We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Find”
Review of Hotel do Colegio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel do Colegio
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Quantock Hills
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Good Find”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I enjoyed the understated style of this hotel; its decor and ambience. It is situated in the middle of the town making everything very accessible, although it is quiet. We were given a very warm and efficient welcome and were pleased with our spacious room overlooking the pool.
The bathroom had both a bath and shower and bidet. The hair drier was easy and efficient. There was a fridge with a courtesy bar which we made use of for keeping milk in.
Eating in the restaurant was a pleasant experience, the cooking being of a good standard with interesting choices. Also within the hotel is a coffee shop where you can try a wonderful selection of cakes and small savouries.
The staff generally spoke English and we encountered no problems of communication. They helped us with directions etc.
We hired a car and kept it in the basement car park accessed by an innovative lift. The staff were always on hand to help us with this and it was a good idea to use this because parking on the narrow streets could prove hazardous for your wing mirror!
Breakfast was excellent with scrambled eggs,bacon, cheeses and cold meats. There were cereals and different breads and cakes.

Room Tip: The older rooms overlooking the pool are more spacious. The more modern rooms may be noisier because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phyllisquot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    161
    68
    22
    5
See reviews for
51
173
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked a long weekend (3 nights) at the Hotel do Colegio after planning a trip to the Azores on short notice. Very nice; room not luxurious but very clean & comfortable, at a very reasonable price. *Great* water pressure & temp in the shower; only issue here is it was a very high step up into the tub/shower, older folks might find this a problem. 2-3 elevators in the building, young lady at the desk grabbed a suitcase and led us to the lift vs. just pointing. Our 2nd floor room balcony looked out over the street but room was dark AND quiet at night. Continental breakfast in the downstairs dining room was much nicer than you typically get at chain hotels; didn't try the pool but it looked spotless. Attached coffee shop was very nice and the restaurant A Colmeia was wonderful. Centrally located for exploring the lovely city of Ponta Delgada, and the island of Sao Miguel. Close to the airport but a little tricky to find at first; city parking close by (5 mins walk). Next time would consider just taking a taxing and only renting a car for driving around the island, as the harbor and old city are within easy walking distance. A treat, would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlieJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a week staying at this hotel. Would recommend it to visitors looking for a lovely building, comfortable rooms and clean, tastefully decorated. The staff were very helpful and always availablle. Really good breakfast and really superb banana bread. Centrally located in narrow street blending in beautifully with surroundings. Underground car park available but only for small cars! Car goes down in a lift which is cool. Don't forget to turn in your wing mirrors if you park in the street!
Good jazz club with great food next door too. Pleased I took my travel kettle as no tea making facility but fridge and comfy bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Girlinboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Durkheim, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent one week in a double room in Do Colegio. Location of the hotel is very good - close to the harbour and city centre. Service (especially concierge and room service) was excellent and friendly. Quality of the room, however, was significantly below expectance for a 4* hotel. After we found the sink blocked and the aircon dysfunctional in our first room we were offered another room of alike quality. In both furniture was of low quality and inconvenient (cheap materials, scratched, partly even rotten!, no shelves), there was only luke warm water and no outlet for an own hair dryer in the bathroom. Smelly carpets. The corridors are only lit by low-power LEDs. - Breakfast buffet had very limited choice and no variation at all. Only cheap coffee from the thermos.

Room Tip: In any case take a room on 3rd or 4th floor with a window to the courtyard (pool). Much more quiet t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed five nights at the Hotel Colegio - a very centrally and well located hotel in Ponta Delgada. The room was comfortable, small complaint would be lack of drawer / storage space but otherwise perfectly acceptable. Basic breakfast bufet with limited choice but we had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant with excellent service. The pool area, sauna, etc all a bit tired and need updating and although there is a nice enough bar there was never anybody serving! All in all a comfortable hotel but just a few tweaks here and there would make it that little bit more special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmain57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was the perfect first stop in my Azores adventure. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. I was really impressed with my room: massive bed, high ceilings, beautiful windows overlooking the street and rooftops. The bed was super comfy. It was easy to find everything as the hotel is centrally located. As my taxi driver pointed out, an easy landmark with the Matriz Colegio, Rua do Colegio and hence Hotel do Colegio. A very short walk to the port ,shops and restaurant. Breakfast was also good, a wide selection, but mostly cold-ish food. I did wish for some scrambled eggs. I'd recommend this for a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spunkeymonkey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start? This visit was for our daughter who was celebrating her up coming birthday. However
We could not fine the hotel ! after an hour of searching we found it, ( recommend a large neon sign) for the hotel or as your first visit take a taxi. It was late we were tired , the room was on the first floor, ( we had asked for a top floor)!
The smell ( recommend the carpet be removed ) you do get use to it.
the restroom was okay. I always bring my own blanket ( thank god ).
The morning was a new day the hotel had a great location, we walked everywhere, the mall, the harbor, for food, and just walks. I will say that the staff was very helpful and friendly.
Will not stay here anymore!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
19.5 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#5 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Colegio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Colegio

Property: Hotel do Colegio
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 39 | 9500-040 Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-040, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Colegio 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Colégio is a boutique hotel run in a manor house, built on the 19th century, during the golden age of the trade of orange between Ponta Delgada and England. With a privileged location, in the historical city centre, we are a unique hotel, that combines the charm of the time it was built with all our modern comforts. In 2017, we started a new cycle and present you a renewed hotel, with a better environment, image and decoration, as well as the excellence service we've always put an effort to provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel do Colegio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Colegio Hotel
Do Colegio Ponta Delgada
Hotel Do Colegio Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing