We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel the first week of November as part of a Groupon deal with friends. It ended up being a much nicer place than I expected, and an excellent location. It is within walking distance of a lot of attractions and restaurants in the city. Breakfast is included, which is great for people traveling on a budget but it was pretty much the same thing every day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 505 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent just one week here but it was a good one. The hotel is very convenient for the town, restaurants etc as others have said. The carpets were the only down side but they cannot replace them every time a guest spills I suppose.
The breakfasts were excellent and the nice touch was when we got back to the hotel on the last evening after our meal, breakfast had been delivered ready for our early morning departure.
Having said that, the receptionist had obviously not realised this as when advised to ask about the b'fast on last morning via a note in room, she told us it would just be served earlier! I had a feeling she was making it up at the time! Not to worry, all was well.
The service was good and everyone was very pleasant.

Room Tip: One on a higher floor with sea view probably
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christineb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family and I stayed there for one week and what a week it was :) I was so impressed with the central location and how easier it was to walk everywhere. It was not a noisy area so definitely had a good night sleep every night. The breakfast was same everyday but there were lots of options to choose from. Everything was kept very clean. The hotel's Wifi was good in the rooms and better in the Lobby. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with any of our questions and they spoke English very well. I would definitely come back and stay here again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Hotel is located near a beautiful garden (António Borges) and a mall, reasonable walking distance from several places.
The rooms are good enough, not too luxurious but enough for what you pay. Everything was clean. The bed was too soft, not the best place to sleep.
It offers plenty of parking if you decide to rent a car.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Breakfast was very good, having a wide variety and good quality. The only problem was being crowded, but we always found somewhere to sit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HpMatias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Located in the town but not in the most noisy area.
Walking distance to central downtown for cafe/restaurant and also close to the big shopping mall for movie and other shops. Easy to connect to the highway and gasolin station is just outside the shopping mall. Very convenient for travellers with cars.
Breakfast is average good. Room is big and clean and nothing old or broken.
Both indoor/outdoor swimming pools and dry sauna, turkish sauna and fitness center are free to use.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eratolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel two nights while visiting Sao Miguel. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful with recommendations, and the room was very clean. We had a fridge and a safe, which was nice. The balconies are wonderful. We had a view of both the city and the ocean - very relaxing. Overall, it is a bit outdated and does not have super updated amenities. However, it had everything we needed and this did not bother us. We could occasionally hear hallway noise, but it wasn't enough that it became an issue.

The biggest benefit of staying here is the convenience of the location. About a 10 minute walk will get you to the main area of Ponta Delgada with shops, restaurants, the marina, etc. 10 minutes in the other direction brings you to a large shopping mall with even more shopping and eating options, as well as a grocery store, which we found very helpful.We would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor (6th is the top) and ask if a room with a view of the ocean is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank je2sica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night, en route to a week in Terceira.

We had triple room no. 314 on the 3rd floor which was spacious and clean with comfortable beds and a big balcony. The only let down was the shower, which was a hand held one and has no light above it.

The room was over the entrance and car park, but wasn't too noisy and was ok for one night. Some of the higher rooms will have great sea views though.

Buffet breakfast was in a large room with views of the sea. There was a good selection of hot and cold food, apart from not having much fresh fruit.

The tv in the room had the best local cable service I've come across in med countries (several english lang. news channels, a couple of US main entnmt channels and main current US/UK drama/comedy series subtitled into portugese on their main channels with the dialogue intact).

The hotel is at the airport end of town, but we didn't notice much plane noise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.9 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
#6 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Miguel Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Amaral | Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-222, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $82 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sao Miguel Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
S. Miguel Park Hotel is located near the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, near the city Botanical Gardens. The ideal rooms for families are large, comfortable and fully equipped. Rooms with balcony where you can enjoy the panoramic view over the city and the sea. S. Miguel Park Hotel has a warm decor and cozy ambiance in all its common areas of entertainment and leisure. You can benefit from the outstanding Health Club, complete with a fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi, massage, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The hotel's restaurant has the best buffet in town, where you can savor typical Azorean dishes, locally and nationally recognized for its high quality and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sao Miguel Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Miguel Park
Sao Miguel Park Hotel Ponta Delgada, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing