We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Nova Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Canadiano(Ponta Delgada)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Talisman(Ponta Delgada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marina Atlantico(Ponta Delgada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sao Miguel Park Hotel(Ponta Delgada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Camoes(Ponta Delgada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Matriz(Ponta Delgada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
254
463
121
18
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
463
121
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsairport flight pathclose to the airportsecure parkingbreadper daybaconenjoyed our staybeansshort walkyogurthire cartown centredinner buffetthree starnice stayfitness roomsao miguel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 862 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Vila Nova for 7 nights in late September / early October 2012 and I have been little lax in posting a review. Firstly, the hotel is conveniently close to the airport but the infrequent number of flights at that time of year meant that we were not bothered by aircraft noise. The hotel is immaculately clean and the reception staff friendly and helpful. The servicing of the room was excellent with frequent bedding changes and a high standard of cleaning.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Ponta Delgada which makes for a pleasant stroll in the early evening before choosing where to go for dinner. Apparently the hotel offers a very good all- inclusive dinner buffet as well, if you don't wish to go out but we didn't try it. Breakfast was good and reasonably varied though if you appear late, be prepared that some of the hot items will be finished. This is not a large chain hotel where the breakfast is constantly replenished. The wifi was adequate with no service interruptions.
The pool is quite small but was quiet throughtout our stay so we had no complaints.
The hotel was a great base to explore the beautiful island of Sao Miguel and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are a bit more sheltered if it rains which it does quite often in the Azores.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rebelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good location about 500 metres to centre - good value for money (booked via package - not if you pay the tariffs at reception!) breakfast very average. Rooms clean and given proximity to airport very quite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed in room 404 (twin) for 7 nights/8 days.

Pros:
-A 10 minute drive from the airport. Less than a mile from the 'Pavilhao do Mar' harbour complex and the town centre.
-Premises are clean and well maintained.
-Free WiFi (up to 7Mbps) in Reception area and Lounge - signal strong enough for web browsing, Facebook, Twitter, Skype calls. I also got intermittent WiFi (0.7Mbps) in my room (a network cable is available from Reception). There is also a free Internet-enabled PC next to the Lounge.
-A small number of Azores fridge magnets and nicknacks are available for purchase. See the display case next to the Lounge.
-Reception - staff friendly and helpful. Ask for a free double-sided map of Ponta Delgada/Sao Miguel and advice on possible excursions via tourist minibus, public bus and hire car. NB. Bruno spoke excellent English, was consistently helpful and is a credit to the company.
-Two fast lifts to all floors (-1 to 5).
-Key card entry (one per person) to room 404 which contains sliding door wardrobe (contains safe (lock chargeable), shelf storage, hanging area, blankets, extra pillows), suitcase stand with shelf, multi-channel Grundig tube 14-inch TV (includes MCM Pop, EuroSport, Chelsea TV, Man Utd TV, Motors TV, ESPN, ESPN America, Biggs, AXN) atop writing desk with drawers and lamp, power sockets, network socket, small table, 2 padded chairs, floor lamp, twin beds with twin bedside tables & lamps, phone. Effective and quiet wall-mounted air-con. Effective blackout curtains. En suite bathroom with shower-bath, sink, toilet, bidet, face clothes, towels, hairdryer/shaver socket, lotions, large mirror. Balcony with views including the pool area and Atlantic Ocean. Vending machine on same floor selling canned soft drinks and small bottles of water.
-Bar - open daily, 10:00-24:00.
-Lounge - with comfortable seating, large Sony flatscreen TV and novels (mainly Portuguese language).
-Restaurant - used for breakfast (07:30-10:00) and dinner (19:00-22:00). Breakfast - self-service buffet which includes cereals, breads, meats ('regional hams'), flamengo cheese, local jams & honey, fruit salad, yoghurts, sausages, egg, bacon, plus machine vended coffees and hot water (local tea bags). Toaster.
-Outdoor swimming pool with changing rooms, towels, sun loungers, tables & chairs.
-Games Room - contains snooker table, table soccer x2, chess board table x2, mini-gym, treadmill, step machine.
-Car park and bike rack at rear. There's an access door to the right of Reception.
-Small, but well maintained gardens at rear around edge of car park.
-Reception will loan towels for use outside the hotel, such as when bathing in one of the islands thermal pools.
-On the last day we were leaving the hotel at 07:00, so the hotel gave us breakfast to eat in our room.

Cons:
-Occasional noise from aircraft (jets and turbo-props) landing at the adjacent airport, although I'm sure the whole of the town is affected.
-Occasional noise from corridor and adjacent room(s).
-Room safe lock chargeable.
-No fridge.
-TV needs updating to larger flat screen model. No English-language news channels.
-White plastic balcony furniture.
-Car park chargeable (daily charge, deposit for entrance/exit key).

Tip: Sit on the right-hand side of the plane for great views of Ponta Delgada on landing.
Tip: There's a blue 'Atlantic Holidays' file by Reception containing English-language information about Sao Miguel.
Tip: Potential excursions from Ponta Delgada include Furnas (full-day), Sete Cidades (half-day), Nordeste (full-day), Sete Cidades & Lagoa do Fogo (full-day).
Tip: Prebook a hire car in the UK for the cheapest prices. I preferred an automatic as easier to drive due to island terrain and driving a left-hand drive vehicle on 'opposite' (right-hand) side of road.
Tip: There's a mini supermarket 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Turn right out of hotel entrance, then first right (crossroads), walk for 2 minutes and look for the 'Mini Mercado Goretti/Delta Cafes' wall-sign.

Notes: Sao Miguel is known as the Green Island. It is 65km long by 14km wide. The island is thought to have been discovered between 1426 and 1439.

My travel agent (Sunvil) gave me a free Bradt Azores guidebook which was useful, but I preferred the layout and content of the Sunflower Books 'Azores car tours and walks' (ISBN 978-1-85691-407-9) book.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room overlooking the pool area
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week in October 2012. This is a gem of a hotel, exceptionally clean and well-maintained. A very pleasant, attentive staff made us feel very much at home. The Vila Nova's location is a plus - about a 10 minute walk into the center of Ponta Delgada where there are numerous shops, restaurants, sidewalk cafes. Ponta Delgada itself is very clean - hardly any litter or graffiti. Reported to be one of Europe's safest cities.
We had a comfortable, average size room on the 4th floor, with a small balcony looking out toward the harbor. Comfortable bed. Good lighting. Maid service was excellent. Free Wi-Fi in the room and throughout the hotel.
The Vila Nova offers a good buffet breakfast (included in the room rate): eggs, breakfast meats, cheese, fruit, juices, cereal, yogurt, bread and rolls, coffee, tea, etc. Certainly enough to get you started for the day.
Check out their dinner menu as well. It's a bargain at a fixed price of 20 euros pp. Each night there is a choice of two entrees, plus appetizers, salads, soup, rolls, desserts, and wine, beer or soft drinks. We had octopus stew for the first time - delicious!
Downside to the hotel? Our room had only a small (12") TV with just Portuguese language channels. But, who comes to the Azores to watch TV anyway?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 7days at the Vila Nova as part of a Sunvil package. Excellent hotel, a few minutes walk away from the town centre but therefore quieter. Friendly and helpful hotel staff. Breakfast buffet wide choice. Bar snacks excellent value. Evening buffet as much as anyone can eat (and drink) for 20 Euros. Bedrooms quiet and spacious. Close to airport flight-path but plane arrivals/departures so rare as to make the overflight an interesting event. Has its own car park if you hire a car for your stay. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel look over a road which is quiet. Views of port. Sun in the morning Rooms at rear look over hotel swimming pool and adjacent houses. Sun in the afternoon. .
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patdixon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews