We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, friendly staff, decent rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location, friendly staff, decent rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Sao Miguel Park Hotel with a number of family members. Overall, the reception staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and decent. The location makes for an easy walk to enjoy Ponta Delgada. For the price of the stay though, the included breakfast wasn't really up to snuff. We didn't have a chance to swim but the pool looked nice. There's nothing wrong with the hotel, but it was an average stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    218
    69
    10
    3
See reviews for
112
200
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

pleasant vacation at this hotel. it was our first time in ponta delgada and - together with our travelfellows - we spend there a couple of days. there was also swimmingpool nearby and many good restaurants. but also the food in hotel (breakfast) was very good and they did had also good hot beverages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachSurferTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

for that trip to ponta delgada, we book for 6 nights this hotel, because it does have a very good location and we got there a top friendly service. staff at reception speak very good english and our standard room was pretty large and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauriceFerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My mom and godmother had stayed here before. This trip there was 8 of us between 4 rooms. The rooms and linens were all cleaned well. There was some wear to the hotel though, as if they did not get commercial grade carpets/linens. The fridge barely kept drinks cold, but at least there was one. The bed setup was interesting. We got a double room and it was two twin beds, as expected, but they were made up as two separate beds instead of pushed together with king sheets. We were pool side and have no complaints of noise from the pool. Wifi was not worth paying for as it did not work well for us on our tablets and phones (Android and iOS). There are 2 computers in the lobby that I used twice for free so that was enough.

Breakfast was good for a hotel breakfast buffet. There were tons of choices and the staff was very good at making sure everything stayed stocked. The bar/lounge service was friendly but consistently slow.

The staff was all very friendly and did not have a problem speaking with any of them. All staff I encountered spoke English.

The guests in the hotel mostly spoke English as well. There were a lot of Americans and Europeans it seemed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicki2343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent three nights in the Sao Miguel Park at the end of a trip to the Azores. It is a good modern hotel with easy access to the airport. The room was a decent size with a balcony and kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast was adequate...the usual continental choices of breads, cheeses , meats etc. and a limited choice of hot food. The buffet at night claimed to be the best in Ponta Delgada and it was quite extensive, with an excellent salad bar and cheeses as well as the main courses and desserts. We had a very early start back to Lisbon...owing to SATA changing the time of the plane...and the hotel staff were very helpful in supplying us with a breakfast basket of rolls and cheese etc. and even fruit juice and a flask of coffee the night before!. There was a very good indoor swimming pool ( swimming cap mandatory! ) but beware you don,t get locked in...if you do there is actually a way out on. To the second floor but they don,t tell you this and it is quite a frightening experience to find yourself locked in the pool!ŷ

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MickyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had a lovely stay here a couple of weeks ago. There's nothing wrong with the hotel but just didn't warrant a very good rating, maybe good. The reception staff were very helpful, we started off with a room on the top floor which was lovely a big, however there is a large fan on the roof and the noise was awful, there's no way you could sit on the balcony! We were given a new room, no questions asked and they were very polite. The facilities at the hotel aren't 4 star. There's an outdoor pool which was clean but freezing. The indoor pool and I think the Jacuzzi you need a swimming cap for. They cost 5 euros which isn't a lot but if you have one bring it. Breakfast was good, a wide variety of cereals, breads and meat and cheese, adequate for a week stay. We had the buffet dinner 1 night. It wasn't great, it was like a normal mediocre half board buffet. It did have a fantastic cheese selection and drinks were included so good for your first night if you arrive late and just want something to eat without any hassle. The hotel was about a 10 min walk to town and the 'hill' some other reviews mention isn't that big. The hotel is near a really big shopping centre that stays open quite late so you can get snacks and you can keep them in your room fridge. The rooms are clean and I thought they were quite big and you get a few toiletries in the bathroom. All in all a good hotel and ponta delgada is lovely.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bognorlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My gf and I had a great time at the hotel. I was bummed food or at least breakfast wasn't included, but there is plenty of fair priced restaurants in the area. The customer service was spectacular. They barely spoke English, but it was enough to get us were we needed to go. The hotel is walking distance from the marina and town square. Both very good sight seeing areas. Overall great hotel, great staff, professional and courteous front desk receptionists.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and it faced the entrance of the hotel. It had a balcony, and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
#6 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Miguel Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Property: Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Amaral | Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-222, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sao Miguel Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
S. Miguel Park Hotel is located near the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, near the city Botanical Gardens. The ideal rooms for families are large, comfortable and fully equipped. Rooms with balcony where you can enjoy the panoramic view over the city and the sea. S. Miguel Park Hotel has a warm decor and cozy ambiance in all its common areas of entertainment and leisure. You can benefit from the outstanding Health Club, complete with a fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi, massage, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The hotel's restaurant has the best buffet in town, where you can savor typical Azorean dishes, locally and nationally recognized for its high quality and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sao Miguel Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Miguel Park
Sao Miguel Park Hotel Ponta Delgada, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing