We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Location and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Nice accomodations, view, and breakfast buffet. Breakfast setting felt a little rushed. Service was good but cool throughout hotel. Spa not open enough and charged 5 euro for a swimming cap. We declined and just used the hot tub. Exercise equipiment appeared up to date. Desks set up for excursions, but no one manning them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmax101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    373
    95
    13
    5
See reviews for
115
300
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of an Azores island-hopping tour. The hotel frontage looks very bleak and forbidding against the quaint, colourful local houses. The bedroom wasn't much better - only one small window high up on the wall giving the room the aspect of a prison cell! It overlooked the back of the hotel and was insufficiently soundproofed, so I got little sleep between the revving of cars and barking dogs.
Meals were buffet style in a dining room far too small for the number of guests. The cooked breakfasts looked very greasy and unappetising, and the other meals were mediocre and unimaginative.
It's quite a long walk to the town centre, so not recommended for anyone with mobility problems (though it's very handy for the harbour boat trips.)
Add to this the rudest, most unhelpful reception staff I have ever encountered (in marked contrast to all the other Azoreans I met) and I won't be returning to this hotel! I'd advise you to give this one a miss!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doodlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel - it is clean and modern - but neither the bedrooms nor the dining room seemed big enough to cope with the number of guests.

Like one of your previous writers, we had rooms at the back of the hotel. The rooms were small and we were struggling to get past each other. The room was also dark - with only a small window at the back. Allied to this - the beds were hard and uncomfortable. We also had three beds in the room the second time we visited, and the headboard was not over the bed - which made it difficult to lie back and read in bed!

The food in the dining room was better than we found elsewhere in the Azores - usually warm, but there was not a great variety for breakfast. I am a diabetic - and the dining room did not cater specially for such as me at breakfast. The main problem, however, was that the room was not big enough - and guest were bumping into each other constantly.

The location was good - both for visiting the town, and also exploring the island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Just returned from a four night stay at the Marina Atlantico from 25/06/11 to 29/06/11. Booked flights and accommodation with Archipelago Azores, flights from Gatwick with SATA.

On arrival at the hotel late at night there was no one to help with luggage. Very fast check in and the receptionist was friendly. Paid an additional supplement to have a room overlooking the marina. The room was a good size and comfortable with a small balcony. Usual facilities such as a complimentary safety deposit box, air conditioning, minibar and toiletries. The room was relatively quiet at night with comfortable beds. Very good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Fresh bread, cakes, cheeses, hams, cereal etc. Unable to comment on the cooked breakfast. The dining room was relatively quiet but was busy when a coach party arrived. Staff were very slow to clear tables. As we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis unable to comment on the evening buffet.

Hotel is located in a excellent location close to the centre of Ponta Delgada. We hired a excellent guide Lisa Ringelberg for some island tours, highly recommended. Sao Miguel is a beautiful island, uncommercialised and undiscovered. If you need further information or would like to read my trip report contact me and I will try to assist. Have a great trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Welshtraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed here recently at the start and the end of a island-hopping holiday. The public areas are very pleasant but the bedrooms are depressing. We did not have sea view rooms & the one window was small which made the rooms gloomy. The beds were hard & uncomfortable. The room we had at the end of the holiday was even worse than the first as it had an extra bed in it which meant the main twin beds did not line up with the headboards, which were attached to the wall. Try sitting up in bed to read and having your head slip between the headboards!! We were there on half-board and both the breakfast & dinner buffets were unappealing. Congealed lukewarm fried or scrambled eggs, cold undercooked bacon, a toaster that didn’t brown the toast, very diluted fruit juices, etc. Dinner was repetitive with the same dishes appearing nightly. The buffet area in dining room was extremely confined with too many people getting in each others’ way. In fact, we chose to eat out for some of the nights rather than put up with indifferent food and cramped conditions. The hotel is well situated for getting to the town and marina but I certainly wouldn’t recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186284Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Spent 2 nights here with my wife in early May we had a suite, and it was quite reasonably priced the only gripe was with the hard beds. I wish hotels of this caliber would invest in softer beds. It is a beautiful place across the street from the marina walking distance from restaurants caves and shopping.

Room Tip: Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slopedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Comfortable hotel - rooms without a sea view are cheaper AND quieter! Superb buffet breakfasts with view over harbour from dining room. Short walk to marina and to shopping area on the waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJCleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
19.1 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
#6 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Atlantico

Property: Hotel Marina Atlantico
Address: Avenida Doutor Joao Bosco Mota Amaral 1, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-771, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the marina and the Port of Cruises, in the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, Hotel Marina Atlântico offers a superb view of the ocean in the horizon colored by boat masts and flags. Hotel Marina Atlântico embodies a ship, with high masts, resting on the shore. As the best hotel in town, its decor is luminous and modern, inspired by nautical motifs and inviting you to have a serene and unique experience. You can leisurely benefit from a first class Health Club and savor its well-known and distinct cuisine full of local Azorean products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marina Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Atlantico Hotel
Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada
Hotel Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing