We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the stay but................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Stourbridge UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay but................”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel and although it is a very good and well run establishment, that is well maintained it does lack a certain degree of vitality and life.
The overall decor is mock Japanese and demonstrates a level of peace and calmness. Having said that, in the bar/lounge in the evenings the lack of customers makes it rather dull and boring, when in fact the beautiful large grand piano that sits up a corner could add much to the overall ambiance of the place if it were played quietly in the background.
Whilst it does not need to have an "animation team" a certain level of evening entertainment would do much to attract guests to linger there and spend the euro's.
The bedrooms are spacious and well equipped but sleep quality is poor due to plastic mattress covers that make sleep rather similar to sleeping on corrugated cardboard. Sheets are changed regularly and towels daily, and there is always an abundance of very hot water.
Breakfast is very good with all the usual buffet items both hot and cold available, although scrambled egg every morning was a bit boring.The buffet dinner in the evening was not too bad if rather typical hotel buffet type food. I only ate there once as there are ample restaurants in town a short walk away and very reasonable in price compared to the hotel buffet price.
All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to provide any information or help.
Pool area very well maintained and has sufficient sun beds that are not "towelled up " at dawn by other European guests !!
The location to the town centre is excellent with a very easy and pleasant walk to the main harbour promenade, the airport activity and it's close proximity is not in any way an irritation as there are no night movements and very few in the day which are mostly the small inter-island Dash 8 aircraft, and there are only 3-4 flights in and out a day using the larger Airbus aircraft. Take off's are always away from the town so noise is minimal anyway.
Overall, I would use this place again, but just wish it had a little more life and soul, but having said that no-one wishes it to become another South Tenerife, Gran Canaria, or Benidorm type hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glyncookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    262
    103
    14
    6
See reviews for
112
235
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Just come back from the Azores with my grown-up children and we all stayed here and had a great time. Lovely Japanese garden, you can walk to town. We had fun in the indoor/outdoor pools, used the sauna, steam rooms and Jacuzzi. enjoyed our lunch and had great service from all the employees. Beds have hard mattresses and have dinner here once than try other restaurants. Good breakfast too.

Room Tip: We choose a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hotel is modern and has a nice feel. The staff was very helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is elaborate, lots of choices in warm and cold dishes. The bar has a good choice of drinks. A perfect hotel for longer stays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magdak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This four star hotel is near the city center. Is has a lot of rooms and can be crowdy at breakfast time. Rooms are compact but have everything you need, including seats in room and a bacony, most of them with view on a Japanese garden.
The bed is hard and a plastic undersheet makes it less comfortable: maybe the hotel cab do something about it. But nevertheless I slept very good. Bathroom is good.

Although the hotel is near the landingstrip of the airport, the noise of planes is not irritating, because of the little number of planes and the planes do not fly at night.
Breakfast is good: i liked the local cheese and combined it with bread and warm slices of tomato: yummie !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOlumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, uk
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a great bed and breakfast stay here for a week. The hotel is very clean, perfectly situated, ten minutes from the airport and five minutes from the town and the marina and has delightful grounds. We took advantage of the pools (one indoor and one outdoor), the gym, the jacuzzi, turkish bath and sauna.
The breakfast was buffet style, with four cereals, four juices, tea, coffee, four types of fruit (including the superb local pineapple), several yogurts, cold meats and cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes, sausage, and a huge varity of local breads and preserves.
The staff were polite, helpful and efficient and made us very welcome.
Sao Miguel is a beautiful island, Ponta Delgada is a nice relaxed town and this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binkybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early May & really enjoyed the hotel. Its location is only 5 mins walk to the town and marina. Breakfast was adequate but as we are vegetarian, the choices were limited for dinner. We had to request a vegetarian soup only once but the staff obliged very promptly. It was my husband's 70th birthday on the day of our arrival and we were delighted when a little birthday cake was sent to our room - a nice touch. Also a little Mother's Day gift was left in the room. The hotel was spotless throughout and the staff were very helpful. I always like a glass of rose wine after dinner but for some weird reason you could only get it by a full bottle in the bar (white & red were sold by the glass!) so we had to walk to a local bar instead. Perhaps the management will reconsider this. Although it is very near the airport, there was minimal aircraft noise as it's only a small airport. Transfer times were 5-10 mins, great! A lovely new efficient little airport. São Miguel is a beautiful unspoilt island, long may it remain so. Whale watching by catamaran was exhilarating - we saw many whales & dolphins - quite magical. A memorable holiday all round.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grajan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angra do Heroismo, Portugal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is located 5 min from the airport and a walk away from Ponta Delgada city center.
The hotel has an oriental style decoration, There is a beautiful oriental garden in the center.
There is no parking fee at the hotel garage. All the public areas area spacious clean...you feel like they shine, My room was an interior room but had a nice and calm view the oriental garden. There is a mini in the room.
The breakfast has tasteful and good selection.
There another where you can relax, use the swimming pool or play tennis.
There is wireless internet but you have to pay 5€ fee dally,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistDireccao, Assistente de Direcção at Azoris Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Google Translation
Caro Jorge R,
Desde já agradecemos o Seu comentário. Fico satisfeito que tenhamos conseguido corresponder às Suas expectativas.
Esperamos voltar a vê-lo em breve!
Cumprimentos
Ricardo Montes
Assistente de Direcção
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
1.1 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
19.9 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azoris Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azoris Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Address: Rua de Lisboa, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-216, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azoris Royal Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azoris Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Ponta Delgada
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing