We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Arruda Pineapple Plantation
from $66.21
More Info
from $33.66
More Info
from $26.93
More Info
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
167
257
157
23
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
167
257
157
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop pineapple various stages growing process hot sauce free samples stages of development quick visit learn how interesting visit for sale self guided quick tour free entry walk around worth a stop own pace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is literally in town. Over 10,000 pineapples under cultivation in large greenhouses. The tour is free and our guide was informative and affable. We enjoyed the gift shop and opportunity to taste pineapple liquor and pineapples.
Azorean pineapples are better than any other pineapple we ever tasted. I wish we could purchase them in the states. The tour provides a perspective on what makes them special so I won't spoil it in my review. We also had a snack at a small snack stand on the grounds. Definitely worth the visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Apiary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Great little stop to see Pineapples being grown in greenhouses. Nice cafe with lots of pineapple drinks and snacks, pineapple pasties were great! Lively shop too. Purchased some pineapple jam and mustard to try at home. Definitely a worthwhile visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank happytotravel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

We visited both plantations of pineapple in Ponta Delgada and both were interesting. When I draw a comparison between Santo Antonio and Arruda Pineapple Plantation, Santo Antonio is better for informative aspect and Arruda Pineapple Plantation offer better gastronomic experience with nice chill out zone.You can taste pineapple pastry, cake, ice cream, cocktail, sandwich with pinneaple mustared or fresh pineapple bowl etc. You can take a walk between greenhouses and teach something about pineapple plantation. Each individual greenhouse present a different phase of pineapple cultivation. Visit of greenhouses is for free.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank JitkaB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

The pineapple plantation contained many different greenhouses with pineapple growth at various stages. It was very bizarre to see how they develop and looked very comical (seeing a pineapple around 5 cm size) and psychedelic (vibrant colors and wonderful geometrical patterns) at the same time. Shame there was not more information or boards on their growth. Has a toilet, gift shop (can purchase pineapple related products) and and cafe (didn't try). Free shot of pineapple liquor at the gift shop! Can spend max 1 hr here.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank SultanofSmartness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

We had an excellent guide who meticulously described the process of the pineapple plantation. Very interesting and informative. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews