We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and nice hotel”
Review of Hotel do Colegio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel do Colegio
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Four of us stayed in this hotel for two nights. We toured Sao Miguel and this hotel was recommended by the travel agent. It is an old school converted into a hotel. It is located near Ponta Delgada square (walking distance) from the shopping center and the pier.

Convenient location to restaurants, bars, and shopping as well as tourist sites. It is near the center of the gate to the square and Sao Sebastio Church. Also near the port/pier and the fortress.

Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast is included. The lobby of the hotel is very cozy and there is a restaurant that serves superb food.

Highly recommend this hotel for your next trip to Sao Miquel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oragrl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 378 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for my husbands 30th birthday and we had a great break, the staff at the hotel were really helpful and arranged a birthday cake (with prior notice) and gave us sparkling wine to toast the event, they even upgraded us into a suite for the week, FOC. The hotel is very obviously a family run place, with the owner walking round almost everyday and checking how you are. They have a restaurant attached, which is definately one of the best in ponta delgada. The hotel's really helpful in booking local tours etc, which helped us plan our trip (as we found it hard to find any tourist info on the Azores). All in all, a great hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amybellshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

One sign of a great hotel is how responsive they are to special requests. I showed up the other day late in the afternnon needing clothes cleaned for the next day. Reception made a quick phone call and it was taken care of. No sooner did I get to my room than they took my clothes, washed and ironed them, then brought them back. Amazing service.

The staff are all extremely friendly, the rooms are great, the hotel is in a nice area.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This charming hotel is within walking distance of museums, gardens, busses, taxis, restaurants and downtown. The staff are friendly and helpful. They have a very nice breakfast and we were completely satisfied and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel is amazing!! Right in the centre of the city, it's a beautiful old building that has been restaured - the guestrooms are very comfortable, the swimming pool area is beautiful, and the breakfast has everything you need to start the day!
The staff is increadibly friendly and attentive and will go above and beyond to help you. I can't wait to come back, and I'll make sure to recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel has a great location that allows you to walk to pretty much anything downtown. We did not have a car but I would imagine the parking would be a little difficult in this area. The restaurant at the hotel was superb and went out of there way to help us surprise my mother on her birthday. The owner of hotel is a character and fun to chat with. The staff is fantastic and really made the experience terrific. The rooms are basic and could probably use a bit of renovation. The building itself has some interesting architectural elements. Overall, we had a pleasant stay here.

Room Tip: May want to request a room not facing the courtyard, as it seemed a bit loud by the pool at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for two weeks in October and had a wonderfully comfortable and relaxed holiday. The hotel is quiet and with a simple elegance and is conveniently located for all that Ponta Delgada has to offer. The staff are among its best features and were universally friendly and extraordinarily helpful, arranging car hire and supplying excellent advice on local restaurants - even though the Collegio has one of the best restaurants in town! Our room was large, airy and very well appointed. Breakfast was more than adequate. The only disappointment was the pool wasn't quite heated to the point where we wanted to put more than a toe in the water!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProsperoNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
#9 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
678 reviews
19.5 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Colegio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Colegio

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 39 | 9500-040 Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-040, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $74 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Colegio 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Colégio is a boutique hotel run in a manor house, built on the 19th century, during the golden age of the trade of orange between Ponta Delgada and England. With a privileged location, in the historical city centre, we are a unique hotel, that combines the charm of the time it was built with all our modern comforts. In 2017, we started a new cycle and present you a renewed hotel, with a better environment, image and decoration, as well as the excellence service we've always put an effort to provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel do Colegio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Colegio Hotel
Do Colegio Ponta Delgada
Hotel Do Colegio Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing