We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, central hotel with excellent breakfast&customer service”
Review of Hotel do Colegio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel do Colegio
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unique, central hotel with excellent breakfast&customer service”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We didn't have much to do with the staff (which was a positive as it meant there were no problems!) but all the staff we did meet were very helpful, polite and spoke excellent english - front of house was 24 hours and very good and the breakfast and restaurant staff were excellent too. The buffet breakfast spread was excellent and we were very sorry to leave behind the gorgeous local tea, excellent coffee and the homemade banana cake was to die for!!! :) The pool was small but fine for doing a few lengths and cooling off at the end of the day (it was cool though so be warned!!). The pool and pool area was always very quiet so a nice place to sit for breakfast or enjoy and drink in the evening. The restaurant was absolutely excellent but not cheap - however it was worth it and we enjoyed a special and very delicious meal with local wine and there was live music (an excellent traditional guitar player). The black squid pasta was gorgeous in particular and the chocolate volcano dessert :) For what you get it is excellent value just a little more expensive than the usual places we ate in. The room we got had a living area with good sized fridge so you could put your own water in and the minibar prices were very reasonable in any case. The rooms were clean and modern and spacious with a huge super king sized bed which was very comfy. I felt very comfy and at home and we had a great stay. The building is lovely and i had read comments about the rooms being "tired" but this was not the case. You are in the centre so lots of shops and was 5 mins or so walk down to the harbour front where there is a swimming area in the sea and pool and lots of bars and restaurants. Loved the hotel and loved Ponta Delgada.
Down-points: The pool would have been nicer a few degrees warmer. The gym area (which didn't bother me as I did not intend to use!!) was just a small area with 4 old machines so be prepared if that's your thing! I recommend the swimming in the sea or running/cycling along the sea front which goes for miles and will be a much better form of exercise!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateLW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    161
    68
    22
    5
See reviews for
51
174
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just spent 7 nights here. Hotel has character, is clean and quiet. Room was spacious and well furnished. Beds a little low! Breakfast more than adequate with lots of choice. Hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferson138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The room was much larger than most European size rooms. Very clean with a view of the court yard pool. The room does not in invite a person to lounge, but that was OK with us as we were busy sightseeing.
The hotel itself is a cool building that used to be a elementary school. I loved how they kept the architecture during the renovation. No wifi in the rooms, but the lounge on the first floor by reception is very comfortable and I was happy to spend time there. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The lack of cupboard or shelf space in our room made storage difficult. See photos of ceiling leaks, current one dripped constantly when it rained making the carpet damp and smelly. We reported the leak but the alternative room offered was smaller and overlooked a cobbled street making the sound of traffic very noisy. The room was extremely hot even with the air con set at 16 degrees - the lowest it would go but you couldn't sleep with the window open if it was raining due to the noise of rainwater running off the flat roof onto the concrete below. The facilities and choice at breakfast were extremely poor.
The staff however were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Suitable if access to the town centre is a priority or for the night before your flight home
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveller352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is placed in a former school with an impressive architecture and an amazingly preserved ground floor. Location could not be better, on a quaint and narrow street, just three blocks from the main square. Room was clean with an adequate size, but the hotel is definitely not a four star one - I would give three stars. Great staff at reception, booking day trips, answering my doubts and providing an early breakfast on the departure day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsrio62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My daughter and I visited Ponta Delgada in late April of 2012 and we were very pleased with this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful. There was plenty of storage in the closets, although no drawers, and the bathroom had enough counter space for toiletries. The breakfast had good choices, eggs and bacon, banana bread, cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea. The restaurant was very nice and good local food choices. If you wanted an after dinner drink in the hotel bar, you had to ask at the reception desk to have someone serve you, but everyone was pleasant. They helped us book tours and provide directions. This hotel was centrally located and easy to walk to anywhere in the city. Our room was on the side street, it was quiet except for two nights when the trash collectors came, but otherwise very quiet. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Four of us stayed in this hotel for two nights. We toured Sao Miguel and this hotel was recommended by the travel agent. It is an old school converted into a hotel. It is located near Ponta Delgada square (walking distance) from the shopping center and the pier.

Convenient location to restaurants, bars, and shopping as well as tourist sites. It is near the center of the gate to the square and Sao Sebastio Church. Also near the port/pier and the fortress.

Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast is included. The lobby of the hotel is very cozy and there is a restaurant that serves superb food.

Highly recommend this hotel for your next trip to Sao Miquel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oragrl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.7 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#11 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Colegio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Colegio

Property: Hotel do Colegio
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 39 | 9500-040 Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-040, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Colegio 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Colégio is a boutique hotel run in a manor house, built on the 19th century, during the golden age of the trade of orange between Ponta Delgada and England. With a privileged location, in the historical city centre, we are a unique hotel, that combines the charm of the time it was built with all our modern comforts. In 2017, we started a new cycle and present you a renewed hotel, with a better environment, image and decoration, as well as the excellence service we've always put an effort to provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel do Colegio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Colegio Hotel
Do Colegio Ponta Delgada
Hotel Do Colegio Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing