hard with small kids but possible. Take also pico Gaspar as final.

Thank Eric v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

My friends and I explored the Misterios Negros Trail with Tanja, who is enthusiastic about exploring and hiking and sharing the place she calls home with her guests. We hiked through the 5K (mostly) rough terrain with a zeal to see what’s next, as it went from a standard trail, to mud, to rather large rocks, and back. Tanja will explain the local flora (and fauna) and why they help or hurt the climate on the island as she guides you throughout the tour.

Thank bjohnson0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018

This was a very nice hike. You hike between two volcanoes. The hike is about 5k or 3.1 miles. The terrain is very difficult at times. It was quite muddy and windy in a lot of spots. My husband hiked it though with a 30lb (14kg) toddler on his back.

Thank waterlover19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018

Sections of this trail made me feel like I was traveling through middle earth. There are a few neat ponds that you walk by, as well as these large hills made of blank volcanic rock that you weave between. In between these hills you sort of go down into little canyon like places where there are these cool twisty trees completely covered in moss and ferns. It's really beautiful. When we did the trail it was rather wet and slippery. The trail isn't really difficult in terms of being strenuous, but there are parts that involve bending over and stepping carefully. The trees grow very low and if you're tall you might whack your head a few times. I wouldn't recommend this trail for people with mobility issues but for the average person it is very doable and a really beautiful hike. Just be prepared for mud!

Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

This trail is amazing, you just walk through the real native forest of Terceira! there is Gruta do Natal in the beginning/end of the trail, as well as a lake, which is probably beautiful, but only in the wet season. In october there was pretty much no water in it, as in another lakes which one meets along the way.

1  Thank Petra Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Its ojay, every time you visit will never be like that last, that is thebeauty of nature. For nature lovers its a must see. Its a good little walk.

Thank JenniferFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews