We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, free Wifi, free parking, free Sauna, Jacuzzi indoor pool, modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ponta Delgada
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I felt a bit sorrowed about a 3*+Hotel in Portugal but this place really makes a difference: the rooms are modern (rennovated maybe 2005), clean and everything works perfect. Compared to The Lince Great (we have been 2011) this is a real gem!

Easy to access from airport, we could park our car in their garage (note only space for 6 cars), our room was on top floor. We used the Sauna and indoor pool and had daily (mediocre) breakfast. Free Wifi! After 4 days we paid - thanks to hrs.de - amazingly 116€ (29€/day)...

Note that the hotel is in Vila Nova, the new town of PD, however it's a short walk to the city center. Parking outside is charged from 8-19 - the incoming airplanes doesn't matter at all (only a few every day)

Room Tip: take high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is well located within walking distance of all the major attractions of Ponta Delgad. It was very good value for the money. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. I was very appreciative of the fact that after a overnight flight and arriving very early at the hotel, I was allowed to check in early without any extra fees. The pool, sauna and gym were well maintained and clean. It is very easy to recommend this hotel during your visit to the Azores.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barrackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We needed a place to stay on a 3 night trip to São Miguel.
Was a pleasure to stay here. Staff is friendly, location is 8 mn walk to city center, rooms are renewed and spotlessly clean, with toillet amenities and hair dryer. Breakfast very tasty and plentiful.
The pool, jaccuzzy sauna were a bonus at end of day.
A very good surprise for the price, real good value.

Room Tip: Ask for top levels to have a great vue to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariaport68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Very near of the center. Staff very friendly and perfect hotel if you get a room renewed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francisAlmansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My stay at Hotel Ponta Delgada was ``Pure Heaven``. Everything about the hotel room, location, breakfast, hotel staff, view from the balcony, value, etc gets a 100% plus rating. I will definitely be returning to Hotel Ponta Delgada on my next trip to the Island. The only negative I can honestly come up with is the day I checked out and checked into a private vila just outside of Vila Franca Do Campo. It just did not compare in anyway to what I had just experienced at Hotel Ponta Delgada.

Room Tip: My room was located on the fourth floor facing the front of the hotel. I never once had issues with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank KJB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Location: 5 minutes by car from the airport. 5-10 minutes walk from the city of Ponta Delgada center. Very calm area. Only in the morning sometimes expect low landing airplanes. A taxi fare from the airport 5-6 Euro.
.
Car: parking places in front of the hotel are paid ( from 8 am to 7 pm Monday-Saturday ). Lot of free parking spaces 200 meters from the hotel. The hotel has got a free garage paring but only for a limited number of cars. The park is small and difficult to put a bigger car.
.
Rooms: OK, nothing special. Little noisy. Service very friendly. Good hot breakfast.
.
Wireless Internet: paid and delivered by pt.com only available in the lobby. There are a couple of computers in the lobby with paid Internet ( 2 Euro 15 min, 3 Euro 30 min, 4 Euro 1 hour ).
.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maciej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The hotel is very well located, although it is at one end of the city you can easily walk to commercial areas. The rent-a-car area is very close, which was also helpful for us. We got a room in the top floor, the view was amazing! The room was quite large and had a nice balcony, although we didn't enjoyed it that much (it was winter). Breakfast was nice, nothing special. We found it difficult to find the pool announced in the site, as there were no sign in the hall or anywhere in the hotel. Finally we found it in the first floor, but it was under construction. :(

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carla_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
732 reviews
1 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#12 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
471 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ponta Delgada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponta Delgada

Address: Rua Joao Francisco Cabral 49, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-208, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $59 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ponta Delgada 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Ponta Delgada on São Miguel Island in the Azores, guests are awaited with a warm welcome in a relaxed atmosphere. All rooms have balconies and are nicely furnished with a classic design for a great stay. In the restaurant guests can enjoy delicious meals. Guests can also enjoy the pool, sauna and turkish bath or relax by hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ponta Delgada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ponta Delgada Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing