We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For businessmen, not families on holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“For businessmen, not families on holiday”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I spent a week here very recently, (Oct 1st). This was our fourth holiday in Ponta Delgada arranged by the excellent Sunvil company. Previous stays have been at the Colegio and the Talisman. Those hotels had more of a 'holiday' feel to them and felt like family-run establishments. The Royal Garden felt more like an 'International' hotel and as such more of a conference/business rendezvous. If one were taken into it blindfolded it would be difficult to distinguish it from thousands of similar places around the world. Its décor is oriental, for no apparent reason, the reception area and the corridors adorned with huge ceramic pots and ugly lacquered heavy tables. Visible from above as one leaves the lift is an 'atrium' with many armchairs and sofas, but there is nothing welcoming about it and I saw nobody ever sit there. The square ?Japanese/?Chinese 'Garden' in the middle of the hotel has ponds filled with stagnant green water which look like a breeding-ground for mosquitoes, not that I saw a single one, but it is unattractive and the lighting never came on.
The whole place is showing its age and needs a good 're-furb'. Examples: the 'spa/gym' area is very shabby. the loungers by the pool need re-varnishing and the cushions replaced. (In fact, one of the loungers collapsed under me, luckily only damaging my pride and dignity!) The sauna was grubby and the steam-room out of commission, 'waiting for a part'.The paintwork on the outer walls is peeling; the extractor fan in the bathroom was out of order and never repaired despite three requests. However, the room was fine, with a decent balcony. Several other minor niggles but nothing too awful. We never used the restaurant but were told it was pricy, as was the bar. They advertised an 'Italian Night' - Why? To show how 'International' they are, perhaps. The breakfast was repetitive. I thought it unwise not to offer muesli and whole fresh fruit with so many Scandinavian guests, though the fresh pineapple was great. The bacon, egg and sauté potatoes always seemed less than warm, despite the chafing-dishes, and the croissants cold as a corpse.
This would be an ideal venue for a CEO to use, to close a deal or give a talk in the excellent business facilities, relax in the sauna, have an unchallenging meal and fly out again from the airport two minutes drive away. For us, we thought it was 500-750 yards too far from the centre of PD, unlike the other hotels we know. On the plus side, you can park your hire-car for free, impossible to do at the other hotels cited.
Other pluses: very friendly staff. comfortable beds in very clean rooms,good air-con, very quiet at night. The Portuguese President stayed there the night before we arrived, so that should mean it's the best hotel available. To merit that rating, it needs to spruce itself up. However, thank you, Sunvil, for finding more rooms here when the hotel in the original offer was full. And thanks again, Ponta D, especially the Café Royal opposite the Police Station!

George & Ann, UK

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jollygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    289
    113
    17
    7
See reviews for
125
267
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Excellent hotel, nice rooms and staff, only few bad things

Bad:
Bed was too hard, I think the beds was missing a soft madres on top.
Once the cleanning personal entered even we had put the "Do not disturb sign on door".

Good:
Nice room, silent, view to the japanes garden. Super breakfast, was only missing oatmeal (in danish "havregryn"). We also liked the poolarea. Also the wellnessarea was okay, but small. Personal was really friendly in all ways. only few 100 meters to restaurants, minimarked, harper and Pt Delgada city.

Azores is really a nice place to visit. The weather was ok, about 25celcius was nice, most cloudy but also some sun - just as we liked it to be. Very much to see: The vulcanos, and the views from the vulcanos, the sea, the hot springs, waterfalls. it's also possible to see whales and delphins, even swimming with them. But the whale-trips are not recommended if you have bad back, bad heart or is pregnant (so we must go back, because my fiancee is pregnant). That's because the boats sail very fast and the boat turn hard against the sea.
There're many good restaurants - you must at least have the local steaks/bief and fish!

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony against west (sun in the evening) or east (morning sun)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keld R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Recently came back from a one week stay at the Royal Garden Hotel and although the stay was okay the 4 star rating leaves you expecting a lot more.

The rooms are clean, decent size, also decent size bathroom and by the looks of it all rooms come with a balcony. Our balcony had a view of the japanese garden that is in the center of the hotel. Unfortunately there is a lot of noise as the sound bounces of the hotels walls generating a lot of noise through out the evening,

The staff is ok but nothing more they dont seem to be that service minded. We had the cleaning staff coming into our room twice despite the 'Do not disturb' sign hanging on our door which was very annoying and something i've never tried before.

Breakfast was ok but nothing more and again you'd exepct better.

Ok stay but i'd try another hotel if i'm going back to the Azores.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viking75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel is a four star hotel and so we did expect a somewhat luxurious hotel. In fact the entrance and the bar are fashionable, but the rest is just middle of the road. The room is good, but the carpet has stains and the room is not really clean. The pump for the pond in the inner garden is noisy and only late at night the pump is switched off. But the most disappointing fact was the lack of service and especially at the front office. You don’t get the feeling that they appreciate you as a guest.
The breakfast buffet is unsatisfactory, poor quality and little variation from day to day

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Garden one week in early June and it was clearly out of season since the hotel was mostly empty. It is located outside the city center but as everything on the island, including its capital, is downsized you get to the center by foot in less than 10 minutes. You will not have a sea view from your hotel room but as you will be seeing plenty of water everywhere else this is not a problem. For those renting a car, the hotel offers a nice big garage - something not to be taken for granted.

The goods. Our room on the second floor and the common areas were modern, amazingly clean and well kept. This includes the pool area and we really liked the Finnish sauna which came as a small bonus. Sound proofing was excellent and not once were we bothered by traffic or other guests. Hotel staff was not overly friendly but did their job so no complaints there. The cleaning lady on floor 2 was super, and gets our thumbs up.

The bads. First, the air conditioning unit in our room wasn't performing. Even with the outside temperature at only 18 degrees celsius, we had to sleep with sheets only. Second, the beds could have been more comfortable (read: softer). Third, we payed for half board and had wished for more variety with regard to breakfast and dinner. While the salad bar was decent the main courses were dull. Why not try some exotic spices, like salt and pepper, for a change? Fourth, we find it incredible that a four star hotel offers neither an iron in the rooms nor a dedicated ironing spot. Paying 4e/shirt to have somebody else iron your clean clothes is downright outrageous.

We do not believe people come to the Azores just for the hotels so we did not expect to reach nirvana. As a place where to rest after a hard day's travels, this place does its job. If we knew the AC was fixed we would recommend Royal Garden although not as a four star joint but as a good solid three star:er.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank forki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Enjoyed a five night stay here. Room are very nice. Service is good. Breakfast is adequate with good choices and no surprises.. .the same exact items every day. Hotel is very architecturally impressive with Oriental decor in public places, which is a little odd for the Azores but seems to work.

A few irritations for prospective travelers. Internet charge is 10 euros per night and only available in twin bedded rooms. No kings with internet according to the front desk.

Also first time I have seen a front desk charge for a phone call to make a restaurant reservation. The concept of a concierge or service seems to have been replaced with the annoying statement each time I asked for a call to reserve a table at dinner was "you will be charged for the call" (this was only three times so I was not being a pest.)

Free parking was nice.

A couple of blocks further to the city center, but I got used to the extra distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DownSouthUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Good hotel. Friendly staff. Good amenities. Free Parking. Decent fitness room(treadmill*3).
Everything ok, but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
1.1 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
794 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
755 reviews
1.3 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#13 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azoris Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azoris Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Address: Rua de Lisboa, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-216, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azoris Royal Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azoris Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Ponta Delgada
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing