We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on fantastic island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Stayed here for a week and thought it was a great hotel. Accommodation and service was at 4 star standard, room was very comfortable with a nice balcony overlooking the central area. Breakfast was good, we didn't have dinner. Location was good, a pleasant 10 minute walk to the centre. Hotel was mainly couples with a few well behaved children so probably not the best choice for large families or anyone looking for a wild hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 578 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2009

I recently stayed at the Royal Garden Hotel in January while visiting friends. I liked the location (in a residential neighborhood) within very quick walking distance to the city centre. I thought the restaurant and hotel staff were very professional and accommodating (especially the breakfast staff). The food was OK, not great, but you're not necessarily going to the Azores for a gourmet experience. The Japanese theme is weird in this setting, but you get over it quick. I really liked the lounge area on the 1st floor near the bar. It's a good place to meet friends. The rooms were comfortable. The views are of the neighborhood, nothing especially scenic, but nice nonetheless. I would definitely recommend staying here and would definitely stay there again if I'm ever lucky enough to go to the Azores again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank citypoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is a fairly new hotel on an island whose tourist industry is only just getting underway in a Western European sense.

We had a very relaxing and happy week here. The service was absolutely excellent. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful, without overdoing it. We were always made to feel very welcome in the restaurant. The food was reasonably good, but maybe better for things like salads and hors d'o than hot food, which was usually tepid. Desserts outstanding.

Drinks quite expensive and no coffee making facilities in room. Light, airy hotel, with a sense of space, but, although there is no smoking in the main areas, smoke percolates easily from bedrooms and so, while we were in no smoking room, on a no smoking floor, we could smell the smoke whicn had risen up through the atrium.

Easy walk into town - less than 10 minutes. Airport very close, but we didn't really notice any noise from the 'planes. It was quite fun watching them come in and take off.

Likely to be a better hotel in a few years time, but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMPERATOR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My wife an I spent five nights in this hotel and beside minor problems everything was ok. We had a pretty large room with a small balcony facing the interior japanese garden. In fact, the main theme of this hotel is Japan (which is not such a good thing). The hotel was very quiet and seemed soundproof. Probably because they try to respect japanese traditions, beds are very hard. Anyway we told the receptionist our problem and they gave us an extra mattress. Staff from this hotel is absolutely outstanding, they try to resolve any problem you have at any time. Because my mattress had few springs broken, I called the reception at midnight and in just 5 minutes they show up with a new mattress. They try to help you in any way possible, they gave you very good tips about the island and all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Is a regular hotel, nerly the center of ponta delgada.
The room is ok-
The food, normal.
The service in the restaurant is bad.
2 pool, one inside another outside

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

The hotel had just been open a couple of months when we got there and the staff was more enthusiastic than skilled, however everyone was friendly and nothing to complain about. The rooms are large with dark wood, a bit asian inspired. Swimming pool both indoors and outdoors were nice and warm.

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

I ve been there 2 times: 1 in new years eve and the other for a romantic weekend.

Both times I loved it.

The room are very big and had view to the inner garden.
The bathroom is very good and one of the times was wheelchair adapted. In that case we had 2 bayhrooms.

The spa is good. the jacuzzi has plenty of light. the indoor pool is big enough. The turkish bath is excelent: you even listen to the water passing. The massage is good, but not excelent. You have to book it in advance.

The food is so and so if it is the buffet but is very good a la carte. The bar has simple meals that are very good.

I just enjoyed very much my staing here and strogly recomend for a honneymoon because the island is lovely and the hotel very romantic

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank belinha78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
797 reviews
1.1 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
#9 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
508 reviews
19.9 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azoris Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azoris Royal Garden Hotel

Address: Rua de Lisboa, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-216, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $77 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azoris Royal Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azoris Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Ponta Delgada
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing