We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine hotel and location”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The San Miguel Park Hotel in Ponta Delgada was very fine location for our six-night stay in early March. It is clean, modern, well-equipped and efficient. They offered early check-in (very early since our flight arrived at 7am) and honored an email request for a top-floor room. The room had two twin beds pushed together (I think they offer some doubles), and had a few condition issues which did not affect our use, though there was no clock in the room. There is a safe and small refrigerator. The bathroom was large and comfortable with plenty of hot water, but bring your own conditioner and tissues. We paid to have wi-fi in room about $37 for the week, otherwise you can use wi-fi or the computers in the lobby for free.
Breakfast was included and is good quality and plentiful, served buffet style in a white-tablecloth ballroom. If you don't like the European-style offerings there is cereal, yogurt, fruit, scrambled eggs, pastries, local jam, etc. It is a much higher quality than most US hotels' continental breakfast.
There is a well-equipped gym and we used the sauna and steam room (Turkish bath) which were excellent. The indoor and outdoor pools looked nice (you must use a bathing cap so bring one or pay 5 euros at the hotel). The Jacuzzi was not hot but very bubbly. I think the facilities are used as a health club by locals which may affect level of crowding.
The hotel is quiet and has free parking. You can walk to the main part of town and many restaurants in less than ten minutes, and it is a 20 minute walk to marinas for whale-watching. Also in walking distance, Jardem Antonio Borges (Garden), Gruta do Carvao (Cave), Fort Sao Bras and Military Museum, and the beautiful squares and churches.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view. Either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    227
    70
    11
    3
See reviews for
118
209
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The front desk was very helpful in arranging tours. The free wifi in the lobby was a little slow, but workable. The rooms were clean and there was a small refrigerator and safe. They had a Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna, and pool. It was walking distance to the city and I loved the balcony. The breakfast buffet was fine. We tried to find an American style breakfast in town and they don't eat like we do, so the hotel's buffet was as close as we could get. I prefer coffee and tea hotter, but there was a large variety of food with white tablecloths on the tables. The water in the shower/bath was nice and hot. We used a Groupon which included air/room/breakfast and it was a very good deal. We enjoyed the trip.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ModestoSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Taking into context the minimalist theme of the country, this hotel was perfect. The staff was very helpful and nice. The free breakfast was plentiful and well maintained and offered the best of what is typical of this island's food fare. The location allowed us to walk everywhere and was close to marina for tours if desired. Our rental car was delivered to hotel, added bonus. ( Nuno, our futurismo tour guide was excellent and accommodating and asked us our preferences before continuing on, so it felt like a private tour. )Beds are comfortable, although mostly twins are offered. Upper rooms better for views. Bar was open all the time and drinks were inexpensive, music played and there was a limited snack menu and popcorn was given to all free. It also had a television.Cons were the indoor pool was mostly for exercise programs and bathing caps were necessary. Also, the lunch buffet was plentiful but overpriced, considering the extremely affordable prices in the area restaurants. The computer in the lobby was avail for use as needed with sign in info issued at front desk. The island is a great geo tourist destination. Check out the lava caves within walking distance if hotel. Explore tea plantation and liquor factories as well as the more known landmarks. We went in march, very little island activity. enjoy the cow cycle and the intensity of the religious undertones that shape the Azoreans. One of the most primal and remote places I've been, loved it immensely . I traveled with my 19 yr old son and there were not too many young people on this island. Hard to stick to the two bottle per person USA travel limit with all the wonderful fruit liquors . The rice pudding flavored creme liquor was a hit with all. Remember, most shops are closed both sat. And sun. So keep that in mind .Willing to answer more questions.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank wilparkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is located near the heart of Ponta Delgada. It is within walking distance to the port and the restaurants nearby. The lobby is modern and bright and the staff was very helpful. I arrived at 7 am with check-in being in the afternoon. I was prepared to ask that they hold my bags and instead they told me that my room was ready. I was so appreciative that they essentially gave me a free day.
The lows - the carpet throughou the hotel is desperately in need of being changed. Because of this, I never felt comfortable taking off my shoes while I was there which made me uncomfortable. The rooms are no frills and perhaps a step above a hostel but the beds were generally comfortable. The bathrooms were modern and nice and the showers were hot, just the way that I like.
Breakfast - I went once and never went back. Traveling to another country, breakfast is always the time of day that makes me miss home as every culture is different about breakfast. The Portugese/European breakfast tends to not be heavy and consist mainly of just bread (think table bread at a restaurant). People also eat deli meats with the bread but not in a sandwhich way, almost like a side. For those of us who do not eat like this or who do not eat meat this is a struggle. The hotel offered eggs which left a lot to be desired. Also fresh juices are not to be found other than pineapple. Thus, if you are considering buying the all inclusive package and you are American, you may be disappointed at breakfast. That being said it really is difficult to find breakfast outside of a hotel. Most people I was told just eat at home and not at cafes the way we do. In fact, the cafes were not open in the mornings and the ones that we found did not offer much other than espressos and black or green tea.
Wifi is not free but I had no issue connecting from my room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meleetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Sao Miguel Park Hotel. The hotel is just average and needs some updating but you can't beat it for the price. There aren't any extras like: lotion, conditioner, full length mirror, etc. However, if you take off the plastic mattress cover, the beds are pretty comfortable and overall, the hotel is clean. The pros are: very nice staff, beautiful views from the balcony and lots of english channels on tv. The breakfast is just okay, nothing special and the same offering every day: fruit, cereal, yogurt, bread, eggs, bacon, coffee, juice. Overall, the Azores are spectacular and should not be missed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

2/24/14- I returned back from Sao Miguel Park Hotel in Ponta Delgada, Portugal yesterday! The room was okay, my friend didn't like the noticeable stains on the floor but to me it was not a huge deal breaker. The view from the balcony was great! Staff needs to interact with their guests more... it makes a huge difference in our overall opinion of our stay with you. I think they need to provide their feedback of restaurants they've been to and offer suggestions without the guest always asking for places to try. Oh and the breakfast was something I just couldn't get used to... didn't enjoy it at all. Just some things I noticed but overall, because of the pleasantness of the locals, it was an awesome trip!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and near the elevators but we heard very little (if any) noise. Either the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed at Sao Miguel Park Hotel October 2013. Overall the hotel is great. The location is perfect. You can virtually walk everywhere. I did rent a car and was able to explore the rest of the island (definitely recommended). Breakfast buffet was included and was very good. Dinner buffet is overpriced. Go out and explore different restaurants in the area that are fairly priced and are more authentic.

Cons- rooms and hallways are a bit dated

I truly enjoyed my stay. The staff was also great. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms are ok.. Spend as little time in your room as possible! So much to explore within walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shakiris1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.9 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Miguel Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Property: Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Amaral | Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-222, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sao Miguel Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
S. Miguel Park Hotel is located near the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, near the city Botanical Gardens. The ideal rooms for families are large, comfortable and fully equipped. Rooms with balcony where you can enjoy the panoramic view over the city and the sea. S. Miguel Park Hotel has a warm decor and cozy ambiance in all its common areas of entertainment and leisure. You can benefit from the outstanding Health Club, complete with a fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi, massage, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The hotel's restaurant has the best buffet in town, where you can savor typical Azorean dishes, locally and nationally recognized for its high quality and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sao Miguel Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Miguel Park
Sao Miguel Park Hotel Ponta Delgada, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing