We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soccer tournament stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at the Atlantico for a soccer tournament that my son was involved in on Ponta Delgada.

Location-is great right on the water facing Atlantic. Right near a lot of cute little restaurants on a boardwalk area.

Check-in-went smoothly all front desk reps. speak English so no problems in communication. Seems to be a very popular hotel with tourists as there were many Europeans and Americans staying in the hotel during my stay.

Room-room was a good size for just me. Double with two beds pushed together. It was clean and modern with lots of space to hang clothes up. Room faced the ocean which was nice. Never had to use the air as it was cool enough at night to keep slider open and not many bugs. One negative was the shower. The way the curtain is situated caused a flood for the first 2 times I used it and I was not the only guest who had this issue. Just make sure you get in the shower and keep the adjustable nozzle turned way in in before turning water on.

Dining area/breakfast-i had breakfast included in my stay which was a hot buffet every morning. Certain things they do well like, coffee, croissants, bread, local pineapple. Other items not so good like oatmeal, yogurt, orange juice other fruits, no pancakes or french toast but I get that it is Europe and its not common. Had a snack one night at bar area and it was OK. Other than that can't really comment on food.

Pool-had an outdoor pool across the street but didn't use it as it was not that hot. Never used the gym either.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a high floor if a light sleeper. i was on first floor which in Europe is the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 797 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

I just returned from nearly a week's stay in Ponta Delgada. The Hotel Marina Atlantico was a lovely home.
As requested, I received a room with a sea view on a top floor. The view over the marina was amazing! It was nice to have a balcony to read and relax on, and take in the city.
Breakfast was always hot, tasty and plentiful, and while the restaurant could fill up quickly at breakfast time, the staff was always quick to refill the buffet station and clear tables. There was lots of local cheeses (queso fresco! Yummy!) and fruit, meat, eggs, bread and pastries, coffee, tea and even mimosas
The hotel itself is modern, clean and well appointed. The room had plenty of storage, a large tv, nice furniture and a clean bathroom.
Others have complained about the mattresses, but I had no issues and slept quite well!

Room Tip: Look in the key holder for a code for a week of free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I always enjoy my time in Ponta Delgada. The town is a hidden gem, with wonderful restaurants and beautiful streets.

The Hotel Marina Atantico is located within walking distance to the town square. Most of the rooms have a view of the Marina with a really nice balcony. I always enjoy just walking around; finding new restaurants, cafes, and bars. There is a market located closeby on the main road which I have found very convenient. The rooms are clean. While the town is quiet on weeknights, I've always found something entertaining by just asking around.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very nice 4 star hotel great location whe stayed in room 212 .sea view .may 29. 2014 .i would stay again .the people that work at the desk were all ways ready to help you.great view at the marina from my room.the food was all good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duarte327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hi
This hotel was alright décor wise and it was clean only issue was the mattress on my bed had a spring sticking out, not the best nights sleep. This little town offered nothing to do and the excursions that were offered there was never anyone at the desk in the lobby. No good restaurants in this little town, I read a book.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very nice 4 star hotel located in the city center really in front of the marina. The rooms are ok in size for a 4 star and clean. The beds are kind of old so not the most comfortable. Unfortunately the perfect location brings once in a while the loud music from the bars in the neighborhood.

Nice breakfast. Service is good but lacks some knowledge on the restaurants and tourism tips for the region.

Tips:
-car park costs 7E per night ... however in front of the hotel one can park free and in the weekend it is free in the city center.
-I would avoid booking online, tried it and really didn't work out, just go online check the rooms and book by phone.

Room Tip: -car park costs 7E per night ... however in front of the hotel one can park free and in the weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afonso_TheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Amazing view, case you request a room with sea view in the upper floors.
Very close to the center of town, 6 minutes walking.
A delicious breakfast, with products mostly originated from the island, like pineapple juice, milk and a lot of different cheeses.
It was my 1st time in S. Miguel, and casa I return (I still have 6 islands to know there), I´ll surely repeat the delicious experience there.
All employees there are very kind and efficient

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view in the upper floors. I will share a pic from my room ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.2 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
718 reviews
19.1 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
#9 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
#6 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Atlantico

Address: Avenida Doutor Joao Bosco Mota Amaral 1, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-771, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#1 Green Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $79 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the marina and the Port of Cruises, in the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, Hotel Marina Atlântico offers a superb view of the ocean in the horizon colored by boat masts and flags. Hotel Marina Atlântico embodies a ship, with high masts, resting on the shore. As the best hotel in town, its decor is luminous and modern, inspired by nautical motifs and inviting you to have a serene and unique experience. You can leisurely benefit from a first class Health Club and savor its well-known and distinct cuisine full of local Azorean products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Atlantico Hotel
Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada
Hotel Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing