We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As lovely as remembered”
other travelers have booked this property
Onsite natural Reserve Lava Rock Pebble Beach natural safe pools swimming fishing all year long
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Onsite natural Reserve Lava Rock Pebble Beach natural safe pools swimming fishing all year long
House Street level Entrance Bedroom Windows House Building Automated gateway to parking garden and Ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Onsite natural Reserve Lava Rock Pebble Beach natural safe pools swimming fishing all year long
House Street level Entrance Bedroom Windows
House Building Automated gateway to parking garden and Ocean
Private peaceful place half way between house & Shoreline ocean Views Landscape towns & city
Onsite sheltered place any time day or night best enjoyed with favorite beverage like glass of wine!
Onsite beautiful views & sound of Waves crashing against Lava Rock.
Hallway Entrance Decor
Bedroom Decor
Very high ceilings heat & air conditioning orthopedic mattresses four sleep comfortably per room
Bedroom Window street level Heritage Manor Garden Views
Two Bedrooms very high ceilings Orthopedic comfort  Queen size bed and Twin size bunk beds sleeps 8
Comfortable size bedrooms
Walk out From Kitchen to Upper Patio
Main House Bathroom Very Large Seamless Glass Shower swings in to open
Main Bathroom With Bide
Second Bathroom with Shower Located few short steps from main house
Full laundry washer and dryer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
skidoolie
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As lovely as remembered”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

After our amazing trip to the Azores last year, we couldn’t help but want to return. Right away we tried to book our trip with Josie because it was the most memorable spot we have ever stayed. Unfortunately, it was booked up for most of our trip and we were only able to get in this time for our first 3 days.Josie was still a joy to work with though and it was so nice to spend our first jet lagged nights in the place that feels like home. I sleep like a rock here.
This house is in a beautiful location and is outfitted perfectly for your home away from home complete with a warm welcome and a hot meal waiting for you. You will not have to worry about missing details in this house. Everything has been considered carefully. A special thank you to Connie for meeting us at the airport and to Eduarda too for the humongous vegetarian meal and all the kindness. And of course Josie who is always right there for any questions and correspondence all throughout the year before our stay. We always meet the nicest people in Sao Miguel.




Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigshar...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You just can't find a better place to relax !!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

After multiple trips together with our close friends over many years we were in need of a new place to explore and most importantly relax. We found a wonderful place in Calhetas,Sao Miguel in the beautiful Azores.

Nothing was overlooked - we got help with every detail of our trip.The accommodation was perfect for us. A quaint 2 bedroom home in a quiet village that was ideally located within easy access to all the sights and attractions on the island. The home was beautifully appointed with absolutely everything you could want or need to settle in and relax for a week or more. We were greeted with a delicious meal so large that it fed our lunches for several days to follow.

The property was immense. leading all the way back to a gorgeous stretch of ocean, The sound of wind and waves were a constant and soothing soundtrack to our stay. It was tough to leave all that behind on days when we ventured out to explore the amazing sights and scenery all over the island. It was quite easy to get around and find everything we needed and much more. The people were very friendly, welcoming and eager to help.

Would love to go back in spring or summer when it must be absoloutely stunning with all the flowers in full bloom.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmakeup
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, Central location and AMAZING privet property!!!:)”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Planning third time visit to this unique place, we especially enjoy the plenty private outdoor space not shared with anyone else. Very clean, delicious food, car rental plus surprisingly December weather had sunny days when we swam the natural pools at back, watched the waves roll in, walked Pocos Calhetas trails to the next town. With a mini market up the street some days we never left home. Close by Restaurant Botequim Acoreano has great food, mentioning this home got us a little extra. Morning coffee, an evening glass of wine overlooking the ocean from the lookout point was perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goretti P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special place many call Island Of Love happens to be our ancestral place!”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Everything is just perfect about this home extremely clean, extra touches like fresh flowers, fresh laundered pretty & comfy beds. We travel quite a bit and stayed at several homes this one stands attention to detail. A well planned delicious meal which after a flight in our case an overnight one to find the table set & a home cooked meal was most wonderful. To me this set the stage for a very relaxing stay; not to mention we even had leftover that served as a second meal truly Divine! Josie was a pleasure to deal with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
immac25
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a great location quiet with the beach on the door step.”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location was great. I enjoyed relaxing and by the beach . We went into Punta Delgado for the day to shop, eat, and enjoy the view. One day we went to where the therapeutic volcanic pool and the gardens were beautiful. We wanted to relax but also see some of the island. The home was clean and when I arrived I had a snack waiting for me. In the fridge there was milk and bread so I could have breakfast the next morning. The rooms are a good size with a beautiful backyard. I would recommend this rental to anyone who wants a great vacation on a nice island with lots of greenery and great views. I love to hear the ocean. This is my 3 time back.
Imma

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnteri1...
Kemptville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our expectations . Lovely boutique beach house short walk to the Atlantic”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This property lived up to the previous reviews. We spent 5 days in this lovely oasis which has everything a family could need for a family holiday.
We were impressed by the decor inside and on the three seating areas. It was obvious a lot attention was paid to the comfort of guests. Lovely linens towels, house coats. The bunk beds were skillfully incorporated into the two bedrooms. The kitchen was a cooks dream.
The caretaker Paula was a treasure, looking after us in many ways unexpected,including meeting us at the airport and cooking us a lovely lunch.
She arranged for us a fabulous fish resturant with a choice window seating.
To say more about Paula would appear an exaggeration.
The owner Josie was ever so helpful ,helping me with hotel reservations and car rental. And was quick to respond when we inadvertently locked ourselves out of the house. She quickly contacted Paula who was not here in minutes to save the day.
This place is a treasure and we hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skidoolie
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Dream Come True”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Words cannot express how much we loved this place but I will give it a try. Right from the very beginning of the planning stage of our vacation, I had my eye on this place because of its beauty and the services it provides.I picked Sao Miguel over the other islands because I wanted to stay here and I wasn't disappointed.
Josie was very helpful right from the beginning. Sadly, we had problems at the airport which required that we miss a day in Sao Miguel. That was very stressful for us but Josie was wonderful and took care of the changes to our car rental and made sure that we were still picked up on time which was a huge relief to us.
When we did arrive, Paula was there waiting for us with a warm smile and started taking care of us right away. Our car rental went smoothly with no extra charges. When we arrived at the cottage, we found it to be even lovelier than the picture. Cool inside, no mosquitoes, everything you could ask for as a selfcater. Paula had a lovely spread of wine, breads fruits and cheese. There was beer too and some local drinks to try. They also went out of their way to provide a yummy vegetarian meal for us which was very welcome after all the traveling we had been doing.
The house proved to be beyond my expectations. They had everything there that I could possibly need. The bed was super comfortable we slept better there than anywhere we stayed.We loved the garden, the outdoor sitting area and of course the beach, which is just a comfortable stroll away. My biggest regret was that we couldn't spend more time here. Of 6 places we stayed on this trip, Josie's was our favorite. Best for beauty, comfort and convenience. When you combine that with having someone like Paula,always just a phone call away, available to help with anything you might need, it is unbeatable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Hi Vicki; it is so nice to hear from you with this very gratifying amazing review. I am truly humbled and delighted to know that you loved your visit, the stay with us, and that our hospitality and location delivered comfort and convenience. We are very fortunate to have amazing and memorable guests that do take precious time to write genuine reviews not only in our local guest book but also on-line. I am forever grateful for your visit and for sharing your experience via this lovely review! In hope for return visits we send your way an ocean filled of sunshine and warm Azorean hugs.
Josie Frazao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing