We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jose do Canto Botanical Garden
Save
Review Highlights
A wonderful place to walk and enjoy the trees, get a snack

On our first day in Ponta Delgada we needed to get out and take a walk. The gardens were only a few... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Bily_Bob
,
Pennsylvania
Lovely old botanical garden.

The entrance fee was €4 per person but it was worth it. Many trees were planted around 1845, was... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
podrozniczka60
,
New Jersey
via mobile
Read all 143 reviews
  
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
25
33
12
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
33
12
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden bamboo forest presidential palace specimen trees entrance fee old trees numerous paths maintained garden rubber trees botanical gardens amazing trees paid euros admission chapel botanist roots bloom
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 78 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2018

On our first day in Ponta Delgada we needed to get out and take a walk. The gardens were only a few blocks from our hotel so this fit the bill. The 4 euro entry fee was a fair price to enjoy century old trees and relax in the shade.
It is an uphill walk to the hotel and snack bar next door. We enjoyed the enormous rubber trees with their roots that stretched above the surface for dozens of feet. All trees are well marked with their names and origin. We did not visit the chapel located inside the gardens. A cold drink at the snack bar was welcome.

1  Thank Bily_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

The entrance fee was €4 per person but it was worth it. Many trees were planted around 1845, was the time of conception of this botanical park. Throughout the park there are many monuments and statues, the central one being the monument of José do Canto. The map you get with admission helps with navigation and there is a recommended route. Our visit started with the Garden chapel or rather church, surprisingly beautiful historic building with sacral music . This church is also visible from the street.
Jose do Canto Garden is also great for birdwatching.
There is a bamboo forest and rose garden.
The nice part of the visit was refreshing cup of coffee at the cafe.
In the middle of the park there is also a hotel.

1  Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

Hoped it would be quite good for 4 euros but mostly trees and not very pretty or interesting. In July we seemed to be the only visitors there which says it all. struggled to find staff to give us our free tasting of licquer. After waiting so long we decided not to buy a coffee. Lady didnt seem pleased she had come over from hotel just to give us a free sample! On a hill so not good if you have mobility problems. Went to botanical gardens in Furnas later in holiday which were superb

Thank familyb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

The botanical garden down the road is free. Don’t know why this has to be so expensive. Agreed, you get a tiny liquor at the bar but that hardly compensates. The garden is lovely but far less compared to the public one. Not worth a visit unless you are really into this.

Thank Dimitri381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Maybe it's not the kind of botanical garden one could expect, but I really enjoyed seeing all the huge trees and the little bamboo forest.
Bonus points for the friendly orange cat we found and played with :D ( he might have come from the houses nearby and it's not the garden's house cat, but still very cute ).

Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

The gardens need a bit more attention to overcome the weeds, in all it looked like it needed some good time spent tidying everything up. Don't bother with the cafe, it was all the young ladies could do to talk themselves away from their chat to serve us out 'free' glass of liquer so we didn't bother trying to order anything else.

Go next door and visit the palace gardens which are much nicer and cheaper.

Thank ColchesterSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Big trees and thats it. Other free parks are much more beautiful. The free liquor in the bar (if you can call it like that) is sweet trash

Thank fabian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

A little disappointed in this garden and would recommend the Antonio Borges garden a little further down the road instead. The €4 entrance fee was fine and this included some kind of liqueur taster at the cafe behind the palace. However, the cafe was completely deserted when we found it so no taster!! The gardens have some lovely specimen trees and I did like the fact that they were labelled. However, the place is quite 'tired' and a little uncared for. The rose garden was particularly unloved and we had seen much better roses in front of local houses!

Thank Alice-Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

What a place and so well kept just go spend a few hours walking around don't do the tour and waste money probably 15-20 minutes walk from centre well worth the walk

Thank Chelseabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

A pleasant way to spend an hour or two, but the paths are quite overgrown and mossy so care needs to be taken in some places.

Thank Kay987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews