We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ponta Delgada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ponta Delgada
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
warsaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I spent our holiday at this hotel at the beginning of August of 2013. We have no reason to complain. The room was spacious enough to accomodate two of us, and was cleaned every day. Hotel's staff was nice, friendly and English-speaking. Perhaps, breakfasts were a little bit repetitious and basic, but dinners offerred a great choice of good food.

The hotel is situated in front of a marina, with a great sea view from our room # 413. Access to the Internet is free-of-charge, up to a 30-minute session (you need to ask for a password at the reception desk.)

Brace yourself for an unforseeable weather, but we were lucky with tempretures ranging from the 80's up to 90's. If you chose this hotel, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarsawJanusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    135
    80
    15
    10
See reviews for
64
133
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalisz, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I visited the Azores and Ponta Delgada on January 2013. I had chance to stay in Hotel Ponta Delgada in a twin room for a week. The room was very spacious, just renovated with very nice looking bathroom and a good view from the balcony. It also had the TV set, A/C, hairdryer. The hotel itself is also having the inside swimming pool, jacuzzi and a sauna. Considering that we went there off-season it was really a good value for money. The continental breakfast was very good and nutritious for the beginning of the day. The hotel is located close to the city centre and not far from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, ON
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at 7am from Toronto and were able to check in right away - this is a big bonus. After checking in we decided to go for a walk. We now know that when you get near the water front to turn left as this will take you towards the main town. It is a about 5 minute stroll to the downtown area.

Our room faced away from the road so the only noise at night was that of a local dog. The bathroom had a very strong shower with lots of hot water. The only issue was that the bed was very hard, but we were only there two nights.

The breakfast was good but if we showed up between 7:30 and 8:00 then it was difficult getting a table.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OshawaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything was ok, rooms were clean, staff helpful. Breakfast was very good. Double bed seemed way too small for us (140 cm) and not very comfortable. I think some rooms are recently refurnished, unfortunately we got the old one.
Swimming pool, jacuzzi and garage are nice bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMD_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karup, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

we stayed in Ponta delgada in november 2007. It is a very nice hotel, with spotless rooms, great breakfast, short walk to the citycenter. friendly service, a quiert place in the middle of the city. This area is filled with exiting places to visit, all you have to do is look for them :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My fiancé and me stayed at Hotel Ponta Delgada on our 10 day vacation to the Azores and have absolutely no complaints! The rooms were modern and spacious and we had a view of the sea- which was nice as it allowed us to check the sea state before going whale watching or diving every morning! Particularly liked the way the bathroom was separated from the rest of the room with a milk glass divider. Some of the bits and bops in the bathroom did look a little bit on the worn side (side of the bath, toilet seat) but that being said everything was perfectly clean and pleasant.

Breakfast was good but not amazing. Basic choice of several types of cereals, bread and some cooked options as well as two types of juice. The coffee machine did offer a wide variety of coffees but I would have maybe liked to see a few of the very tasty local pastries on offer next to the Madeira cake.

There was free internet in the hotel which was handy to plan our trips around the island, however, it should be pointed out that it was sometimes a little bit tricky to get it to work in the rooms themselves as the signal was quite poor. Although they advertised as having two computers for guests to use, they were broken while we were there. Not a major issue for us as we had our own but something to consider when booking maybe.

There's no restaurant in the hotel as such but the bar does offer some sandwiches and finger food as well as a range of tasty cocktails! You do, however, get a 10% discount at O Baco, the neighbouring restaurant which is perfectly pleasant. It did on occasion take a while to be served at the bar in the hotel but the sandwiches were worth the wait, they were delicious and clearly freshly prepared (we could hear the chicken being fried as we sat and waited). The prices were reasonable and the bartender was very friendly and happy to let us practice our Portugese on him.

We did not spend that much time in the hotel as we mostly went out during the day but were confined to it during one day when a storm hit the island. We used that time to take advantage of the fitness facilities; well at least the swimming pool, sauna and steam room. The swimming pool was a little bit on the cold side for my taste but the overall space was very pleasant and we really enjoyed the sauna! On that day we also discovered the TV in the room actually has quite a few channels that are in English!

Overall a very pleasant experience and highly recommendable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whitesideddolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in Ponta delgada in September ' 12. The Hotel Ponta Delgada is situted a few streets away from the city center . Rooms are speceful and most of them are facing to the ouside. Staff are also nice and speak fluent english.
Breakfast is basic but good quality products.The hotel has got an indoors swimming pool and a gym with sauna. It also has an internet corner and wi-fi in the lobby.
Tip: If you are planning to rent a car, make sure you reserve a spot in the parking! The parking is big enough but it gets fully booked pretty easily.

Enjoy your stay !
My wife and I will stay there again if we go back to Açores !

Room Tip: Ours was facing to the city and was on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#9 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ponta Delgada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponta Delgada

Property: Hotel Ponta Delgada
Address: Rua Joao Francisco Cabral 49, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-208, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ponta Delgada 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Ponta Delgada on São Miguel Island in the Azores, guests are awaited with a warm welcome in a relaxed atmosphere. All rooms have balconies and are nicely furnished with a classic design for a great stay. In the restaurant guests can enjoy delicious meals. Guests can also enjoy the pool, sauna and turkish bath or relax by hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ponta Delgada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ponta Delgada Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing