We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and helpful hotel in central location”
Review of Hotel Talisman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Talisman
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Modern and helpful hotel in central location”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We would recommend Hotel Talisman as a modern, comfortable hotel with helpful staff, situated in a central but quiet location in the largest town in the Azores. Apart from the fact that the running water in our room was tepid rather than hot all other facilities in the hotel worked well. Breakfasts offered a reasonable choice of food, including the facility to make your own waffles. The weather is very changeable in the Azores, but we still enjoyed our week at this hotel, despite the rain. We booked a couple of informative and enjoyable island tours with UTC Viagens; the receptionists made these arrangements on our behalf.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnistonlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    283
    75
    13
    5
See reviews for
100
385
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Talisman is a bit off the beaten path - but a nice departure from some of the out-dated mod hotels in Ponta Delgada built over the last 10 years. Big, well appointed rooms. Great and helpful staff - nice breakfasts. Easy walk to all sites, the sea, and places to eat. They have lots of nice touches too, plus the prices are very fair. Has hair dryer, free wifi, and an alarm clock.

Room Tip: Try the local fresh cheese at breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepelevoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Talisman..super room...great location...friendly and helpful staff.
Would recommend. Breakfast included 2 types of eggs, fresh rolls, cereal, fresh fruit, and fresh squeezed OJ. Very close to center of town, also enjoyed small park next to hotel with in bloom flowers in Feb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscott646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel Talisman, PontaDelgada

We spent 2 nights in this nice hotel. The staff is helpful and willing to help. We were after the red eye flight and the reception staff helped us to check in as soon as possible. Thank you guys again!

Overall and location the hotel has ideal position for exploring old city, or the Sao Miguel island itself. There is several snack bars ( we had a quick soup with azoran excellent bread and beer for a few euros each day) around the corner and main square with the Matriz church, central coffee, promenade and stores just a few minutes walk. If you need to buy wine, cheese, water or whatever - there is a supermarket on the rua Machado , 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

The room when I booked this hotel, the only option left was a suite. Since the price difference wasn't significant I went for it. It consists from one very comfy bedroom, small tiny balcony, nice bathroom with bidet (standard in Portugal), double sink, full bathtub, plenty of towels and living room - actually dark room with no view but with sofa, chairs, armchairs and plenty of space. The wi-fi was excellent and free.

The food . The breakfast was included- I would say typical hotel breakfast . But try the Azores yogurt, it is really good.
We had dinner once at the hotel restaurant. I went for roasted octopus and my husband for roasted scabbard (espada) fish. My dish was delicious, hubby's good. Not complain at all and price reasonable. Try vinho verde (green wine) - which is not for everyone, but a part of experience. I actually like it - since I like very dry and rough white.

Misc: there is a rooftop pool and small gym on the top floor. Pool is not big, but in hot days (not ours ) can be sufficient to cool down.
Although we spent only two night in this hotel, we like it and I would recommend it to anybody. The staff was nice, location excellent and the hotel itself cozy and comfy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chef Bronia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in Talisman 27.12-1.1.2013. We enjoyed our stay. Staff was wery helpful, our room was a suite, very spacious ans was well taked care for. There were only one thing that was not ok. WiFi can't be trusted to work in the room. Sometimes it worked for on hour or so and the next minute it was gone.
Staff was awesome, helpful and spoke very well english!
Location is in the center but with peaceful surroundings.
We had the New Year's buffet wich was good and with many choises.
We would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaJuVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for a week and were well pleased with our choice. Our room overlooked the public gardens but the only real noise came from the tyres of cars as they went round the far corner on the cobblestones as everyone made their way to work in the morning. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The wifi would not work for the first couple of days but then seemed to lock in ok. The breakfasts were good and filling. The evening meals were excellent. We had the buffet twice which was good value although it was not clear the first time that the wine was included. The location was more convenient for going into town than some of the other hotels we had looked at. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A handsome, well-run property located next to a beautiful small park, with the main shopping street less than a block away, and in front of the main government building (The Blue House). Desk (and restaurant) staff all proficient with English and extremely helpful with directions. Rooms comfortable and clean (tho mine could have used a carpet shampoo) with a older small TV and small refrigerator. Non-traffic streets on 3 sides. Beds comfortable, AC/heat available but rarely needed with their weather. The alarm radio pretty useless because of the electricity set up; US current outlet in the bathroom. Great small, heated pool on the roof with an adjacent exercise room (elliptical not working, but bike, treadmill, and ‘bowflex’ all OK). The 2 restaurants (formal and casual) both have the same menu and are considered some of the better places in Ponta Delgada to dine. No bar life when we were guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodeceiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.8 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
238 reviews
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
763 reviews
20.2 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisman

Property: Hotel Talisman
Address: Rua Marques Praia e Monforte 40, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisman 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Talisman Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing