We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3, 4 or even 5 stars?”
Review of Hotel Talisman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Talisman
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Whether Hotel Talisman in Ponta Delgada, Azores, deserves 3 or 4 stars, we don't care. We stayed 10 nights in this hotel. Sometimes it just was 'good' and sometimes we thought it even was 'very good.' But that rating didn't interest us that much. Our room (we had to change because the first room was rather nousy) was pleasant, clean and -thank God- quiet, so we were happy to stay there.
In general the food was just good and sometimes even excellent. The staff was good, charming and friendly, like it has to be, because it's their profession. But what we really loved was seeing one woman of the morning-staff, called Fatima Lima, taking care of a young boy who had found a sleeping place on the terrace during the night. It was clear he was in problems, without money and on the edge of society. She gave him spontaneously some breakfast for free; which is of course a nice thing to do. But it was her way of doing it, what really touched us. It was done with dignity and naturelness. For that we think this hotel deserves even 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 727 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our 5th trip to Sao Miguel but our first stay at this hotel. I chose it based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor and the proximity to the Avenida and shopping in the older business district in Ponta Delgada. We had previously stayed at a hotel not far from the large shopping center, an apartment hotel right on the Avenida and a resort in a town outside of the city. Though each had its plusses and minuses we would likely stay at the Talisman again because it was clean, quiet and convenient. We chose a suite and although we were told we would have a park view we were given a "street view". Actually it was a "no view" aside from the rooftop across the street. The balcony was large but the corrigated plastic covering the railing completely closed in any chance of a view but did give the balcony some privacy. The suite was more than spacious and consisted of a huge living room area with 2 sofas and an overstuffed chair. There was plenty of room for several more pieces if furniture! I found it odd that the TV was in the bedroom and not the sitting area. The bedroom was also large with two beds put together to form a king sized bed, a credenza with a refrigerator, a small table and chairs and an armoire. A hall large enough to line up the luggage led to a spacious full bath with double sinks and a bidet. The room was clean and well maintained. Our travel companions had a lovely and spacious room with a balcony overlooking the garden. Because the surrounding streets are mainly foot traffic only, the hotel was very quiet and we heard very little outside noises from our room but some activity on the park side. Still mostly quiet. The staff in general were friendly especially Lionel and Jenny, some of the other desk people were a bit more aloof but not a problem. We speak Portuguese so there was not a language barrier and we understand and accept certain things that go along with the culture, therefor we are not demanding guests. However there were a couple of things that were of concern. There were lights out in the hallway to our rooms which made the hall very dark and hard to maneuver and the light both outside and inside of our friends room needed bulbs. Though we had been promised that they would be working by the next day they were never taken care of. The one thing that was truely unacceptable was that on two occasions we returned to our rooms after being gone for several hours to find that the chambermaid had left the sliding door to both our rooms open. Not only a privacy issue but a safety issue as well. When I brought it to the attention of the night clerk he seemed unconcerned but when I mentioned it to Jenny at the desk when we were checking out in the morning she seemed quite distressed and apologetic and said she would be sure to find out why that had happened. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night after arriving after 6:00 pm, too tired to walk to a restaurant on the Avenida. The buffet was good and the hotel offers a 15% discount to guests who eat in their hotel diningroom. The wait staff was friendly. We found the complimentary breakfast buffet to be better than most at other hotels with a few changes each day to keep it fresh. Some of the best Belgium waffles I have eaten were made upon request. Very Yummy !
All in all we were happy with the acommodations and the quaintness of The Hotel Talisman and will likely stay there on future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FQRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Right in the middle of the city, and easy walking distance to all attractions and restaurants. Much more charming than the usual cookie cutter hotels. We had 5 rooms, some more spacious than others, and while the beds were much harder than we have in the U.S., they were more comfortable than other hotels we have stayed at in Europe. There are several lounging spaces that worked well for our group to play cards and gather, and the front desk staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: some rooms, esp the 3rd floor suite, required walking up circular stairs (no elevator to that level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great Place, friendly attentive staff,food wonderful, especially their Friday and Saturday Buffets, which is a fish lovers delight.
Our room was very spacious, no view as we looked out onto the side walls of the rooftop swimming pool, but then it was also quiet and private.
The only problem I had was the bed it was far too hard for me and it aggravated a hip problem, but the pillows were perfect.
At times eating at the outside tables of the restaurant was a problem with local Pigeons but that I am sure is some-thing that could be ,and should be sorted.
The Hotel's location was great ,right in the centre of Ponta Delgado.
I had a special birthday whilst we were staying and the Hotel gave me a bottle of Champagne and a birthday cake which was really a great gesture and much appreciated.
We will be returning to the Azores and we will definately stay at this hotel.
We have recommended this Hotel to friends .
Elaine J.




Elaine Jones

Room Tip: If you don't mind having no view but appreciate peace and quiet then you want one of the two roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackcat652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Talisman is indeed a comfortable hotel. Like everything else in this city it is clean and up to date. The staff do a great job taking care of you serving good food, smiling and giving you all the info a tourist needs. The pool on the roof is a bit cold and the rooms a bit dull, but then again you dont travel to Ponta Delgada to sleep?

I recommend you take a taxi to Cete Cidades / The twin lakes on the first day you see the sun, even though you might have ordered a trip later on. http://www.spotazores.com/cams/sete-cidades

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frode Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Would rate Talisman as three and a half stars. Loved the Hotel with it's Art Deco touches - great location and Ponda is a lovely Island. Hotel is OK , my ' shared room - part of Scuiba Club visit' was a bit sad / cramped and lack of cup[board space / drawers etc. Quiet location so no problem sleeping - Food was OK - nothing special.
Hotel staff in main were helpful but not overly involved . If you use the 'Pub / Sportsman Bar ' young lady was very good and made for me what was the best cappuccino I had while on / touring the Island.
Would return to Talisman if price was right and had advice on a better room .

Room Tip: Ask first what the options are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel and would say its adequate at best. There are no outstanding features of any note; staff are OK; food is OK; rooms are in no way imaginable a 4* rating - more 2/3 and they even make you pay for using the safety deposit box in your room.
Whilst the rooms are visited everyday by housekeeping, they are not properly serviced as you might expect in a 4* hotel. There is no fresh bottled water, no tea/coffee replaced and no new bathroom soaps after day 1. Having stayed there a full week, I felt quite underwhelmed and would recommend you try somewhere else.
Of course if you are over 70 then this is an ideal location for you. All of the other guests will also queue for breakfast at 07:15 am, have white/grey hair and think its OK (de rigueur in fact) to only ever wear camping and outdoors gear 24/7. You can also go up to the roof terrace with its tiny pool and take in the freezing water effects that make this a good spot for the ageing groover. I was with a scuba-dive party so maybe not the perfect demographic given that I'm still of working age and have all of my own teeth.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are probably a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovegreatholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.8 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
401 reviews
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
8.8 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#9 of 41 in Sao Miguel
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
831 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisman

Address: Rua Marques Praia e Monforte 40, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $61 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisman 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Talisman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Talisman Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing