We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
157
285
94
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
285
94
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sao miguel outdoor pool modern mall dinner buffet wifi worked well bread home base scrambled eggs minute walk fresh fruit cleaning staff nice gym health club big balcony bit dated plenty of hot water games room
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 553 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2018

This hotel had good service, esp room cleaning, easy check in and a varied, but so-so breakfast. We were not wowed by many meals overall in Azores so the "not bad" breakfast may partly also be because we weren't too impressed with the islands' food culture overall. However, the nearby markets had very good ingredients. My tip is to save on meals by getting fresh bread, cold cuts, cheese, fruit etc yourself. Also, wine at most markets are good and cheap. Believe it or not my nephew raved about the local Burger King whopper. BK can be found near Futurismo tour operator, about a nice 20 minute walk away from hotel. The morning of our check out we had to leave for airport before the typical breakfast start time of 7am, and the hotel accommodated by bringing us breakfast to our room at 5am! Good service! The room phones are not intuitive to use and have no instructions on them. Dial 9 to get the front desk.

Room Tip: If you want a deep balcony, there are a few rooms like that facing rear, pool view, near Rm 231 on second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

We were booked into this hotel by Activities Abroad. On arrival we had mistakenly been given a twin room, but it was turned into a double whilst we went out to dinner. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre, and our activities provider Futurismo collected us from the doorstep each day. We enjoyed the outdoor pool, and sitting on our balcony (rooms 214 and 217) which was very sunny each evening. The breakfasts were good, a wide variety of hot and cold options, and plenty of fresh local pineapple. The hotel was full, but we always found a table to sit at, and our used plates were cleared quickly. We didn't have time to use any hotel facilities, apart from breakfast, outdoor pool and the bar. Our rooms were a good size, with comfortable beds, and plenty of toiletries. Night clothes were attractively positioned on our bed when the room was made each day!
This hotel is great as a base for exploring this fantastic island, although it might be a little limited for those wanting to spend whole days by the pool. There are so many lovely restaurants in the town that we didn't consider having lunch or dinner in the hotel.

Room Tip: 214 & 217 had balconies with the evening sun, although they did get some noise from coaches dropping guests off after trips.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M22ary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Breakfasts are poor, especially if you’re expecting hot food. Very sad sausages and powered scrambled egg. The fresh fruit salad and melon are excellent. Plenty of bread and cheese. Coffee is from a vending machine and has unusual taste. Indoor swimming pool was closed all week. Our room was pleasant enough. Cleaned everyday with an empty fridge for water / food. Bar prices are too high - €4.20 for bottle of water! Parking is good. Nice 10 minute walk downtown.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Dave_from_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here with our family for holidays. Facilities are good like two swimming pools and a good gym. Breakfast is ok-ish, not bad but also not excellent. The room was good but outdated bathroom and some elements like curtains that clearly had their best time. All in all not bad

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank khufu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We stayed here as part of a package, rather than having booked it ourselves. It has great facilities - two pools, gym, games room, live music, large restaurant and varied breakfast etc.

It is a short walk into the centre, although there are many hotels that are more centrally located than this one. However, they aren't of the same size and range of facilities. We stayed in a second hotel after returning to the island from Faial and found that to be pretty comparable and located right in the heart of Ponta Delgada (albeit without swimming pools!).

The rooms are a decent size with a good shower and fridge/safe etc. as you would expect.

The reception staff, in particular, were very helpful in arranging taxis or transport and helping us in our adventures around the island.

The breakfast is varied, although it's not great quality and does seem to depend on what time you get to the restaurant in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Damon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews