We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and unforgetable good service :)”

Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts
Ranked #16 of 73 Tours in Ponta Delgada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Azoren Travel Experts is a company based in Ponta Delgada and offers as main services guided sightseeing excursions, cruise shore excursions and many hiking trails. In addiction to that we offer Whale watching and Dolhpin Swimming adventures.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were two Danish couples visiting the islands for the first time. We wanted to explore the three big lakes and go to the ocean to see whales and dolphins - and with Josef's company we experienced more in a week than we ever thought possible!
Our guide Sarah was very professional and in the same time she was interested in answering all kinds of questions - she really wanted to fullfill all peoples expectations to the trips. They had such good prices compared to other companies and you'll never get such personal, informative and exploring trips other places than with this company. Thank you for making us wishing to go back!

1  Thank Ann-Sofie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company and hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"excellent tour"
in 4 reviews
"weather"
in 10 reviews
"island"
in 32 reviews
"interests"
in 4 reviews
"insight"
in 3 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 190 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked our trip to the Azores with expectation of new and fun experiences. Our expectations were met in full! And at a reasonable price without the feeling of any spared expenses.

We went on the whale watching/dolphin tour, hiking to waterfalls near povocao and visited all the lakes and beautiful viewpoints. On all trips the guides spoke perfect English and were friendly without compromising professionalism. Each trip has a, compared to other competing agencies, a lower cap of available slots which adds a more "cosy" atmosphere to the excursions. We however did not experience any difficulty finding a suiting day to go on a trip.

Don't let the facilities fool you. The boot seems smaller than the surrounding, more noticeable competitors that first meets your eyes. The price seemed significantly lower than the competitors with the same options.

We will recommend this agency for all who visit the Azores and they are certainly worth a revisit!

Thank you Josef, Sarah, Victor and Jasmine!
From Maria and Philip, Denmark

Thank Maria2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Josef and his tour was a highlight of our holiday. We were keen to see more of the beautiful island in a relaxed, informal fashion and Josef and his mini-coach was the perfect choice. We were treated to an informative and entertaining day trip with lots of laughs and memorable impressions. Josef's knowledge and interest in the island is commendable. We drove in comfort to all the popular sites and some of the less known ones without the tourist hype. We were given the time and space we needed to explore and get a real feel for the history and culture of the place. Joseph takes a genuine interest in his guests and is a knowledgeable tour guide. We wished we had more time to book another tour of the island as there are many choices.
We had already booked a whale watching tour through his agency.That was a magnificent experience skimming the open seas in a Zodiac with the excitement of viewing a pod of Sperm whales and learning a lot about the skills of whale watching.
Your are sure to find a tour which suits your interests.

1  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We thought about hiring a car to give us more freedom as escorted tours can be inflexible, fortunately we decided to have a guided tour and without any research used the first company we came to in Ponta Delgada, how lucky we were, our first trip was guided by Sara, originally from Canada but with Azorean parents, apart from the scheduled stops she took us to numerous 'off the beaten track' places we would never have found in a hired car. We then booked another trip and had Josef as our guide, his English is superb and he has a very British sense of humour and like Sara we went to out-of-the-way places as well as the main sites. I'm so glad we used Josef's company as it has made our holiday even more enjoyable.

Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Josef Steininger is a larger than life multi-lingual extrovert German living in Ponta Delgada, where he undertakes personal tours of the island in either of his two luxurious Mercedes air-con. mini coaches. Josef's knowledge and understanding of the islands customs, religions, sites of special interest, unique back roads and by-ways, unusual and almost undiscovered hidey holes makes his tour the star of any holiday.
Josef has the ability to take a group of tourist strangers - a couple, a single and or a party of up to eight - and within a very short moment in time have the whole group interacting as if they were long time friends on a family holiday excursion together. His ability to instinctively tailor the tour to the groups wishes means that you are constantly suprised and delighted to have your very own individual tour and highly knowledgeable guide.
We were able to not only witness but also to take part in the Festival of the "Holy Ghost"- held in villages by villagers throughout the island during the months of March - June. We were welcomed into the village community as if we were residents rather than tourists.
On bad weather days Josef gives his advise as to where we - the tourist - would get the best views and interests out of the tour. He does so in a manner that is informative and curteous. he is always open to suggestions and will stop on command and take diversions if that is what is requested. Josef suggested clothing suitable for the tour on arrival at the hotel pick up.
I truly belive Josef Steininger gives his tours that five star feeling that is so hard to get but is instantly recognised when experienced. He is just the best.

2  Thank Silverdude_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing