We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back another night”

Restaurante Gastronomo
Ranked #5 of 229 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

You arrive as strangers and leave as family. Everyone who works in the restaurant is fantastic. We were really sorry to leave these people behind. Sonia, the owner explains the dishes to you and all about the various fish before you make your choice. On the first night we met a couple who were eating the clams and they were so enjoying them. We had octopus salad (twice), see photo of the remains of the salad, shrimps (the size of large prawns), fish, mackerel (Sonia’s grandmothers dish) and more that I can’t remember. Each meal is finished off by complimentary liquors which are great. Don’t turn them down. This restaurant has a great reputation and it certainly does not disappoint.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank W2926NBbarbaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely amazing experience. Fabulous food and great staff. I really recommend everyone! Petra And Vlasta ❤️

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Peťa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

My wife and me enjoyed dinner twice at this amazing establishment.
The first visit ocured on 20 Sep.2018. Its a family owned and operated restaurant. The staff is so friendly and helpfull!! We've had amazing first and main courses, including same day catch fresh fish ( unfortunatelly i am not able to recall the nice course in "fish science" near the same-day catch display).
It was a lot of very tasty food delivered with love.
The dessert was amazing, we took 2 different local made cakes...
And the house wine suggested by the matron was exactly paired with the food.
We were so excited that i promised will come back.
And after visiting the other suggested seafood restaurant in Ponte Delgada, we came back to Gastronomo on 22 Sep
And again, same consistent story: amazing food, friendly and effe tive service and at fair price for this quality.
Thank you for a very good experience

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank ShmillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

They pushed us to order their “fresh” fish that turned out to be dry, old and expensive. After I told them the fish was not fresh, they still insisted the fish were caught that day. For 4 people it was 125 euros before tips. Terrible and dishonest place. Don’t waste your money there. All our dinning experiences after that were much better and less than half of the price at other places. I want to give them a negative star, but the website would not allow me to do it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Tangodancer643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara M, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Restaurante Gastronomo, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018
Google Translation

Boa tarde, respeito a opinião dos clientes. mas há uma coisa que não lhe admito é que nos chame desonestos. Os seus amigos até estavam incomodados com o seu comportamento. Lamento que a senhora não saiba o que é peixe, nem os preços que custam os peixes que comeu. Mas pronto serei eu o desonesto? A senhora sabia os preços e pediu um alfonsim com a sua paladar próprio. Enfim, senhora desonesta.
cump

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Went to eat again at Gastrónomo. I ordered the steak. It was so delicious and juicy especially the veggies rice *****. The chef found time to come to the table and ask if it was good. Super friendly place with average pricing. To return one more time. :)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Gastronomo also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Restaurante Gastronomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing