We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was very helpful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Since we were new to the area, we had many questions about local attractions, restaurants, bus schedules, etc. The front desk was very friendly, as well as very helpful booking dinner reservations, recommending tour guides, and giving all-around advice about our stay. The room was very clean and had a great view of the city. The only complaint is the water from the shower stung because it came out so hard and there was no way to adjust it... but it was very warm!

Room Tip: Upper floors have better view of city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RabbitTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 505 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, during March 2013 and no regrets at all. The place is immaculately clean. They have an indoor pool and small jacuzzi, great for relaxing during winter. Perfectly located when taking in account that we had restaurants, cafes, shopping malls, tourism sites, rent-a-car centers, pharmacies, etc., all at walkable distance. Beds are not so comfortable, but we survived. Internet access is a pain, because they constantly have breakdowns in wifi service (available at extra cost) and the business center is just 2 old computers located at the lobby. I wasn't so positively impressed with service, except at the bar. People can have very pleasant talking with the bartender, customer service oriented, not exactly our experience with front desk staff. In summary, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and definitely, in the island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuty_Suazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. The hotel is in a good location as it is close to a lot of restaurants and places to go sightseeing. You can walk to pretty much anything you need within 10 to 15 minutes. There is a shopping mall with a supermarket about 3 blocks away. There is free parking if you decide to rent a car while staying there.

We had a room on the top (6th) floor and the view was great. The room was large and had three single beds. Two could be pushed together to make a double if needed. The room was clean when we arrived and the staff did a good job keeping it that way. My biggest complaint would probably be the cleanliness of the carpet. I’m not too finicky but, wow, I’ve seen cleaner carpets in a fraternity after a weeklong party. There was a large closet with a room safe and small dresser in it. There was another dresser, table, and room chairs. The hotel provided a table and chairs for the balcony, but, due to the poor weather, we never utilized them. The bathroom was large and there was no shortage of hot water.

The hotel had a workout facility available at no charge for guests. I was surprised at how nice it was. It had just about any type of machine or free weight you could ask for. There was also a sauna next to it. There were several computers in the lobby that were available for Internet access. There is wifi available in the hotel for a fee. We opted to purchase a week long wifi package (about $30USD) and used it in our room. It was nice for reading restaurant reviews and helping plan our daily sightseeing trips.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff. Everyone was friendly and more than helpful. The front desk helped with sightseeing and restaurant suggestions. They also helped arrange a rental car for us and deal with the airline when there were flight delays.

Like most of the other reviewers, I wouldn’t say this is a luxury hotel by any measure, but I would not have a problem staying there again. It was an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: You need to insert your room key into a slot when you are in the room to turn on the lights. Unfortu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2012 for 6 nights. The staff at reception was very nice, the rooms were kept tidy, and the restaurant had a very nice buffet for all three meals. At the right price, I would stay again at this hotel.

On the downside, we had two twin beds pushed together - we did not request to change rooms since we had a nice ocean view, and I believe they would have accomodated that request- the staff were very nice.

The hotel has a very nice gym and two very nice swimming pools.

The hotel is well-situated between a nice quick walk to town and the shopping mall.

Our room did not smell smokey although occasionally the hallways did.

The hallway carpets need an upgrade. Other that that, very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you want a full bed, perhaps request this ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epimediums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package deal with SATA Airlines. Frankly, I wasn't expecting much. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised, however. This place isn't The Ritz, but it's immaculately clean, conveniently located, and staffed by some very friendly, helpful folks. The location is a short walk to the town centre and to the waterfront, and it's adjacent a beautiful park and a shopping centre. We didn't use te restaurant - the buffet dinner seemed expensive when we could find delicious meals at little hole-in-the-wall restaurants for half the price five minutes' walk away. The front-desk staff gave excellent recommendations for local eateries - and not just the tourist-trap places. They also were very happy to give advice about things to see and places to go, both in Ponta Delgada and around the island. I dinged them a bit because the mattresses weren't the most comfortable and I found the bed a little short for me. No biggie, though. Our room had a balcony and a little refrigerator - a quick walk up to the supermarket got us wine, cheese, and fruit for the fridge, and we enjoyed winding the day down on the balcony with our little treats. Overall, a very positive experience - I've paid a lot more and gotten a lot less, and a lot less friendly and personal service, in many other hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February. The hotel is centrally located, a short walk down hill to the waterfront or restaurants, a short walk up hill to the main mall in Ponta Delgada. Many of the better restaurants and cafes are within a 15 minute walk. The staff was always willing to help, sometimes we had a bit of an issue with language, but we were very understanding since we did not speak Portuguese and they all seemed to speak several languages. The room we had was very nice, but a room tip - if you want a balcony request a room NOT overlooking the pool, none of these rooms have a balcony, just a full length sliding glass door. Also, we stayed off-season, so the bar was never crazy busy or loud, but during the high season being over the bar or pool may be loud in the early evening. This is a traditional European hotel, meaning some things are not what you would expect in America - twin beds instead of a queen, also, your room card needs to be placed into a slot near the door to turn on all lights and electrical outlets.
The hotel restaurant was nice, with a great European Breakfast buffet and a good value lunch buffet. The breakfast buffet served hot items including scrambled eggs, Portuguese sausages, bacon, cold options included a variety of cereals, cheeses, sliced meats, breads, fruits, yogurt and pastries. The lunch and dinner buffet included a variety of hot, cold, desert, cheese, and bread options, which were usually the same between lunch and dinner each day and varied day to day.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, request not overlooking the pool. Can be somewhat noisy over the bar even in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike60817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

When we booked this trip through a groupon promotion, you can never know about the lodging, however, we decided to take a chance and go for it. The hotel actually ranks #2 out of 26 hotels in Ponta Delgada so we thought it was a good risk. From the start of our visit Graciana and Patricia made us feel welcome and offered us insight about the Island of Soa Miguel. The Bar staff Ricardo and Nico were professional yet warm. I cannot say enough about Ana and Mario, who answered every inquiry like it was our first, never tiring of our endless questions. Lastly I would like to recognize the desk manager Zenaide. When she found out that we were celebrating our 20 wedding anniversary, she went above and beyond to recognize the occasion by helping us to enjoy the moment. The cleaning staff always seemed to know when we left the room in the morning and had it refreshed and cleaned by the time we came back.
The knock the hotel seemed to have upon reading reviews is that it was dated. To this I say, all of Ponta Delgada is dated, but our hotel was clean, had a great gym, indoor/outdoor pool, nice bar, and a nice dining room. However, it is the staff, that made our trip such a complete experience. Thank you! Obrigado!
Dave and Rozalind Fernandes

Room Tip: Since the hotel faces east or west, you have a choice of either morning sun or afternoon sun. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrmailman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.9 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
#6 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Miguel Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Amaral | Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-222, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $82 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sao Miguel Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
S. Miguel Park Hotel is located near the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, near the city Botanical Gardens. The ideal rooms for families are large, comfortable and fully equipped. Rooms with balcony where you can enjoy the panoramic view over the city and the sea. S. Miguel Park Hotel has a warm decor and cozy ambiance in all its common areas of entertainment and leisure. You can benefit from the outstanding Health Club, complete with a fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi, massage, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The hotel's restaurant has the best buffet in town, where you can savor typical Azorean dishes, locally and nationally recognized for its high quality and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sao Miguel Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Miguel Park
Sao Miguel Park Hotel Ponta Delgada, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing