We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely authentic cottage in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Lounge Area
Lounge Area
Dining Area, Lounge Area, Door to Garden
Dining Area
Original Wooden Ceilings
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 with en-suite
Bedroom 1
En-suite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Family Bathroom
Original Fireplace
Hallway to Front Door
Lounge leading to Garden
Garden
Toys
Garden Chairs
Garden Sand Pit
Garden
Garden Chair
Garden Table
Garden Chairs
Garden Chair
Table at bottom of garden overlooking the Ocean
Table at bottom of garden
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Route from Airport to Cottage. 18 minutes.
Coordinates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nick A
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We loved staying at this charming cottage. It has everything you could ask for; great location, lovely views, fully equipped, comfortable and clean. We loved to spend time relaxing at the cliff top table with a glass of wine and a bite to eat, looking out over the beautiful ocean. Or in the garden having a family bbq. Idyllic. We can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting by the sea
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlc5000
Rock Spring
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay on Sao Miguel!”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about our stay at the cottage. It was an easy 15 minute drive from the airport to the cottage. The cottage itself is charming with many original features while offering every modern convenience that we needed. A walk through the back garden brings you to a breathtaking view of the northern coast of the island. Watching the waves crash against the cliffs was nothing short of a magical introduction to such a beautiful island. Edgar was the perfect host. Warm, inviting, and providing us with invaluable information about the island. The welcome bottle of wine and fruit was also much appreciated after our flight. He even provided us with a cell phone that we could use to make local calls and encouraged us to call him if we had any issues at all. All of this for an incredible price. I can't recommend Cottage on Cliffs over the Sea enough!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely Review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and the island. It's heart warming to know that our guests love the cottage as much as we do, and appreciate the effort we put into making your stay there as pleasurable as possible.

John, Lorna, Edgar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicca17
italia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is on the North coast of the island. It took us only 14 minutes to get there from the airport. It was very easy to find it.
The house was perfectly cleaned and we received a fruit basket and a botte of Portoguese wine as a welcome gift.
We had breakfast on the stone table outside in the garden and we could admire the Atlantic ocean and its waves. The view is beautiful.
After a short walk you get to the natural swimming pools.
There are three food stores close to the cottage (only 5 minutes by car)
a bakery, a gas station and a couple of restaurants.
The house wasn't humid at all and all the eletric appliances worked perfectly. The kitchen is very well furnished and the dishwasher detergent is provided too.
Edgar and his wife did their best to make us feel at home and Edgar got in touch every two days to check if everything was fine. Great host!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
103JL3
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, great ocean views, very clean, very well furnished, everthing you need is there”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, ocean views are amazing, very clean and quiet rustic property, I will be going back for sure, Edgar is very helpful, I ran out of propane, he was there in 20 minutes to replace the bottle, I am from the Azores living in Canada, I recomment this house!!

Looking forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely Review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Cottage and look forward to seeing you again next year.

John, Lorna, Edgar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capedream...
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cottage was chilly, damp, musty and needed better lighting. Lawn needed mowing badly.”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The price was very good for the week and our host was quick to respond to our needs. We were pleased to find a bottle of wine and fruit left for us by our hosts. The rental price was good.

Otherwise the cottage needed brighter lighting and a good heat source as it was chilly the whole week we were there. The one small electric space heater in the living room was not enough.The grass in the yard needed mowing, being about 10 inches tall. This gave the yard a very unwelcome, neglected appearance. The cottage was musty which made it uncomfortable to be there much. Again, a suitable heat source would help this situation.

The yard also needed a general tidying up as there were things pushed against the wall behind the laundry building that probably could be discarded or hidden from view. This would help make the area much more welcoming to guests.

These improvements would make a big difference in guest satisfaction.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Wine and fruit left for us was a very nice gesture. Edgar was quick to respond to our needs.
Liked least: House is damp and musty, needed brighter lighting, and a way to warm the house better than the small space heater in the living room.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
We believe this is a further duplication of the Review "Disappointing" however your negative Review and the other 2 others for the same Booking completely disagree on some key points, which we find puzzling. We would have expected you would at least have told the same story. Your 3 negative Reviews for one booking are totally at odds to all the other positive Reviews we receive. They reek of vindictiveness which really says more about the 3 Reviewers than the Cottage itself.

Nevertheless we shall try to respond in a constructive manner.

Musty house.
Strangely you do not mention this in one of your other Reviews and we strongly dispute it. We believe you read this on an earlier Review and decided to use it. The mustiness problem lasted only a short time and was quickly resolved long before you arrived.

Garden.
We are sorry the garden was not to you liking. We think the garden is lovely and rustic with nice authentic Azorean walls, and so do our other guests. We believe the pictures give a good representation of the garden.


In conclusion.
We do everything we can to give our guests the best possible experience and service and this is appreciated by the vast majority of our guests. However there are obviously some guests that it's impossible to please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diggerdit...
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Azores is great - this house not so much!”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It started badly when we could not find the house because we had no written directions. The woman who met us spoke no English so could not provide any information about the house - it was all trial and error and numerous calls to the property manager. Our towels were still damp so the first thing we had to do was try to find the dryer (which then worked only marginally).
The house was cold, dark and very damp and musty. When cupboards were opened in the hutch, it smelled like something had died in there. The corrections to the mustiness problem have not been effective. We ran the specs heaters (when we could find an outlet that worked) to try to take the dampness out of the air.
The pictures of the 'garden' are very misleading. It is more like an overgrown prison yard with very high walls, very little view and two flowers. There is a large metal door at the back which takes you out to an area over the cliffs but you need to be very strong to open and close the latches
The neighboring dogs (which seemed to be at all the houses) barked all night long, making sleep difficult..
Kitchen was reasonable well equipped.
We spent as little time as possible in the house.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2015
We believe this is a duplication of the Review "Disappointing" however your story and the other one don't completely agree on some key points which we find puzzling. We would have expected you would at least have told the same story. We really didn't know whether to laugh or cry at some of your comments. Nevertheless we shall try to respond in a constructive manner.

Location of the property.
The following was information was made available to you :-

* The Address.
* A route map (one of the images on our holidaylettings Gallery).
* A Video showing driving on the route from start to finish :-
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwgzGqBA0ZejNmJZSDhEUC1vT0U/edit
* GPS co-ordinates.
* A Telephone number to call if any other help was required.
* Verbal instructions by telephone.

We have never had a guest before who said they had difficulty finding the property. Most say they find the video is very useful and all they need.

Towels.
We're sorry that in your estimation the towels were damp and you had the inconvenience of putting them in the tumble dryer. We're sorry that you had difficulty "finding" the tumble dryer - it's right next to the washing machine - the property is not exactly huge. When you say the tumble dryer "worked only marginally" we are really scratching our heads because it works fine for everyone else.

Musty house.
Strangely you do not mention this in your other Review and we strongly dispute it. We believe you read this on an earlier Review and decided to use it. The mustiness problem lasted only a short time and was quickly resolved long before you arrived. There are 35 electrical outlets in the house and all are in perfect working order.

Garden.
We are sorry you found the pictures "misleading". We think the garden is lovely with nice authentic Azorean walls, and so do our other guests. We believe the pictures give a good representation of the garden. We will be adding more pictures of the garden in the very near future and hope they will not prove to be "misleading". The large metal door you refer to is for the safety and security of the guests. We have oiled the hinges for our less able guests.

Barking Dogs.
This is the first and only time we have been told about this. None of our other guests have said they had this problem. There is another holiday let property within 10 meters. We asked the owners who live adjacent to that property if they had experienced barking dogs. They answered that they hadn't and that none of their guests have said they had this problem.

In conclusion.
We do everything we can to give our guests the best possible experience and service and this is appreciated by the vast majority of our guests. However there are obviously some guests that it's impossible to please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akenite
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

i will try to be constructive. In my opinion,written directions to the property would be more helpful than a video. After a call to Edgar we were able to find the cottage. He did tell us that we would be met by his wife,not him as expected. She is a very nice woman,however she did not give any basic information about the appliances which necessitated another call to Edgar to learn how the oven and stove worked. He did come and show us thatThe stove requires being lit with a match. The oven also was tricky to figure out how to operate. When we arrived we found clean but damp towels folded on the beds. So damp that they had to go into the dryer.
A few days into the stay , we lost hot water. Again I called Edgar who was very apologetic and did respond quite promptly with a new bottle of propane.
In my opinion , written instructions for each of the appliances in multiple languages should be provided for for guests. This would cut down on the number of calls to Edgar who we did find to be very responsive.
Another issue but not related to the property is the neighborhood dogs that bark at all hours of the night. Again, this does not relate to the property but after a long day of touring a beautiful island, who wants to listen to barking dogs ?

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
We are sorry to hear that everything didn't go smoothly for you and would like to respond to your points.

Location of the property.
The following was information was made available to you :-

* The Address.
* A route map (one of the images on our holidaylettings Gallery).
* A Video showing driving on the route from start to finish :-
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwgzGqBA0ZejNmJZSDhEUC1vT0U/edit
* GPS co-ordinates.
* A Telephone number to call if any other help was required.
* Verbal instructions by telephone.

We have never had a guest before who said they had difficulty finding the property. Most say they find the video is very useful and all they need.

Oven and stove.
On arrival you were shown around the property, including the oven and stove which are simple and easy to use. You were asked if you had any questions and you replied that you were happy and had all the information you needed.
The next day you phoned to ask how to use the oven and stove. We were at the property within 30 minutes and showed you how to use the oven and stove. None of our other guests have had difficulty in using the oven and stove however we will pay particular attention to showing guests how to use these appliances in the future.

Towels.
We're sorry that in your estimation the towels were damp and you had the inconvenience of putting them in the tumble dryer.

Gas Bottle.
As with the oven and stove we were at the property within 30 minutes and resolved the issue.

Barking Dogs.
This is the first and only time we have been told about this. None of our other guests have said they had this problem. There is another holiday let property within 10 meters. We asked the owners who live adjacent to that property if they had experienced barking dogs. They answered that they hadn't and that none of their guests have said they had this problem.

In conclusion.
We're pleased that you praise us for responding quickly, willingly and efficiently as we are keen to give our guests the best possible service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing