We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of the Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed an all too brief stay at the Marina Atlantico, in our room overlooking the harbour. Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was a satisfying start to the day. Wifi was widely available and handy for maintaining communication with family. Hotel location was handy for travelling around the area. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and parking in the hotel space was a plus. Would certainly stay here on a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are equally quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oldie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 787 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great location facing the pier area. Walking distance to restaurants and shops in center of town. Very Clean. The concierge and front desk and staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Very nice full breakfast included in our price. Parking garage. Free Wifi only in the lobby area. Room was spacious and beds were comfortable. The bathroom a little outdated. Nice views from our balcony facing the pier. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Location is excellent. Facing the pier and walking distance to downtown Ponta Deldaga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saralin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Marina Atlantico for half our stay on San Miguel, the other half was out at Hotel Caloura. The location is great in the center of Ponta Delgada against the coast. We were on an upper floor with a great view of the whole harbor. We watched the ferry come and go, people flooding the public pool and boats sailing about.
The room was comfortable with a balcony. Breakfast had a wide variety of options and we left more then satisfied. It would have been nice to eat outside but everyone out there was smoking. The staff was a bit cool, but I think they are most places.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room on an upper floor with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Also near the town square. Not too far from a decaying industrial area, too, so make sure you walk in the right direction when leaving the hotel!

Rooms were fine, although sterile, like the rest of the hotel. The front desk and waters/waitresses were helpful and friendly, though the main bartender, Carlos, was comically aloof.

Note that off season here has real meaning! The hotel literally had only a handful of guests and the sister hotel next door was closed altogether.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sp30166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Marina Atlanico hotel was in a great location , across from the harbor, shopping and restaurants nearby. Rooms were very comfortable, lots of storage, ask for a room water side so that you can sit on the balcony and enjoy the view. Hotel restaurant was very good, buffet breakfast was the same every day, but good variety. The dinner menu and lunch menu were very good, great fish plates. Staff could not do enough for us. Internet free in the lobby and they d hae 2 computers that you can also use for free. If you want internet in your room ther is a slight fee.
Would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the water side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank degabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Perfectly clean and well situated, this unattractive building houses a very efficient hotel in a fine location. The beds are small and the mattresses were wiry. The TV is quite dated and one is made to pay for wifi. The breakfast has a good selection of offerings but the coffee is pretty poor, coming from a large machine.

Great views, friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfinpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is located in front of the port. All major attractions of the city: old town and central square, shopping street, whale watching tourism companies are just few minutes away. The hotel has parking space for its clients and we did not pay for it - that was excellent! Unfortunately we had a room with no see view, next time would choose the other room. Heating was available, as in November it may got cool. Disadvantage: no wireless in the room and hotel's computers were too old to do check-in for SATA (the website did not open properly).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilze2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.2 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acores Atlantico
Hotel Acores Atlantico
#12 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Atlantico

Address: Avenida Doutor Joao Bosco Mota Amaral 1, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-771, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#1 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $86 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the marina and the Port of Cruises, in the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, Hotel Marina Atlântico offers a superb view of the ocean in the horizon colored by boat masts and flags. Hotel Marina Atlântico embodies a ship, with high masts, resting on the shore. As the best hotel in town, its decor is luminous and modern, inspired by nautical motifs and inviting you to have a serene and unique experience. You can leisurely benefit from a first class Health Club and savor its well-known and distinct cuisine full of local Azorean products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marina Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Atlantico Hotel
Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada
Hotel Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing