We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They made us feel like friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of UTC Azores Tours

UTC Azores Tours
Ranked #20 of 59 Tours in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: UTC Acores offers sightseeing tours around the island of Sao Miguel in the Azores (without a minimum of pax. We can go just with one person, we are the only company that does that). Our buses are new and we have buses to fit different size groups (from 9,12, 27, 37, 43,55 place buses). Our Daily guided full day sightseeing tours includes lunch and services of the tour guide. Guiding languages: Portuguese, English, German. We made the pick up in the Hotel of Ponta Delgada.
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They made us feel like friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were on a group tour with 32 of us visiting 4 islands (Terceira, Pico, Faial, and San Miguel) over 10 days. The trip was well organized, as you would expect. But what stood out was the great staff -- excellent drivers for the coaches, and guides knowledgeable about each of the islands, plus the wonderful Maria our tour director. They made us feel more like friends than paying customers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    11
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to see Sao Miguel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I'm not much into the idea of tours, but my wife is and all in all it seemed like taking a tour would be a better way to see the island than driving around, especially for me who would be tunnel-visioned and clenching the wheel of a rental car around the steep switchbacks, and perhaps getting lost along the way.

We did both of the full-day tours UTC offered, on back-to-back days, saw all the major sites, stopping at multiple scenic overlooks along the way, and had a great time. Noora (tour guide) and Nuno (driver) were both great--informative and enjoyable to spend 16 hours with talking about all sort of things (mainly the island, of course, but plenty of other things).

The bus was comfortable and had great visibility. (This was one of UTC's small, ~12-16 person, busses, which was not filled on our tours. When the tour has more tourists they use a larger bus.)

The lunch meals, restaurants, and locations were excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank nwm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UTCazores, Public Relations Manager at UTC Azores Tours, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review! We like what we do and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time on the island and on our tours. We had a blast as well with our little group! All the best and regards to your wife from N&N UTC Azores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful tourism experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We took 2 different tours with UTC at Ponta Delgada, and it was a pleasant, enjoyable experience. Bus is comfortable, clean, lunch is great, use of time is also good. We learned a lot with our guide, Noora, she was just excellent. I super-recommend tours with UTC at the Island!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuty_Suazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UTCazores, Public Relations Manager at UTC Azores Tours, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for taking time to write a review! Hope to see you again in Sao Miguel one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Experience the Azores in comfort and with the nicest people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

OMG the comfort of our bus was unmatched felt like a limo bus.
Clean and comfortable.

Our tour guides were both Marco and Noora. Noora's smile always made us smile.
These guded tours were not only fun but very informative, we did several.

Ohhh lefts not forget our friendly and excellent driver Ricardo.
This was a buisness trip where I explored the Azores, Portugal
Experienced many of the tours offered in Sao Miguel.

The Price, the service and information makes these tours worth taking.
I would recommend easily to Clients, family and friends.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank mceu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UTCazores, Public Relations Manager at UTC Azores Tours, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your time to write a review! We like what we do, that's why we smile! We happy to see our clients smiling and enjoying their vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG, a culinary paradise & knowledgable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Marco & Noora, our travel guides for the exotic tours of the Azores, were outstanding! We covered a lot of ground in a short amount of time....4 islands & everything was organized and flexible to weather (if it was foggy on top of a mountain, they had other incredible plans to entertain us). Their knowledge went beyond points of interest but rather getting to know my specific touring style and what was important to me, to experience. I'm a major foodie and travel the world for unique eating experiences and different ingredients... they showed me what was unique to the island of the Azores and I could not imagine visiting this area again, without their company. You will make instant friends on their tours... incredible people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Chefnetworkinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UTCazores, Public Relations Manager at UTC Azores Tours, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. We like to treat our clients as friends and we are proud to show our new friends the Island of Sao Miguel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UTC Azores Tours also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to UTC Azores Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing