We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveler rating
278
480
125
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
480
125
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewpublic poolshower curtainsister hotelexcellent locationcruise shipbeds were very comfortablemodern hotelrestaurants and shopswater frontwhale watchingbreakfast buffetbreadfront desk staffbaconbeautiful islandsmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 908 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Hotel Marina Atlântico is a beautiful modern hotel right oposite to the marina and a short pleasant walk from the Ponta Delgada historic centre!!The location could not be better...it is also very convenient from/to the airport.
The Hotel itself is very bright with excellent modern decor and confortable common areas.
We have stayed in a triple room witch had a good size and a great bathroom with a lot of amenities!
Excellent buffet breakfast served in the restaurant with marina views.
Free parking and indoor swimming pool.
Helpful and efficient staff.
I am sure that Marina Atlântico hotel is the best option to stay in Ponta Delgada!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Excellent hotel in near the centre of Ponta Delgada. Rooms are well equiped and have large balconies. You should ask for one that has seaview. We had one and it was really great to sit there and watch the ships come and go and have nice cold drinks on the balcony.

Breakfast was pretty good and the bar had a great happyhour from 5pm to 7pm.There are many restaurants nearby and the centre of the city is only a short walk from this hotel.

There is an inside swimming pool, but the other pool across the street(see photos) is very expensive. So that was a bit of a shame, that they said they have a pool, but then you have to pay around 10 euros for that.

There is a place to swim just in the harbour just beside the expensive one, that is full of locals and is very cheap.

Hotel minibar has a system that shows if you remove an item from the minibar, so it´s hard to cool your drinks. We just removed the stuff and told them we never noticed the sing, but you might not be as lucky. Minibar is expensive as there are cheap store on the beach boulevard.

Parking a car maybe difficult near the centre but there is a large parking lot just beside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Tomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We booked based on other reviews and the star rating. We understood that Ponta Delgada did not have any 5 star hotels and tried to find the next nicest thing.

Compared to our Lisbon hotels, Hotel Marina Atlantico was a little bit of a disappointment - although they were higher star hotels than Marina Atlantico.

The showers did not have great water pressure and the shower curtain kept floating in like a ghost when the water ran - we flooded the bathroom on a daily basis because of this. The towels were not very plush.

The staff were very friendly and tried to be as accommodating as possible for our requests. They would call and arrange for drivers for us for excursions and very helpful in answersing questions. We arrived at 8am and they gave us a temporary room to rest while ours was being prepared which was wonderful since we really needed a nap. The balconies are nice - we sat and watched the people at the public pool across the street.

Breakfast is all right and included with the room. You have to catch it at the right time (a little later is probably better) to avoid the bus tour rush early in the morning. We forced ourselves out of bed in the morning before the 10am close the last few days to get breakfast rather than spending a bunch of extra money to get basic fare at the eateries for pre-lunch.

The location is good for Ponta Delgada town. Just a note, there is a main road right in front of the hotel separating it from the marina - The hotel is not set back aways from the road. This was fine for us but just a word of warning so that you know what to expect. There is a supermarket 1.5blocks away and we could go and buy lots of water for very cheap. There are little eateries at a small shopping center right next to the super market as well. It is also 1 block from the Hotel School which we HIGHLY recommend for dinner. The service is very, very good even if the students are 'learning.' The dinner is quite good but at least go for the chocolate pie for dessert!!!! We went back for our last night in town just because the chocolate pie was so good. It is also close to another good restaurant with huge portions, Al Masquerias (sp?).

There is a (black sand) public beach about 3-4km away. This was nice - we would take a taxi for 5 euro there but then would walk back since we couldn't figure out how to get the taxi coming back - good exercise coming back and there is a beach walk/bike path for the 2kms closest to the hotel from the beach. The 2km closest to the beach has little to NO sidewalk. There are points in the town on very narrow streets where you must literally share the road with the cars since there is not even really a curb next to the buildings to the road. We did this but was a little unnverving - doable but be careful.

It is pretty close to Ribeira Grande as well which is a must do on excursions. Very quaint town with beautiful ocean/cliff views. We liked this better than the lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank doublewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Chose this hotel for 2 nights in the middle of a 10 night holiday as a base to see the town and the west side of the island. Basement car park is convenient. Sea view room was good. Some road noise from below and noise from public swimming pool during day but didn't really detract from feel of hotel and room. Lovely airy room with balcony and air conditioning. Short walk into town centre. A lot of development taking place in the area at the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mubbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews