We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educative, but not a "cave hike"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gruta do Carvao

Gruta do Carvao
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Educative, but not a "cave hike"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The staff on site did a fantastic job explaining the history, formation, cause and components that forms this cave, really educational and interesting... I guess I was slightly disappointed because I was expecting more of a cave hike / excursion, which isn't... Much shorter and quicker than anticipated.
If you go in knowing this, you won't be disappointed and will enjoy what you see.
The best part is to feel the staff's excitement and passion as they describe the cave.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yin_YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    156
    64
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very interesting to learn about how these volcanic caves were formed. You watch a short video first then don your hard hats and enter the caves for about a half hour tour. Very knowledgeable guide.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SemperCarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lava tube cave not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Close to the urban center of Ponta Delgada, the Gruta do Carvao is the largest cave system on San Miguel Island. The tour starts with a short film then you take the stairs down to cave level. Put on a helmet, then take a look at the cave formations with a knowledgable guide. The visit is 45-60 minutes at most, for a reasonable price, I think 4 euros. There is a tour schedule so check ahead.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

It was quite surreal to be standing in a cave created by the flow of lava. The tour is only 60 minutes long, which includes a video watched before you descend into the cave, but is very interesting and quite informative. My husband and I were the only 2 on our tour, the last scheduled for the day. Our guide took her time explaining all that we could see and thoroughly answered all of our questions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_to_travel177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
145 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Short visit, impressive views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The cave is considered as one of many caves in the island, but the only one opened. The place run by young people, professional as well as organized. Safety issues are excellent. It takes less than one hour to do the tour plus the presentation which is available online. The road signs are every where especially if you are driving a car, even on the highway. They have nice brochures. Morning session is good. It is better to have a mini torchlight as well as a camera with good flash. take care to your head and the sharp rocks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank FreeAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruta do Carvao also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Gruta do Carvao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing