We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Service was great, rooms were very clean, bathroom was pretty big when compared to most other hotels in its price range, and the breakfast buffet in the morning is very good. Internet in the rooms isn't free but if you are a light user you can purchase an access card at front desk for 24 hours which is used based on time you used versus having 24 hours to use it in. There is a pool in the rooftop. This hotel isn't located in the center of town. But if you walked from hotel to town you are looking at about a 30-40 minutes walk. If you are up for the walk then you would be able to explore the neighborhood and structures along the way. There is a shultte bus which costs about 35 euro cents that can get you into town with various stop.

Hotel staff accommodated me when I wasn't able to extend my stay for a late check due to an evening flight. I was allowed to keep my luggage on hold at hotel and use the shower up at pool area to freshen up and change clothes prior to flight. If you are given this as well remember to either take a towel from the room or ask for one at desk at there is not towels in shower area.

Room Tip: Breakfast should be included and isn't bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey808st8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 577 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice hotel. It is not in the center of Ponta Delgada. The waterfront can be reached in 20 minutes. We took a car and it was very convenient to travel away from the city. Parking next to the hotel is free.
This is a modern high rise building with a swimming pool on the roof. The hotel building has a very modern gym, which hotel guests can use for free.
The room was gorgeous. Large triple room, consisting of two rooms. Living room with sofa and TV, and a bedroom with three beds and a second TV. Very large lounge with two large wardrobes. Very large, modern bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath, bidet, two sinks. A good set of makeup in the bathroom. The room also had slippers. Large balcony with table and chairs.
Very good breakfast with a selection of snacks and fresh fruit. You can order fried and boiled eggs.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are very large and well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vesnyshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel design is nice and modern, but is located at 40 min walking from the center of the town. You need a car or a taxi to get there in a reasonable time. The room is clean but small and really like a 3 star hotel. In particular the shower in bathroom is placed on the unique bath and there is only a poor tent to avoid the water going out... of course it doesn't help much and the water always went on the floor. Just like a 3 star hotel! I expected a nice shower from this hotel, maybe with a glass on the bath or standalone. On other hand, the balcony is not big but nice, placed on the main roundabout in front of the hotel... very NOISY because of the traffic. You will need to close the windows to sleep well... but air conditioning luckly works properly, even if controlled by an analogic imprecise thermometer (a precise digital one would have cost just 50 euros more!). The restaurant is fine, breakfast is good, the bar is great, but what really disappointed me was the "health center" services. Just one star for it! The reason is that during my visit the sauna NEVER WORKED because always out of order, and althought I asked for its fixing, no one fixed it in the week I was there. But there is more: I was going to use the health center services the 15th of August and at the reception they told me it as not possible because it was... an HOLIDAY day for the staff!!! I think I was on holiday and the 4 stars hotel should have taken care of me, because I'M THE CUSTOMER who was paying for an everyday service. There was no way to make the center open that day. The day after I asked to turn the health services on, but the girl at desk said "I don't know how to do it". Unbelievable but true. I insisted and after half an hour another person arrived to switch the services power on. The last day in the health services there was 10 cm of water on the floor, so my wife arrived from the stairs, slipped and went on the ground hurting herself... and we got no excuses from the staff. Last note: there are no persons helping visitors to bring baggages in and out the hotel from the car: everyone helps himself... and this is not again expected by a 4 stars hotel. I suggest you to consider another hotel (maybe more expensive, yes) if you want to stay in a real 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frasca_Benny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've stayed (for the second time) in Vip Executive Azores in August of 2012. The overall service of this hotel is very good. The rooms are very nice and always very clean. The staff of the hotel is simply outstanding. Several times we went to the reception with a map and a question like: "how do i get here?", "do you think that is a good place to go?", "can you book me this restaurant?" and they have always answer our questions with a smile on there faces. I think that this is a good hotel if you are planning to go out a lot, but you still want to come back to a very good hotel, because it is a city hotel and does not have a exterior pool. It's near the down-town of Ponta Delgada where there is some nigh-life and some great restaurants. If you are looking for a hotel were you can appreciate the nature (without leaving the hotel) and stay outside of the center then this is not the hotel for you.

The only downside on my stay is that i really think that the breakfast should have the regional products like pineaple, "bolo levedo" and some local jam's. It is important that the hotel promotes the local products, i think.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaMargaridaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

we have got a room on the 2nd floor (rooms 200-221 hava same problems)
impossible to sleep due to very loud music in the basement
do not know whether the same problems arise on 3rd floor

VERY VERY VERY noisy
that`s ridicolous for such an hotel

rest is good
poor but free breakfast
no internet connection

LOOK instead for the closed Lince Azores Great Hotel...definitely a GREAT HOTEL
great breakfast buffet, free wirless, simmingpool, QUITE

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room far from the crazy dance club in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stef a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel was part of a promotion pack, so it was not our choice. The room was big, clean, comfortable, and contemporary, with large and clean bathroom.
Negative things:
Pillows are quite uncomfortable (But you can ask for a different kind of pillow at recepcion)
It's not central, you need to walk 15-20 min.
Breakfast has variety, but low quality (specially the ham, chorizo, mortadela, etc.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel was not my choice but was attached to a flight in a pack (promotion). I went to Ponta Delgada just before Easter but if you can choose your holidays make sure to book a trip for the end of April, early May when flowers have all blossomed.

If the see is flat (do what I say...) go on those trips to come as close as possible to dolphins (always there and happy to speed and win the boat) and whales.

If you are not renting a car, do rent a Jeep Safari tours (around 65 per person lunch included). I had two of them and enjoy the explanations given by Eduardo and Duarte from "Greezone" (www.greezonearores.com). You don't have to ride and almost bump into reckless tourists on the roads, and if you are lucky enough, you will get plenty of information and go through new paths.
Do try the Porto Seguro tea.

Almost forgot...near the hote(less than a 5mn-walk) l you will find a SOL MAR supermarket very useful and handy (take away). And don't worry about money and ATM machines.I've never been in a city more "ATM-friendly" before...
Do not miss this island (and the other ones they are all different). It is so green that you don't get a chance to grin...
Breakfast is "normal" (rush hour 8.30 before the 9 o'clock tour begins), net is available for free at the reception desk (nice people) and there is a small office near the reception where you can rent a car and buy your trips...

Have a nice trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marygla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
#9 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residencial Sete Cidades
Residencial Sete Cidades
#16 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
799 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Azores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Azores Hotel

Address: Rua de Sao Goncalo N. 131 | S. Pedro, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-110, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $51 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Azores Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIP Executive Azores Hotel, with a modern and bold design, has 229 rooms and combines quality service, comfort and finesse. This property offers excellent conditions for both segments - leisure and business - and magnificent views over the city of Ponta Delgada and the surrounding landscape. This 4 star Hotel is provided with one Restaurant with two floors and a Grill on the 8th floor where guests can enjoy views of the city and the sea, an excellent gym, an interior swimming pool, squash, bar, covered private parking, a beauty saloon with hairdresser, and Wireless Internet service. The Hotel also offers amazing conditions for meetings and events, with a high number of meeting rooms, among which are an auditorium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Executive Azores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vip Executive Azores
VIP Executive Azores Hotel Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing