We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, accomodating, great location”
Review of Hotel Talisman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisman
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A handsome, well-run property located next to a beautiful small park, with the main shopping street less than a block away, and in front of the main government building (The Blue House). Desk (and restaurant) staff all proficient with English and extremely helpful with directions. Rooms comfortable and clean (tho mine could have used a carpet shampoo) with a older small TV and small refrigerator. Non-traffic streets on 3 sides. Beds comfortable, AC/heat available but rarely needed with their weather. The alarm radio pretty useless because of the electricity set up; US current outlet in the bathroom. Great small, heated pool on the roof with an adjacent exercise room (elliptical not working, but bike, treadmill, and ‘bowflex’ all OK). The 2 restaurants (formal and casual) both have the same menu and are considered some of the better places in Ponta Delgada to dine. No bar life when we were guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nodeceiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 727 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Well...the staff was very kind and responsive. The restaurant buffet dinners on Friday and Saturday night were excellent, however the ala carte dinners were just so-so. The location in Ponta Delgada was great for walking to the harbor and the local historic attractions. The room was a disappointment, even though they changed us from an interior room to an exterior room. Kind of dingy, but well-cleaned.

Room Tip: Pay more for the few deluxe rooms or a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 868marys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very good location super nice staff. Clean rooms with excellent restaurant & breakfast. I recommend the hotel without hesitation.

The hotel does not have reliable WiFi. It was working at the lobby only and even than not consistently. I think this can be easily fixed. The location is a bit noisy but it is expected as it is located mid old town, the noise dies during night, was not an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizzyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is well located in the centre of town. Everywhere is within walking distance. The hotel is two old buildings joined together. There are staircases with wrought iron, stained glass windows and quaint inner lounges. The rooms are clean but vary in size. Some have small Juliet balconies overlooking a garden. There can be traffic noise but - hey - it's the town centre. We were not happy with the first room we were given but the staff readily changed us to another. The staff were helpful, polite and spoke good English. The breakfasts were OK but like all buffet breakfasts, the 'hot' food was only luke warm. The best bit were the 'make your own' waffle makers. We only had dinner once at this hotel and it was fine and good value. Other evenings found us exploring the restaurants and bars around town, some of which were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggielou2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a perfect base for our week on the Island.We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were able to park for free until Monday morning when we put our car in the Hotel Car Park - 5 ero per day which is good value. Staff are exceptional - professional and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.We had a very nice bright room on the 3rd floor looking over the park with a view of the sea.Perfect location for walking to restaurants at night and a good buffet breakfast. The only thing we missed was having tea and coffee making facilities in the room but that's a small point.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshteadCandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned home, having stayed here for a few nights, then returned to the hotel for final night of a tour of the Azores. The Friday/Saturday night buffet is excellent. Food is very good (compared to that experienced at other locations in the Azores). Breakfast buffet was good. First room we stayed in (219?) had awful view towards airconditioning units, with little natural light. Then when we returned for 1 night prior to our flight home, we were given a massive and luxurious suite. The location is very central and fairly quiet.

Room Tip: If given a room looking onto aircon units, ask to change room - there are clearly better rooms avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry4Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's a mix of good and bad.

First the good. The desk staff was super-helpful, with very good English, and giving us excellent ideas of where to go and what to do. The location is good for the city (though on the waterfront would've been even better). The breakfast was fine, and the dinner we ate at the hotel was good.

The layout of the rooms is bad: ours was one of many whose window overlooked internal pieces of the hotel; I like to think that my window might help me not die if the hotel caught fire, for example, and the restaurant is extremely loud. I also think the prices were a bit high.

The internet is terrible: the password-covered internet did reach the room, but wouldn't draw down any content, while the public internet was slow and unreliable.

The hotel has no parking, but this turned out not to matter much because we were primarily in Ponta Delgada on the weekend.

Room Tip: Try not to get an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.8 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
402 reviews
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
8.8 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#9 of 41 in Sao Miguel
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
834 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisman

Address: Rua Marques Praia e Monforte 40, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $62 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisman 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Talisman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Talisman Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing